Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vorsprung durch Völkerverständigung
Some of the reviewers seem to have mistaken Ben Donald's book as a detailed travel guide or an accurate dictionary. I don't think it's either of those. Rather it's a very entertaining insight into German Befindlichkeit that goes well beyond the World War II, Wembley 1966, and beer & sausages trivia. Of course, not everybody might find the comparison of cheap airlines and...
Published on 11 Sep 2007 by Georg Stahl

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Achtung Cannibals
Being German, I have to admit that the author is indeed an accurate observer of (a few aspects of) todays Germany. Still, finishing EVERY chapter by attributing the chapters topic to the German pursuit of Gemütlichkeit is tiring. With the only exception of putting the story of cannibal Meiwes into the chapter on German cuisine and calling it curiously German...
Published on 21 Feb 2010 by Reisender


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alles Klaar, 23 July 2007
This review is from: Springtime For Germany: or How I Learned to Love Lederhosen (Paperback)
Book that sunlounger, put your towell out, shed all your clothing, stock up on the pretzels and weissbier, and grab a copy of Donald's book because you're going to laugh your socks (and sandals) off with this amusing travelogue on a country and its inhabitants that you thought you knew .... but don't really. It's not all lederhosen and bratwurst - well just a little - but it certainly dispels a lot of myths, clears up some stereotypes and - best of all - tells you where to find the best nudist beaches in Germany. Oh, and it also makes you want to drop everything - even your towell - and go travelling. Which has to be the sign of a good travel book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Springtime for Germany, 23 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Springtime For Germany: or How I Learned to Love Lederhosen (Paperback)
Written with a personal insight gained from living in Germany as a boy in the 1970s, Springtime for Germany is entertaining, self effacing and informative. The book champions the cause of a world weary traveller. Exasperated by games of holiday one-upmanship at smart dinner parties, the author has a chance meeting that sets him on his way to Germany and to rediscovering his love of travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volkswagen Transporter, 24 July 2007
By 
Special Agent (schleswig holstein) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Springtime For Germany: or How I Learned to Love Lederhosen (Paperback)
The sticker on the flowerpower VW bus said: "Sell my van? I'd rather stick wasps up my arse" - which is I'm told a good German joke ("All German jokes are good", Fritz concurred).

A quixotic (re)introduction to our saxon heritage - fun and fast-paced, and surprisingly informative. No more mistaking your angst from your elbow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deutsche Humor, 24 July 2007
This review is from: Springtime For Germany: or How I Learned to Love Lederhosen (Paperback)
The funniest travel guide I have ever read. It makes you want to get off your arsch and take a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teutonic Heaven, 24 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Springtime For Germany: or How I Learned to Love Lederhosen (Paperback)
I must confess to some reservations a8out our Germanic cousins. Their history is of aggressive militarism and Wagnerian melodrama. Allied to that they gave us Rudi Voller's hair. Wholly unforgivea8le. This 8ook made me think again. What Donald does so well is to make you feel German. He thinks and writes in their linear and humourless manner. His jokes smell of stale ca88ge and sweaty leather pants. His writing is a 8litzkreig against style and su8telty. He makes you feel that your name is Hans and start to sing the songs from the Student Prince. He made me want to move to Munich and marry Helga with the steins of Lowen8rau. This truly is writing of the highest social order. Snell Snell Herr Donald.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Springtime For Germany: or How I Learned to Love Lederhosen
Springtime For Germany: or How I Learned to Love Lederhosen by Ben Donald (Paperback - 14 Jun 2007)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews