Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear and insiteful application of Myers Briggs research
There are many books covering psychological types and how to identify them. This book presents this information, but instead of tedious tests, it identifies a series of tell-tale signs that help you use the myers-briggs type indicator system. Where it comes into it's own is the guidance for speaking to other types of people and how to adjust your message to ensure they...
Published on 23 July 2000 by C. N. Russell

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MBTI misconception
This book starts with a good introduction to personality typing (MBTI) and continues with a "manual" how to type yourself. But this manual is really bad! I wouldn't have had a chance to find my right type by that. Further it's not even suggested that one should conduct a computerbased test and get the feedback of a professional on this!

One flaw:
By this...
Published on 20 Oct 2010 by Ah, benim sevgili kitaplar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear and insiteful application of Myers Briggs research, 23 July 2000
By 
There are many books covering psychological types and how to identify them. This book presents this information, but instead of tedious tests, it identifies a series of tell-tale signs that help you use the myers-briggs type indicator system. Where it comes into it's own is the guidance for speaking to other types of people and how to adjust your message to ensure they hear what you are trying to say. I work in the sales business and I estimate that my ability to win business has risen by 30%, just by adapting my presentation style to suit the audience. It reminds me somewhat of the old song "It ain't what you do, it's the way that you do it - and that's what gets results". This book will help you choose the right way to do things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benefits from tis book, 17 Nov 2005
By 
P. N. Green "Paul Green" (Rayne, Braintree, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Speedreading People: How to Size People Up and Speak Their Language (Paperback)
I have been interested in MBTI for some time but this book really brought it to life in a practical way. I now use it regularly when I am to go into a potentially difficult business (or even social) meeting, especially if it with someone with whom I do not normally get on well. It has helped me resolved so many tricky situations and enabled me to achieve good out comes from business and sales relationships which looked difficult.
A spledid book and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Easy to absorb. Clear and straight to the point, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Speedreading People: How to Size People Up and Speak Their Language (Paperback)
This book is very easy to pick up and read. Has plenty of detail but it gets straight to the point using simple language making it very easy to absorb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I ever read., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Speedreading People: How to Size People Up and Speak Their Language (Paperback)
Even though it was written a while ago, this book is totally outstanding. It's down-to-earth elements and chapters has more the a high chance on changing your perspective of people, forever, and give you drastic social edge. If you are looking understand yourself and others, how to communicate to them, and how to get the Most out of them, there is no book better suited for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art of Speedreading, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Speedreading People: How to Size People Up and Speak Their Language (Paperback)
Excellent book. Well explained. Easy access to relevant information. Ideal. Recommended for anyone looking to understand Myers Briggs in more depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MBTI misconception, 20 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Art of Speedreading People: How to Size People Up and Speak Their Language (Paperback)
This book starts with a good introduction to personality typing (MBTI) and continues with a "manual" how to type yourself. But this manual is really bad! I wouldn't have had a chance to find my right type by that. Further it's not even suggested that one should conduct a computerbased test and get the feedback of a professional on this!

One flaw:
By this book it is more or less impossible to be iNtuitive and Judging at the same time. I see that it is indeed difficult to distinguish but the authors didn't try hard enough (IMO). I acknowledge that my type (female ENTJ) is very rare, but still.
There is the "Have my stuff at its place"-example: An intuitive can show already in early years that he/she is intuitive eg. when the child never knows where it left its sneakers or other items. Which is true for me, and I'm an iNtuitive person.
And then for Judging they use the same example: "Judging people like to have a place for each item of their possesions" (or something similar to this wording)... that doesn't apply for me, I like a tidy surrounding. I just never manage to keep it that way... because it is details to me and I don't like repetitive work (comes from my strong iNtuition).

And it goes on like this!

I think it's much better to gain a good knowledge base of MBTI and then to use this knowledge to understand people better. But this book is a joke!

O, another funny example would be:
If the car of a person is tidy then it is most likely a Judging person! Hilarious! And it goes on with desks, hairstyle etc... I never never care about details, all that counts for me is the big! picture. I don't even feel bothered by an untidy car.

Anyway, this might be a good book to read the average John, Jane and xxx but it's worth nothing if you come a cross an intuitive judger ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Art of Speedreading People: How to Size People Up and Speak Their Language (Paperback)
I found the book interesting and I find that it complements well the "Do what you are" of Paul Tieger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lot to digest, 24 July 2009
By 
Rosie (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Speedreading People: How to Size People Up and Speak Their Language (Paperback)
I good book, with lots of information. May be too much for the beginner, unless interested for professional reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the effort to read, 20 April 1999
By A Customer
Manipulation and harassment using bad psychology. I would have preferred to give it no stars but that's not one of the options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Speedreading People: How to Size People Up and Speak Their Language
10.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews