Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, but incomplete.
We recommend this book to people trying to get hired at Microsoft or companies influenced by its hiring practices; people who want to think critically about how hiring practices work; and people who want to see how smart they are. The last group includes those who enjoy puzzles, and will relish the fun, challenging questions presented here. The book's core is a collection...
Published on 21 Oct 2005 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks Practicality
Most of this book traces the development of how brainteasers and other puzzles found their way into Investment Banking, consulting-type interviews. This in itself is not very useful, although there are 2 chapters dedicated to the actual brainteasers often used in banking interviews and their answers.
There isn't much on how you should actually answer these questions...
Published on 17 Sep 2004 by lawryboy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, but incomplete., 21 Oct 2005
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Would You Move Mount Fuji?: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle - How the World's Smartest Companies Select the Most Creative Thinkers (Paperback)
We recommend this book to people trying to get hired at Microsoft or companies influenced by its hiring practices; people who want to think critically about how hiring practices work; and people who want to see how smart they are. The last group includes those who enjoy puzzles, and will relish the fun, challenging questions presented here. The book's core is a collection of entertaining brainteasers from job interviews. Given the high level of competition, most people who are trying to get hired at Microsoft probably need the edge it provides. Readers can work methodically through the questions, and the reasons behind them, to build a general approach for dealing with most puzzles. Readers who want to reflect on hiring practices - such as human resources personnel or scholars of corporate culture - will find the book intriguing but incomplete. Author William Poundstone is incredibly useful when discussing the gaps between what these questions do and what they are intended to do, but he delivers only quick sketches of explanations about how corporate culture retains these approaches despite their relative lack of function. His suggestions for alternative approaches are equally brief. Even after reading this entertaining book, readers are likely to find that perfecting their companies' interviewing processes will continue to be something of a puzzle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - but I hope it gets me a good job!, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Would You Move Mount Fuji?: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle - How the World's Smartest Companies Select the Most Creative Thinkers (Paperback)
Great little book - which gives the background on why high-tech companies ask these questions, and quite a few puzzles you can share with your family and friends.

I can't comment on the efficacy of this book yet for interview preparation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas present, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Would You Move Mount Fuji?: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle - How the World's Smartest Companies Select the Most Creative Thinkers (Paperback)
Bought this for brother as Xmas present, the boy who has everything. Thought would be handy for next job interview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book, 22 Feb 2011
This review is from: How Would You Move Mount Fuji?: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle - How the World's Smartest Companies Select the Most Creative Thinkers (Paperback)
I'm not sure how good it is to prepare you for a Microsoft interview but in any case it's a fun book to read. Nice puzzles to keep you amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps your mind busy., 28 Dec 2006
By 
tiw "tiw" (Amsterdam, NL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How Would You Move Mount Fuji?: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle - How the World's Smartest Companies Select the Most Creative Thinkers (Paperback)
Another demonstration of Microsoft geekiness.

You don't need to be preparing for an interview in order to buy this book.

It is full of brain teasers & smart answers for tricky questions which will make your brain busy for hours..

You will also have a lot to talk with your friends if they all read the book, will try to find geeker answers to the questions if you are one of a kind.

I read it, I loved it; if there will be a second book with more questions in it, i would not hesitate but would go and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiendish, 12 July 2007
By 
N. Chivers - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Would You Move Mount Fuji?: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle - How the World's Smartest Companies Select the Most Creative Thinkers (Paperback)
I loved this book. The puzzles are great and there's a good spread of difficulties. About half the book is given over the story of the rise of the tech giants and how they recruit good staff, particularly developers. It's all highly entertaining, the only bit I didn't care for was Poundstone's own theories on the best way to interview staff. I'm not in HR so this I could do without, but other than that this book is great fun, especially if you're a programmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks Practicality, 17 Sep 2004
Most of this book traces the development of how brainteasers and other puzzles found their way into Investment Banking, consulting-type interviews. This in itself is not very useful, although there are 2 chapters dedicated to the actual brainteasers often used in banking interviews and their answers.
There isn't much on how you should actually answer these questions in order to impress your interviewers.
The upside of this book is that the chapter containing the brainteasers probably covers all the brainteasers you'll ever 'bump' into during typical Wall Street/City interviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not great, not bad, 13 May 2010
By 
Mr. Millan Alonso (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Would You Move Mount Fuji?: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle: Microsoft's Cult of the Puzzle - How the World's Smartest Companies Select the Most Creative Thinkers (Paperback)
The book talks a lot about measuring intelligence, and has some puzzles, more an entertaning read that something that would get you ready for an interview. includes a lot of history on the Intelligence Tests, some general information about interviews and some puzzles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews