Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Young Hornblower
Although other stories featuring Hornblower had already been written by the author in this book he goes back to the beginning of Hornblower's naval career. This book isn't really a novel, it is more a series of short stories, but I should point out that not every chapter in this book is a story by itself, some continue over two chapters.

I first started...
Published 11 months ago by M. Dowden

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware - very badly abridged edition. Very disappointing.
Ioan Gruffudd is the modern face of Hornblower and he sounds great on these audio-books. The problem is that they are heavily abridged and really badly so. I swear there is less than half the actual book in each recording - evenb when you know the story inside out, the heavyhanded editing makes it very difficult to follow the story. They are not worth the money. I won't...
Published on 25 Sep 2010 by Greg Henderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Young Hornblower, 9 May 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Although other stories featuring Hornblower had already been written by the author in this book he goes back to the beginning of Hornblower's naval career. This book isn't really a novel, it is more a series of short stories, but I should point out that not every chapter in this book is a story by itself, some continue over two chapters.

I first started reading the Hornblower stories when I was about eleven or twelve, when I picked up one that my dad had, and since then have read them all, but not for quite some time, so it is nice to get back to one of them. Personally I think the Hornblower stories are well written and make good reading, although some are obviously better than others, and I also prefer them to the other series' of such books that have come along since then. Horatio Nelson may be our most famous sailor in real life, but when it comes to fiction, then Horatio Hornblower is the greatest sailor to be found in a book.

In this series of stories we follow the young, seventeen year old Hornblower as he boards his first ship. Dealing with bullying he manages to have a duel, command 'prize' boats, and even think about taking his lieutenant exam, as well as acting as a translator among other things. Full of incident and adventure this is well worth reading and will appeal to both the young and old. Hornblower himself has become so popular because he is just like the majority of us, he may feel fear, he has his flaws, but when push comes to shove he does what is necessary, and also tries to always do things honourably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun!, 5 Mar 2012
By 
Mieczyslaw Kasprzyk (Oldham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I suppose there must have been a time when terms such as "mizzen-mast" and "top-sail", and a whole load of nautical expressions, were quite normal parlance and every boy dreamt of being a captain of a great wooden ship sailing the seas. I can understand that now. "Midshipman Hornblower" is entertaining and engrossing. It is actually ten short(ish) stories tracking the adventures of young Hornblower from his first day on a ship (a sort of floating Rugby School with its own equivalent of Flashman) to his first responsibility taking a prize back to England and all the way to his capture and imprisonment by the Spaniards. Stirring stuff! Hornblower is such a neat, clean-living, courageous young man - an example to us all.
The thing that really struck me was the use of language. There were just enough differences to make me think how much the written word had changed since I was born (the book was written around 1949). It actually felt more grown-up and the vocabulary seemed better educated... belonging to another world yet, compared to some writers in the 50s, still approachable and undated. Strange...
I'll be reading the rest of the series, of that I'm quite certain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Short Stories about Hornblower's First Voyages, 5 July 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Mr. Midshipman Hornblower is the prequel to the Horatio Hornblower series. Written as the sixth book chronologically, it covers the very first times when Hornblower served in His Majesty's navy. My recommendation is that you read it first, so that you can follow Hornblower chronologically along over his career as it develops.
Since much of service aboard a naval vessel is routine, C.S. Forester gives us the high spots of Hornblower's first years in the form of short stories beginning at age 17 when he entered the navy.
Each story is nicely balanced among the following qualities: Hornblower's inexperience; the rapid shift of circumstances that can occur at sea; Hornblower's physical and psychological weaknesses and courage to overcome them; the demands of honor; the importance of thinking clearly, getting good information, and making a swift decision; the benefits of discipline; and the brotherhood of all seaman before the dangers they face.
Those who are interested in the war between Britain and France after the French Revolution in 1789 will find the material to bring those events to life in a vivid way. I learned a lot about the details of naval warfare as it was conducted then.
The weakness of most short story writers is that their plots and resolutions often become overly predictable. These short stories are predictable only in their originality and unpredictability. As such, I found myself drawn forward, wondering what rabbit Forester would next pull out of the hat.
This is just the sort of book that I loved to read as a teenager, and I could feel the years peeling off as I raced through the stories. This book would be a wonderful gift to a teenager who likes adventure tales based on historical events. Readers will be reminded of how embarrassing and emotionally daunting it can be to launch off to operate in the adult world at age 17.
Unlike many adventure books, Hornblower serves the dual role of hero and morally-inspired man. It's too bad that so much modern fiction chooses to develop the action without developing any character in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introductory book., 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good swashbuckling read...though a little fragmented. The book is made up of a number of short stories and needs to be read as a preliminary to the later novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was a good tale of swashbuckling adventure., 31 May 2001
By A Customer
I found it to be an inspiring book that gives a deep insight into eighteenth century naval life. I especially enjoyed the build up to the duel of honour against midshipman Simpson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Short Stories about Hornblower's First Voyages, 10 April 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mr. Midshipman Hornblower (Hornblower Saga) (Paperback)
Mr. Midshipman Hornblower is the prequel to the Horatio Hornblower series. Written as the sixth book chronologically, it covers the very first times when Hornblower served in His Majesty‚€™s navy. My recommendation is that you read it first, so that you can follow Hornblower chronologically along over his career as it develops.
Since much of service aboard a naval vessel is routine, C.S. Forester gives us the high spots of Hornblower‚€™s first years in the form of short stories beginning at age 17 when he entered the navy.
Each story is nicely balanced among the following qualities: Hornblower‚€™s inexperience; the rapid shift of circumstances that can occur at sea; Hornblower‚€™s physical and psychological weaknesses and courage to overcome them; the demands of honor; the importance of thinking clearly, getting good information, and making a swift decision; the benefits of discipline; and the brotherhood of all seaman before the dangers they face.
Those who are interested in the war between Britain and France after the French Revolution in 1789 will find the material to bring those events to life in a vivid way. I learned a lot about the details of naval warfare as it was conducted then.
The weakness of most short story writers is that their plots and resolutions often become overly predictable. These short stories are predictable only in their originality and unpredictability. As such, I found myself drawn forward, wondering what rabbit Forester would next pull out of the hat.
This is just the sort of book that I loved to read as a teenager, and I could feel the years peeling off as I raced through the stories. This book would be a wonderful gift to a teenager who likes adventure tales based on historical events. Readers will be reminded of how embarrassing and emotionally daunting it can be to launch off to operate in the adult world at age 17.
Unlike many adventure books, Hornblower serves the dual role of hero and morally-inspired man. It‚€™s too bad that so much modern fiction chooses to develop the action without developing any character in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A superb whiff of nostalgia, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, with authority and respect for the era in which the book is set. Many young authors would be well served by reading this book to learn story construction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read., 24 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read - can't wait to read the others in the series - will be buying them as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 9 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like naval stories you will enjoy this one, interesting and believable, sets the scene for all the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and expertly put together. More a series of short stories, but they move on from one another well enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa11f5aec)

This product

Mr. Midshipman Hornblower (Hornblower Saga)
Mr. Midshipman Hornblower (Hornblower Saga) by C. S. Forester (Paperback - 30 Sep 1984)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews