Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say?, 18 April 2011
By 
J. C. Laughton "Jon Laughton" (Olney, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howgill Fells and Upper Eden Valley (OS Explorer Map) (Paperback)
What can you say? It's an OS map... the best. Double sided, with the Howgills on one side, and the area immediately north of them (the upper Eden valley) on the other. The latest standard of 1:25 000 mapping, dated 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't get Better., 16 Dec 2013
By 
G. Boundey "Porgie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howgill Fells and Upper Eden Valley (OS Explorer Map) (Paperback)
Anyone who uses these maps can't deny the clarity and quality of the information given.

My only dislike is that over a few weeks after a few folds for different locations the maps tent to start tearing on the fold.
I always use an iron to melt the glue and remove the stiff cover before using in my map case but the problem remains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Detail, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howgill Fells and Upper Eden Valley (OS Explorer Map) (Paperback)
The best since ~1853
These maps are called OL because that is what you say when you realise you need to buy another one for a small area not covered by the one you have! Only joking. The Ordnance Survey have always done a remarkable job in keeping the British mainland mapped in great detail and up to date. I doubt you will find another country in the world that have small scale features such as sheep folds and tumulus highlighted on the map. It is this kind of detail that is essential out on the hill or mountain in remote areas to accurately navigate sans GPS. On this point I would say that I am technology agnostic, that is to say I use GPS BUT I do not rely on it alone and can easily revert to map and compass should GPS fail(and indeed it has several times). With regards to the waterproof 'Active' maps it comes down to personal choice, some people swear by them others prefer paper. I always use paper maps and a waterproof case, this is because in my experience the 'Active' maps are a bit bulky/cumbersome and impossible to use in strong winds. Finally I would also recommend Harvey Mountain area maps as they are fantastic for route planning and also getting the shape(Topology) of the ground and features really quickly due to contour shading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not lost yet., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howgill Fells and Upper Eden Valley (OS Explorer Map) (Paperback)
We have used these maps for many years. Don't go out without one! It never crosses my mind to buy any other variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Walking map, 28 Jun 2013
By 
J. Eaton "snakes alive" (lancs uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howgill Fells and Upper Eden Valley (OS Explorer Map) (Paperback)
It's a map by Ordnance survey so what can I say that you don't already know about these quality maps? If you are a walker and a map reader this is the tops. All kinds of electronic gadgets are available for field work these days and you can navigate by satellite anywhere it seems- But good maps don;t need any batteries. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OS Mapping, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howgill Fells and Upper Eden Valley (OS Explorer Map) (Paperback)
Quality mapping with an overpriced cover, rather have it laminated and leave the cover off, it only gets ripped off anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MAP, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howgill Fells and Upper Eden Valley (OS Explorer Map) (Paperback)
I used it OK and it did the trick.i dont want to write any more i i i i i i
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howgill Fells and Upper Eden Valley (OS Explorer Map)
Howgill Fells and Upper Eden Valley (OS Explorer Map) by Ordnance Survey (Paperback - 12 May 2008)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews