Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service, 4 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great purchase as the map has a 'protective coating' so if it rains then the map will survive. We've already done some great new walks, even though we've lived in the Lake District all our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OS Active Map Of North West Lake District, 3 May 2009
By 
JH Dickinson (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This map covers the North West Lake District at an excellent scale for walkers, cyclists, and for other outdoor pursuits. Okay, it's a map, but that's not the important part. These active maps by the OS were a great idea! For a long time the only way to stop maps being destroyed by bad weather was to use a plastic wallet, but these had one clear disadvantage - what if you needed to look at a different part of the map? Either risk destroying it by refolding it whilst exposing it to the full force of the wind and rain, or try to do it in your bag. With these laminated maps, you can leave them out in the rain all day, and still they're completely undamaged by the weather. They're a little more unwieldy than the non-laminated maps, but are currently the best all-weather maps available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waterproofed version of a classic map series, 3 Jun 2011
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
The OS Explorer series works at 1:25000 which is 4cm to the kilometer or 2.5 inch to the mile. That's as tight a scale as you'll get from the OS (their Landranger series are less fine at 2cm to the kilometer) and it's easily enough for casual rambling or more serious hiking. To give you an idea of the scale, it takes four of these Explorer maps to cover the English Lake District (OL4, 5, 6 and 7 - for my holiday there this year I'll be taking three maps) or two (OL26 and 27) for the North York Moors. I would suggest that if you're driving or cycling on good roads and paths you may be better off with the more manageable Landrangers.

These maps are printed both sides, and they also fold out pretty big, so if your route takes you over the page, maneouvring these beasts can be a little cumbersome. Note also that the key is only printed on one side, across a boundary and that can cause some difficulties. So, some serious map folding is needed - when I was in the Territorial Army, we even had a lesson on the subject.

This is the "Active" version it's waterproofed which costs a few pounds more than the plain paper map but it is even bulkier. I prefer to use the paper map and stuff it in a map case or even a clear plakky bag. Horses for courses.

If you're sticking to roads, paths or decent tracks, or are going to be within sight of plenty of obvious landmarks, you can operate without a compass. If your walk is a little more adventurous, you'd be wise to carry one with you, but bear in mind that effective compass usage doesn't come without a little training and practise.

Final tip: before you leave the car park, "orient the map". In other words, make sure you know where you are on the map and where you're going. Line up your route on the map with the route on the ground and be aware that this might require you to hold the map upside down or on it's side. Try and maintain a reference between the map and reality as you go, matching landmarks on the ground with those on the map, and you'll never get lost.

Away from the practical aspects, I love OS maps and I can spend hours poring over them. It's almost as good as actually going to the places they depict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Maps around, 16 April 2010
By 
Ben Nicholson "Benkernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The maps done by Ordinance Survey are brilliant maps, full of detail and full off information and last for ages. Especally the fully waterproof one's like this which helps keep dry especally if your like me and liable to drop it some where damp. The explorer maps are a nice scale for walking and you are able to pin point your position exactly with it's detail. Only downside with laminated maps if you fold them the wrong way (which you have to do sometimes to see the other side) it does damage evntually. But they are very durable and the best out there.
As for the area. The lakes are the most breath taking areas in the country. But you proply know that and if you probably plan on going there if you where looking at this map. So simple as, these are the best maps you can find, so walkers, explorers, climbers etc. it's a must.
But like most of the Lakes this area is beatiful so go and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very handy map, 21 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a very good quality map, the scale is just about perfect for the hills, also the coating it has makes it weatherproof, (most important for the lakes), would highly reccomend this map to everybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Mar 2011
Very versatile. Excellent. Hard wearing. Well worth that little extra money than the standard map. Used it in wet conditions and it performed well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Ms. J. E. Kenyon "jojo" (cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well you cant go wrong with OS maps, this is my first Active one and it is a little heavier/bulkier but if it is raining you can sit on it while you eat your dinner and keep your bum dry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great map, not waterproofed., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Lakes: North Western Area (OS Explorer Map Series): North Western Area (OS Explorer Map Series) (Map)
The reviews for this item have been merged with the active version of the map (which is waterproof). I've checked Amazon and they no longer seem to sell the Active maps directly, they're available from other sellers currently at 13.99. Be careful if you're needing a waterproof map to check the listing to ensure it's the 'Active Explorer' version.

Other than that slight annoyance, it is the usual high quality you get with OS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maps, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Lakes: North Western Area (OS Explorer Map Series): North Western Area (OS Explorer Map Series) (Map)
Used on a regular basis for work very important for what we do and work better than a sat nav.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Explorer Map, 25 Oct 2013
By 
JHvW "JHvW" (Pays Bas, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Lakes: North Western Area (OS Explorer Map Series): North Western Area (OS Explorer Map Series) (Map)
If you want to know where you are going on foot, these maps are excellent. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews