Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely exquisite Vogue portrait compilation!!!
Wow!! I got this book for Christmas and was absolutely gobsmacked by the beautiful compilation of portraits of famous people featured in Vogue over the Century.
Its a big book and there is a portrait per page with some on two pages with plain B&W writing on the other, or all on one page if the portraits small. Although the portraits are often B&W (something I don't...
Published on 9 Mar 2004

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content but small and flimsy - go for the hardcover
I own quite a few books on portrait photography, and threw the paperback version of this book in my basket on a whim. It's certainly cheap enough, and I hadn't noticed there was also a hardcover.

The content of this book is fantastic. It's a great collection of portraits, and I appreciated the short texts that accompany them. But the print in the paperback is...
Published on 27 Dec 2010 by D. Cohen De Lara


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely exquisite Vogue portrait compilation!!!, 9 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Wow!! I got this book for Christmas and was absolutely gobsmacked by the beautiful compilation of portraits of famous people featured in Vogue over the Century.
Its a big book and there is a portrait per page with some on two pages with plain B&W writing on the other, or all on one page if the portraits small. Although the portraits are often B&W (something I don't usually like) it actually accentuates the quality and its so much fun and really interesting and informative to look at, you can spend hours finding out about different film stars, models, royals (it features the 1991 widely reproduced portrait of the Prince and Princess of Wales and their two sons William and Harry having a picnic at Highgrove. The late Diana is slightly ironic in the picture, she famously disliked horses and is wearing riding clothes which she rarely would have actually worn!!!)
It starts of with portraits of Viginia Woolf and Basil Rathbone and Rudolph Valentino, and at the end of course there are the modern popular beauties Jude Law, Nicole Kidman, Kate Moss ect.
Occasionally there are a set of photos, and there is even a set of informal previously unseen photos of Marlene Dietrich at a party in 1955; smoking and avidly chatting to friends seemingly unaware of the photographer.
This is a brilliant, facinating set of portraits which you just have to buy and own, Amazon has it for a wonderful price too and its just a treasure to any person, any age!!!
It also makes an excellant present for someone special!!!
'People in Vogue: A Century of Portrait Photography' captures each indiviual's spirit in gorgous portraits full of life and style, and makes a marvellous addition too any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content but small and flimsy - go for the hardcover, 27 Dec 2010
By 
D. Cohen De Lara (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: People In Vogue: A Century of Portrait Photography (Paperback)
I own quite a few books on portrait photography, and threw the paperback version of this book in my basket on a whim. It's certainly cheap enough, and I hadn't noticed there was also a hardcover.

The content of this book is fantastic. It's a great collection of portraits, and I appreciated the short texts that accompany them. But the print in the paperback is so ridiculously small that it's often hard to read. And the binding flimsy and prone to cracking - don't try to lay the book spread open too flat. I got back on Amazon the next day and found the hardcover version of this book, which I will buy and then I'll give away the paperback to someone.

tl;dr - If you like this kind of content, it's worth paying extra for the (larger) hardcover edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A certain classic, 20 Oct 2005
This review is from: People In Vogue: A Century of Portrait Photography (Paperback)
This book has inspired me in my ambition to become a photographer that captures Style, Class, Beauty, Elegance, and timeless pictures for that is what this book and it's contributers offer. Unless you consider people as fashion it is beyond fashion (thank God) a certain classic!
Dont think twice about purchasing it as a gift.
(This refers to the hardback version, however the photos are the same in the condensed version)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PEOPLE IN VOGUE, 14 April 2010
By 
S. L. Graham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: People In Vogue: A Century of Portrait Photography (Paperback)
For the money this is a little gem of a fashion book. If you want the bigger hard back version, pay the money and have a coffee table version. But this is easy to hold and easy to flick through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern day Classic, 14 Oct 2005
Possibly not the most insightful or constructive review but this book is essential for anyone wanting to be inspred by fashion and fashion photography. A modern day Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very high quality book, full of brilliant images from some of the worlds greatest photographers.Very much a reflection of the times that these artists and celebrities lived in. Definitely one for the lovers of high quality magazines and fine photography,a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People In Vogue: A Century of Portrait Photography (Paperback)
A nice book for a quiet couple of hours just indulging and having a relax with an easy but interesting set of pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just models and celebrities, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People In Vogue: A Century of Portrait Photography (Paperback)
Comprising nearly 350 pages, this is not just about models and socialites. The book is divided into decades with prominent figures from the 1920s right up to 2002 (the book was first published in 2003). It is fascinating to see the change in photographic style over the years. There are plenty of the old Hollywood stars - Rudolph Valentino, Bette Davis, Joan Crawford, Vivien Leigh, Henry Fonda, Richard Burton, plus Coco Chanel, Wallis Simpson, Tennessee Williams, the ill fated Roman Polanski and Sharon Tate, a charming picture of a three-year old Stella McCartney on the beach (not sure this would be acceptable in today's world!), Kate Moss almost unrecognisable in 1993 with dark hair, a surprisingly virginal looking Jude Law, a very stylised Charles Hawtry in drag (quite convincing!), the gorgeous Brigitte Bardot in her heyday, John and Yoko, Peter Ustinov in his Aston Martin with his children, politicians, choreographers and dancers. The book includes previously unpublished pictures and out-takes including Sophia Loren and singer P J Proby (how good looking he was), contact sheets and a brief history of each sitter. Fascinating and well worth a look. We all have an era we identify closely with and there is something for everyone in this very attractive coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures, very small print., 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People In Vogue: A Century of Portrait Photography (Paperback)
Others have said it, but the print is too small. The whole book would benefit from being 50% larger. Takes you through the decades, a good start to anyone who just wants an overview of the visual history of Vogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A greatly size-reduced version of the original, 28 July 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People In Vogue: A Century of Portrait Photography (Paperback)
I remember seeing the original hardback version of this book on sale some years ago. I cannot remember the cover price but it was certainly more than twice that of this version. I was not able to justify buying that version at the time and it is no longer available. The title is a play on words; obviously the photographs were taken either at the behest of Vogue or were intended to appear in it - not all did - but the models were 'in vogue' for one reason or another at the time the photographs were taken. Some were models in the normal sense but many were either authors, actors, pop stars, artists, film producers or directors with no direct connections to the world of fashion and the remainder mostly designers.

This version appears to be an electronically or photographically reduced version of the original. I don't have a problem with the photographic content as the book is of similar size to many others and many of its images are either presented full page or an a two-page spread. Where I do have an issue is in the size of font used - it is far too small to read comfortably. To make matters worse, a significant proportion is reversed white (or grey) on black and that will always be more difficult to read and especially in the size used here. In most instances, the text is legible only under good light. I cannot think of another book which I now own or have owned in the past where this was an issue.

The contents are arranged by decade but not necessarily chronologically within the chapter. The styles of photography, and of the clothing worn, is therefore very evident. I have often stated in other reviews that the imagery in many books should be sufficient to stand alone and that any text is largely superfluous; that is largely also true with this. However, as a non-reader of Vogue (in most situations), I appreciate the additional information that is provided. Although many of the photographers whose images are used here are names I know well, there are some that are far less familiar. Similarly, some of the images I have seen elsewhere, but not the majority and I appreciate having data concerning the photographer, the session, and sometimes the sitter.

The photography is excellent, as you would expect of Vogue but, because of the text issue which extends through the Acknowledgements and Index but not to the back cover, I feel it necessary to down-mark my rating, hence 5 stars for the imagery, 3 because of the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

People In Vogue: A Century of Portrait Photography
People In Vogue: A Century of Portrait Photography by Robin Derrick (Paperback - 6 Oct 2005)
14.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews