Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace
One of the most fascinating, and at times disturbing, accounts of one of the most (in)famous tennis players of the Open era.
Whether you loved or hated the Super Brat, admired his skill,or despised his behaviour, this autobiography is a candid and reflective look by McEnroe over his life, with special focus on the past twenty five turbalent years in the public...
Published on 18 July 2002

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars John McEnroe, the charismatic and wonderful tennis player
John Patrick McEnroe, born in 1959, was the world's best player between 1980 and 1984. He has won 76 singles titles, of which 7 Grand Slam, and 76 doubles titles. Nowadays he is one of the best (perhaps even the best) tennis commentator.
In this book McEnroe discusses his childhood, his rise to tennis fame and success, his fantastic 1980 and 1981 Wimbledon-finals...
Published on 3 Nov. 2002 by Gerard Kroese


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 27 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If like me you think you'd love being an ATP pro, then read it and it's like being there.
It makes John look nicer than I think he really is though especially having seen him recently close up in Paris (Trophee Lagardere 2010), he strikes me as not very nice or with a super inflated ego; Still an amazing tennis player naturally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace tennis autobiography, 2 Dec. 2013
To become a multiple US Open and Wimbledon champion takes some skill and determination, and McEnroe certainly had both. In this story of his life, we hear McEnroe's own take on his career. He doesn't analyse himself a great deal - he talks a lot about incidents where he became angry on court, but never really gets to grips with why he was such an angry player compared with many of his rivals. However, it's fascinating to hear McEnroe's point of view. He comes across as a little self-centred and there are a lot of excuses when things don't go his way - whether it's the end of his marriage, his descent down the rankings, or falling out with other players as a TV pundit - but one senses that this combination of selfishness and ruthlessness was a character trait that was vital in driving his rise to the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, 10 Aug. 2008
By 
A. Ashton (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am too young to have watched McEnroe playing at his peak, but still I found this a very interesting and entertaining read. McEnroe writes openly and honestly about himself and it's fascinating to read about how he developed from such an angry 'wild child' into the mature and clearly intelligent man you see commentating on Wimbledon today.

I thought he achieved an appropriate balance between writing about tennis and his achievements in his career and writing about his personal life and his development as an individual. I learned some things about him I would never have known and the book furthered the respect I have for the man he is today and the interest I have in the game of tennis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Treat with caution, 4 Mar. 2010
There is no doubt that this is a good autobiography (despite the slightly tedious opening chapter about Big Mac's whereabouts on 9/11). But the trouble is, it's almost too honest. That might sound strange _ after all, McEnroe is nothing if not a man who speaks his mind - but I actually came away liking him less than when I started. Some of his comments and attitudes about the people he's crossed paths with reveal him in a unflattering light, and more than once I found myself thinking "what a jerk" ( as Mac himself might say). Worth reading, but if Mac is your sporting idol, approach with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing personality, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable read. An argument could definitely be made for McEnroe being the most well known tennis player of all time. It is a highly unusual combination for a person to not only be the best in the world in their field but also the biggest personality as well. This is a well written book and praise must be given to McEnroe for being so honest and forthright with his opinions. Love him or loathe him you can be sure of two things about Johnny Mac. One, he was genuinely one of the greatest tennis players who ever lived and two he did and will tell you exactly what he thinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting so far before I stopped..., 14 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: Serious (Kindle Edition)
Cover 4.0 Not sure whether intended or not showing his face partly in light partly dark. I wonder which part of him player or personality fits what colour. Admire his grit but Borg did it without the antics. Perhaps he could have got on with his game better if he had the playbacks as in 2013. Found I got bored with the book at about half way. Lent it to a friend who plays tennis well and she did not finish either. The book going as part of my two going for every new one bought. I like his commentary now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Seriously interesting, 13 July 2007
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
An interesting insight into the great tennis player's background and mental processes. Although I am generally sympathetic towards him and regard him now as an outstanding commentator, the book is in places a bit overly defensive and self-justificatory, e.g. he still cannot seem to accept he might ever have been wrong about a linecall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 19 Nov. 2003
By 
I loved this book! He's such a strong personality, he writes well and he has a great sense of humour that comes through page after page. Johnny Mac really knows how to laugh at himself, which makes this book all the more engaging and entertaining. But he also comes across as honest, and the insights into the players' world, and how they think and feel during matches and after are enjoyable. Buy it. You will love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and engaging, 10 April 2007
The is probably the most honest self aware book I've read by an athelete. It gets inside the mental game of tennis and shows the self doubt that has to be overcome in being the best player you can be. It also showed the link between what happens on the court and off, how do you switch off that inensity when you leave?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book., 21 July 2008
Never was really into tennis but thought I would get this book as he seems such a funny guy on this years wimbledon. It gives an insight into the joys and downfalls of one of tennis great entertainers from his early days and a brief indicatio of his battles with other tennis greats. A must have biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serious: The Autobiography
Serious: The Autobiography by John McEnroe (Hardcover - 10 Jun. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews