Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best baking books I own!
I bought the older hardcover version of this cookbook that was issued in 1988 and there probably is not a lot of difference between the two versions. I highly recommend this cookbook for two reasons.
First of all, it is written by Beatrice Ojakangas who, in my opinion, is the queen of all recipe book writers:) I own a number of her cookbooks and she writes in a...
Published on 20 Sep 2000 by Amy McKenzie

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars scandelicious!
An excellent cookbook. As a native of Norway I can honestly say that the recipes are truly Scandinavian. However, I have two criticisms. The first is that there are not enough colour pictures - I personally like a well-illustrated cook book. Secondly, I found the American measurements frustrating and I found myself having to order a set of American measuring cups. Despite...
Published on 21 Jan 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best baking books I own!, 20 Sep 2000
I bought the older hardcover version of this cookbook that was issued in 1988 and there probably is not a lot of difference between the two versions. I highly recommend this cookbook for two reasons.
First of all, it is written by Beatrice Ojakangas who, in my opinion, is the queen of all recipe book writers:) I own a number of her cookbooks and she writes in a very clear, concise way. All of her recipes are accompanied by a cultural anecdote or an informative note or two about the recipe so that you feel that you own more than a cookbook - you gain an insight into the Scandinavian culture and way of life.
Secondly, and just as important, the recipes in this book are simply delicious. They run the gamut from breads and rolls to mouth watering pastries, both sweet and savoury. I had seen the many shapes that Danish pastry came in and they looked somewhat daunting to prepare but, in her book, Ms Ojakangas provides easy to follow diagrams that made them a breeze to shape. Being a chocoholic, I never thought that desserts could be tasty unless they were loaded down with the stuff. I stand corrected!:)
Again, I highly recommend this book. The recipes are delicious and it is an excellent book for anyone who has ever felt daunted by baking. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars scandelicious!, 21 Jan 2003
By A Customer
An excellent cookbook. As a native of Norway I can honestly say that the recipes are truly Scandinavian. However, I have two criticisms. The first is that there are not enough colour pictures - I personally like a well-illustrated cook book. Secondly, I found the American measurements frustrating and I found myself having to order a set of American measuring cups. Despite these criticisms I would recommend this book to anyone wanting a truly authentic taste of Scandinavia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No pictures of any of the recipes, 29 Sep 2010
By 
Agapanthus (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps if one is familiar with the cakes/bakes from Scandinavia this book may be suitable for them. However I am not, so I am disappointed that there are no pictures of any of the cakes/recipes; the only picture is on the book's front cover.

Some recipes provide sketches that help visualise stages of making of the recipe but I prefer to see the final result, even more so when dealing with unknown national cakes from other countries. Presentation is as important in my view, and with such a huge range of books available in the market, I am not sure I will keep this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ellie, 13 July 2012
Sounded good, I was hoping to extend my scaninavian baking from cinnamon buns to other goodies. But beware, this is a book written for US readers. It is not just the cup measurements, lots of other references which are confusing to non American bakers. I recommend "scandilicious baking", which I bought this week. I made the banana and spelt bread already and it is delicious !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars would've got 5 but no pictures, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love your gastroporn and love a good read of a cook book then this will not disappoint. True, i have not yet made anything but i have only had the book a couple of weeks. I bought after Nigella reccommends it in her book. I love Scandanvian cookery. It is a good mix of Icelandic, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish and Swedish rather than the typical Danish and Swedish. The little anecdotes and stories transport you somewhere else and make you feel all Christmassy. Chocca with almonds, marzipan, cream, butter, cardamon and cinnamon - not for dieters. Lovely cook book, just could be improved with afew photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book from this excellent author, 28 July 2011
To start with this is not a book for a novice cook, and by that I mean someone who never goes into the kitchen except under duress. It is not full of tweaked glossy pictures of food. But it is a great collection of mouth watering recipes for baked goods and all the ones I have tried have worked beautifully. This author knows her stuff and has written books on bread baking that are also great, full of practical tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little gem of a book, 25 May 2011
By 
foodieholic (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
I love baking and came across this book whilst looking for something different to the usual 'british' cakes and biscuits recipe books. The book is by an American author who is an expert in her ancestral homeland cooking of scandanavia. I didn't appreciate how keen the scandanavians are about baking but the recipes are interesting and varied. If you like to bake I recommend you buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable selection of superb baking recipes, 17 May 2010
By 
This book is just what I was looking for - a selection of Scandinavian coffee cakes, made with yeast, together with a section of super-indulgent cakes which mostly contain nuts and cream or custard on a variety of light sponge or meringue bases. A treasure trove of a recipe book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Scandinavian Baking Book
The Great Scandinavian Baking Book by Beatrice A. Ojakangas (Hardcover - Oct 1988)
Used & New from: 4.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews