Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Dismal anymore
This is a really good introduction to Economics.

As someone who's picked up Economics mostly by reading the business pages of the Independent it's been very useful.

The chatty style belies the fact there's lots of information to be learned from this book.

His central two points are that scarcity dictates price (supply and demand) and that...
Published on 2 May 2006 by A. I. Mackenzie

versus
110 of 117 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
I picked this up at the airport and nearly finished in two flights. It's an easy reading explanation of an economist's take on some everyday things and some big issues (like globalisation).

Some of the early stuff (about coffee shops etc) is really good fun. You might not be shocked by it but it is a very effective way of explaining some key economic theories...
Published on 20 July 2006 by tomsk77


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do your own economics and Don't Buy It, 9 Jan 2007
Aside from a great opening chapter, and then a half decent one explaining the 3G licence auctions in the UK, this book is utter tosh, littered with inaccuracies and truisms that are not backed up by any facts.

For example, the author claims to be a great fan of globalisation, then elsewhere he states "paying unemployment benefits is the right thing to do", and then presents zero facts or statistics to back this up.

As another reviewer commented, the misguided sections on taxation and healthcare could only have been written by someone with strong socialist views, which is totally at loggerheads with the globalised, free movement of goods and people theories he espouses elsewhere. It strikes me that the author is probably an academic-type economist who has never really worked in the commercial sector with the pressures and business realities that brings.

Not recommended in the slightest. For the lowdown on how economics really works read something like Investment Biker by Jim Rogers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sep 2014
By 
Enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Love the man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Item..., 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This product was overall, a great one! I am satisfied with it too. And the whole story outline is great too. Very enjoyable when you are bored and have nothing to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good start from poor starting position, result failure., 16 Jun 2011
Like many other not too impressed reviewers I enjoyed the first few chapters as a light diversionary read. Suspicions were beginning to form regarding what could have been editorial errors but then I read that carbon dioxide is a pollutant! No wonder the World's economies are in the state they are in. If pop economists believe that and expect others to follow then the dumbing down of education is complete and we really are doomed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money and give it a miss, 15 May 2007
This book is warming up common sense knowledge and trying to sell it as easily digestible economy for the casual reader. It doesn't take a business degree to write this lukewarm book of commonsense business tactics.

Its boring, dragging out dull stories and if anything, will send you to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting read, 22 Dec 2007
This is the best non fiction book I've read for a while. Tim Harford is very well informed, communicates clearly and kept my interest all the way through. I enjoyed it much more than other popular economics books I've read recently (eg Freakonomics and The tipping point).

Buy It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever!, 29 April 2006
By 
Mr. Daniel S. Lester (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Undercover Economist (Hardcover)
I thought this was the best book ever! If 'economics' sounds a bit high brow or boring, think of this book as just explaining common sense and how systems can work efficiently, in such a starkly compelling and insightful manner.

There are perhaps a few too many words in the book - some ideas are explained and then explained again in more detail or with different examples, but this makes it more accessible. The author's personable style and humour is definitely worth any extra space.

Buy, buy, buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 22 Jan 2009
By 
P. Wheeler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A good intro to the beginner of economic concepts, a recommended read because it does open up ones mind to the underlying economic policies and theories of everyday life that to the novice are left unseen. Plus Tim Harford has got another book out so if you enjoy it and his writing style you can learn more by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Undercover Economist
The Undercover Economist by Tim Harford (Hardcover - 6 April 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews