Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blanc is whiter than white
Let's get one thing straight! This isn't Delia! Part of the joy of this book is the sheer escapism, and the insight it gives into the extraordinarily detailed and complex world of a world-class kitchen, and the borderline-obsessive that runs it. However, there are some recipes that a reasonably competent cook can accomplish, and Blanc makes sure that each dish is...
Published on 8 Sept. 2003 by Mrs. M. Donaldson

versus
1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Practical Use
This is the only one of my library of cookbooks that I have never. ever managed, despite many attempts, to cook a single recipe. All far, far too complicated. One either realises that there is no hope of getting the key ingredient or that by the time one has made the three other recipes that have to go into the recipe one thought one was making that one will have run...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Clive


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully complex, 2 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Raymond Blanc: Recipes From Le Manoir Aux Quat' Saisons (Paperback)
A negative review of this book makes the absolutely accurate point that the recipes are often exceedingly complex. So they should be. Raymond Blanc has written other cookbooks aimed at a simpler style, this is explicitly there to offer you some 2-star level dishes from Le Manoir. I loved it, both the challenge and the results. I came to it very early on in my cooking career, without a knowledge of how to make even very basic dishes, and found what it expected staggering. I also found that Blanc laid down the methods very clearly, and that it merely required hard work and time to make food that I had never before dreamed of doing.

The experience really was eye opening, and I recall thinking that I after a lifetime of eating in black-and-white, this was how to eat in colour. I've remained fond of the book ever since. Much recommended, but not if you want ten-minute suppers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars raymond blanc, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raymond Blanc: Recipes From Le Manoir Aux Quat' Saisons (Paperback)
lovely illistrations well demonstrated easy to read explaained well so that it could be well understood by everyne recommand it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful Chef, 19 Jan. 2014
By 
Kenneth J. Sayers "kens01" (adelaide south australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raymond Blanc: Recipes From Le Manoir Aux Quat' Saisons (Paperback)
One of my wife's favourite chefs, she just loves French cooking. This man is obviously the master. One for food lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars le manoir aux quart saisons, 25 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good condition i am extremely pleased with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raymond Blanc: Recipes From Le Manoir Aux Quat' Saisons (Paperback)
As expected, for the accomplished cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, easy to follow - wonderful results in the kitchen, 13 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Raymond Blanc: Recipes From Le Manoir Aux Quat' Saisons (Paperback)
An excellent way to impress your friends at a dinner party. His dishes are very impressive and fun to make
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP CHEF, 28 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. A. Leone (TAVERHAM NORFOLK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raymond Blanc: Recipes From Le Manoir Aux Quat' Saisons (Paperback)
THE BOOK IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK TELLING HIS LIFE STORY FROM HUMBLE BEGINNINGS TO BEING TOP CHEF OWNING PROBABLY THE BEST AND MOST PICTURESQUE EATING ESTABLISHMENT IN THE WORLD. MY PARTNER MARGARET HAS JUST WON A WEEKEND ALL EXPENSES PAID HERE-----CAN'T WAIT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Practical Use, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Raymond Blanc: Recipes From Le Manoir Aux Quat' Saisons (Paperback)
This is the only one of my library of cookbooks that I have never. ever managed, despite many attempts, to cook a single recipe. All far, far too complicated. One either realises that there is no hope of getting the key ingredient or that by the time one has made the three other recipes that have to go into the recipe one thought one was making that one will have run out of steam or interest and instead taken the escape route of Monsieur Blanc's Cooking for Friends which is one of the best cookbooks ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raymond Blanc: Recipes From Le Manoir Aux Quat' Saisons
Raymond Blanc: Recipes From Le Manoir Aux Quat' Saisons by Raymond Blanc (Paperback - 11 Oct. 1990)
Used & New from: £4.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews