Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best!, 30 Jan. 2007
By 
Misfit (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Elizabeth Chadwick is a very talented author. This is the first of her books I have read and it will not be the last. The scenes are well written, right down to the smells -- you can picture every thing in your mind. A wonderful, exciting love story and a refreshing change to read about Outremer (Israel) during the crusades.

It was wonderful seeing Sabin grow and mature from a young hellion and womanizer into a caring, loving husband and father, while at the same time being a fierce and noble warrier. The fight between Sabin and the Arab where all Sabin had to defend himself was a wooden shield was heartstopping.

The final chapters were some of the most thrilling page turners I have ever read. An incredible rescue, and according to the author based upon true events, except that Sabin and Anais are fictional. An excellent read, I cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Read, 28 Jan. 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Sabin FitzSimon has a reputation for trouble, but when he seduces one of the King's mistresses not even his fighting skills can save him from the King's soldiers. When he returns to England from abroad he is given the chance to rebuild his career and salvage his reputation. The knight Edmund Strongfist is leaving for the Holy Land and Sabin leaves with him and his daughter.

Just a small taster to whet the appetite of the reader.

When I read Elizabeth Chadwick's books I always wonder as a man whether I really should be, as they could be construed as love stories. But she has such a feel for the period (twelfth century), a part of history I am particularly fond of, that I cannot put them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DJ's Reviews, 20 April 2004
By A Customer
The Falcons of Montabard is set in the time of the crusades around 1120AD. The hero of the book is one Sabin Fitz Simon whose exploits lead tohis family strongly suggesting he join the holy crusades under thewatchful eye of a huge knight known as Strongfist who is also taking hisdaughter Annais with him. Stongfist warns Sabin at the outset in nouncertain terms that if he even as looks at Annais in an unbecoming way hewould meet with the wrath of his sword.
As the story unfolds Sabin andAnnais are forced together in unexpected and tragic circumstances whichboth must chose whether they are to respect the last wishes of Annais'shusband for the sake of their own personal agendas.
This is the second Elizabeth Chadwick's book I have read and from thestart I was captivated with the rich tapestry of medieval life which leadsthe reader into a world that is so detailed you believe you are there. Thecharacters are so vivid that by the end of the book you believe that theywere people that actually know and love.
This is a book that has everything a reader could possibly want for a goodread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Falcons of Montabard Soars Above the Rest!, 23 Aug. 2003
By 
Kimberly Gelderman (Spring Lake, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Falcons Of Montabard (Hardcover)
This is the story of Sabin FitzSimon, the illegitimate son of a Norman earl. It begins shortly after the tragedy and scandal of Sabin seducing King Henry's mistress, Lora. He is caught by the King's men and barely escapes with his life. Lora is not so lucky, she is promptly put aboard the Blanche Nef, or White Ship, and drowns with everyone else on board after it strikes rocks and flounders. The heir to the throne, Henry's son, also perished. Sabin feels guilty for her watery fate. Meanwhile, after learning of this, his stepmother, Matilda, Countess of Huntingdon & Northampton and wife to Prince David of Scotland, along with her maidservant, decide that Sabin should try to redeem himself by going to the Holy Land. He is sent with Strongfist, a knight, and his convent raised daughter, Annais. Even though Annais is convent raised she has no true vocation and her father hopes to find her a suitable husband which leaves out Sabin. In fact, Sabin is warned to stay away from her as Strongfist is aware of his reputation with women.
However, from the journey to settling in the Holy Land, Sabin and Annais find their fates entwined in a way they never expected. Their trials and tribulations will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the novel. In this case, love does conquer all, but at what price?
This novel kept me swiftly turning page after page anticipating their next adventure. I have never been disappointed with any of Elizabeth Chadwick's historical novels and I have read every one of them except Daughters of the Grail (which I hope to read soon). I couldn't wait for this book to be released in the USA a year later, so I ordered from Amazon in the UK and was once again amazed at Elizabeth Chadwick's storytelling ability.
I hope this review makes it to the novel's title page this time as this is the second time I have submitted it. The first time I tried was June 23, 2003.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a Good Read, 17 Mar. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Falcons of Montabard (Hardcover)
Sabin FitzSimon has a reputation for trouble, but when he seduces one of the King's mistresses not even his fighting skills can save him from the King's soldiers. When he returns to England from abroad he is given the chance to rebuild his career and salvage his reputation. The knight Edmund Strongfist is leaving for the Holy Land and Sabin leaves with him and his daughter.

Just a taste, read the rest yourself.

When I read Elizabeth Chadwick's books I always wonder as a man whether I really should be, as they could be construed as love stories. But she has such a feel for the period (twelfth century), a part of history I am particularly fond of that I cannot put them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great story in Outremere, 10 Aug. 2010
this is not one of her very very best of all times, but it comes within the range of "good seconds", and it truly deserves attention. The story unfolds in an exotic place and has the usual twist and turns before true love can win. But the plot is very well designed and it doesn't lack in "coup de teatre" here and there. True, the idea to have them getting married because they are obliged to do so and it really was their hearth desire, well, it may seem trite. But a pleasing story it is and all in all enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twists, turns and a heck of a story, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is quite a long book, but, believe me, it will not take you long to read!
At first I wasn't as quickly enamoured with the main characters as I was with those in 'The Wild Hunt', but as the tale went on I found Sabin, Annais and her larger than life father, Strongfist to be well developed, likable 'people'.
The story follows the fate of two young people constantly thrown together: Annais is a young motherless girl who was schooled by nuns, and Sabin is a lusty and illegitimate lad looking for a purpose in life. Off they go to the Holy Lands where Annais is wed and widowed quite quickly. The rest of the tale beautifully describes how Sabin and Annais' relationship develops and how close they actually become.
There is capture, harems, bathhouses and war in this packed story of the Franks' life during the 12th century in Jerusalem. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Falcons of Montabard, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good, good plot and historical detail very interesting. Elizabeth Chadwick always very good and meticulous in her research, she really makes the characters (real or fictional) come alive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic read, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elizabeth Chadwick delivers wonderful stories with all the atmosphere of that period. I found it fascinating to read about the Holy Land and how hard life was. Very interesting and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transported back in time once again!, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What I love about Chadwick is the superb mixture of factual coming to life with the fictionalisation of characters that really existed. All the domesticities and small details are not forgotten much like the attention paid by the Bronte's but it doesn't detract from the pace of the story, only enhancing my enjoyment. The use of language is well gauged, with well written prose, almost poetic at times whilst setting a scene yet without distracting the reader from the gripping storyline. It was refreshing to be taken to another land this time and the descriptions of landscape to markets had me almost smelling lemons and stinky fish!! The other dynamic is the relationships of the characters, they are so believable engaging the reader in the complex emotions wrought in humanity. I just love her novels and this ranks as one of my favourites along with theWilliam marshall series and The Winter mantle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Falcons Of Montabard
The Falcons Of Montabard by Elizabeth Chadwick (Hardcover - 1 May 2003)
£17.42
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews