Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, historical document
William Manchester's early history of the Kennedy assassination and its aftermath still ranks as one of the most insightful and accurate accounts of the weekend of mayhem in Dallas that changed the world.

The author's access to virtually all of the key personalities gives this book an unassailable authority which few others have ever matched. His list of...
Published on 18 July 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What everybody in and around the White House said, did or thought when Kennedy got shot
The definitive version of what happened when Kennedy was assassinated. So much detail I found it hard going, in fact I've not read it all yet.
Published 11 months ago by Mrs Jean Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, historical document, 18 July 2010
William Manchester's early history of the Kennedy assassination and its aftermath still ranks as one of the most insightful and accurate accounts of the weekend of mayhem in Dallas that changed the world.

The author's access to virtually all of the key personalities gives this book an unassailable authority which few others have ever matched. His list of interviews reads like a Warren Commission index in itself.

For a serious grounding in the assassination and much of the untold story behind it, this 1967 offering is about as good as it gets.

It is true, of course, that Jackie Kennedy was not happy with the book when it was completed. Originally she had offered Manchester her cooperation and patronage, but on reading the final draft she felt that his treatment of LBJ was harsh and unfair. (Manchester was a JFK loyalist and biographer, of course.)

Nonetheless, this is a wonderful, historic document and it will forever remain a window into one of the world's most shattering events.

Barry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely compelling, 14 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Everybody knew where they were or what they were doing when Kennedy was shot. I was born two years after the event, but I know where my parents were at that time. This book tells the story of the days immediately before and after, as well as the assassination itself. The events have been researched in great detail and relayed with perception. It is a haunting tale of how hubris can destroy even the shiniest star, of a young hero's violent death. The read is perhaps just as compelling today as it would have been in 1964.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "AN EXCELLENT MEMORIAL TO JFK's LAST DAYS", 14 Mar 2011
Author William Manchester (1922-2004) was originally commissioned to write this book by the Kennedy's he got the nod from Robert Kennedy and Jackie. Later a falling out ensued over personal details of JFK's family life and lawsuits followed resulting in the removal of certain passages of the book.
Manchester's job was to retrace the steps of the President in his final days. He gained access to all the information regarding John F. Kennedy's final days and hours, with help from the Kennedy's and all who surrounded the President from November 20th.- 25th. 1963. His trip to Dallas, his murder at the hands of a sniper, his funeral and the installation of Lyndon Baines Johnson in the White House as 36th. President of the U.S.A.

This is not another conspiracy theory for all the would-be crime solving detectives. It is simply day by day a journal of the last days of the President, The codes that were in operation by the Secret Service, the preparation and editing of speeches for Forth Worth and Dallas, what Jacqueline Kennedy wore, What JFK wore, what was found in his pockets after his death. The off the cuff comical remarks to the waiting throngs of people, to the tragic Jackie Kennedy awaiting news of her husband in the emergency room of the hospital and her thinking 'maybe, just maybe, he might make it'

In the words of the old cliche, everybody knows where they were on hearing the terrible news.
Four Months earlier in June of 1963 I was a twelve year old schoolboy with my class and teacher and I had seen, cheered and waved at JFK as he paraded down streets of Dubin in an open Limo.

Upon hearing the tragic news, I was watching a thirty minute television series, 'The Thin Man'
Starring, ironically, Peter Lawford, The President's brother in-law.

This is most certainly a rivetting book and a very sad journal of those five fateful days. And once again not for the 'Conspiracy Nuts'.

The world always seemed a little less safe since the death of John Fitzgerald Kennedy.
A Classic Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of a President: November 20 - November 25, 1963 (Paperback)
When i first picked up this book i thought this is going to be a tough book. I could not put it down. I would get to certain points of the book and then take those key points and watch them on the computer ,it brought the book to life. It explained small things about those few days as well as the larger events., The book is finished now and was well worth my time and it has inspired me to do some more research on Jfk and Jackie Kennedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Death of a President, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of a President: November 20 - November 25, 1963 (Paperback)
I have been meaning to read this book for a long long time and now that I have eventually got down to it I got great satisfaction. Its a very long,detailed book but captivating as well. Sad,tragic and exciting. Well worth the effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great depth given to a well known story, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of a President: November 20 - November 25, 1963 (Paperback)
A very well researched book that gives incredible coverage of the days either side of the event. There is a relatively small amount of background information and scene setting given, but for the majority of the time it deals with the accounts of those involved in minute detail.

Personally I felt the style in which it is written hasn't aged well, the author clearly was an admirer of the Kennedy family, but some of the flowery, gushing descriptions that are given quickly got tiring and with a book of this length there's a lot of it to wade through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars eminently readable ...BUT, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of a President: November 20 - November 25, 1963 (Paperback)
This is an eminently readable book and goes into extraordinary detail ... and therein lies the rub. While reading it as a supposedly accurate account of those dire days, he states, almost as gospel,what Jackie and JFK say to each other; Lee Harvey Oswald's last day with Marina, his wife and so on. Yet at least two of those he has put words in, were dead by the time he wrote his nonetheless quite gripping work.

So I find myself reading it like a work of fact-based fiction, which I don't think was the intended outcome.

PS For a more ferocious review, google Harold Weisberg's Machiavelli Manchester.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bang, bang, bang......., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of a President: November 20 - November 25, 1963 (Paperback)
Excellent read. A gripping, informative, and highly detailed account of the last few days of JFK's life. This book was very difficult to find for many years. A must read if you are interested in JFK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 18 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Death of a President: November 20 - November 25, 1963 (Paperback)
I didn't buy this from Amazon - I bought it in 1968! But I wanted to leave a review. Over the years I have read it occasionally - and am reading it again now.

Every time I read it I enjoy it. Even though it is heartbreaking, the detail of those few days is astounding. I do understand that not all of Mr Manchester's research is in the book but what there is is compelling. Perhaps future generations will be able to access all of his research.

At times it is difficult to read through the tears, but it is an amazing minute by minute account of an awful event. It is also about grief and how people get through the first few days after a dreadful tragedy. There are lighter moments - for example his account of the setting up of the eternal flame is very funny!!

I love the way he writes - it is very readable - a real page turner! Also he has written the last account where everyone possible has been interviewed quite soon after this event. Maybe one day someone will write a book that uses all of his research, but in my opinion it will be very difficult to match Mr Manchester's excellent writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy wife, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my wife has been going on about this book for ages , now peace at last in the house as she is busy reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Death of a President: November 20 - November 25, 1963
The Death of a President: November 20 - November 25, 1963 by William Manchester (Paperback - 8 Oct 2013)
12.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews