Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hunter and the hunted
I loved this.

While in its theme the book is loosely a police procedural, it's actually a lot odder and more interesting. The premise is simple. A disenchanted policeman in (possibly near future?) New York City stumbles on an apartment in a condemned building that contains hundreds of guns. There are guns everywhere - on the floors and the walls, arranged in...
Published 21 months ago by D. Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Huge potential.....
I really enjoyed this book and wished I could have give it more stars but for the future if Warren Ellis wants to be a mainstream writer he needs to improve the linkage between the story segments; there was just too much left to assumption. When I read he had a strong following in the comic world I could see why he wrote the story the way he did but it is a big jump I...
Published 11 months ago by A. F. Prestwich


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Gumshoe Stuff, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gun Machine (Kindle Edition)
I'm a huge fan of Ellis and this book is a thoroughly enjoyable read. Would recommend for anyone who likes a gritty detective novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First book I ever bought because of an advert, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gun Machine (Kindle Edition)
And it was totally worth it. Warren Ellis' comics are awesome, and so are his books it seems.

Anyway, don't listen to me, just watch the ad: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically weird., 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gun Machine (Kindle Edition)
A genuinely gripping and idea-strewn thriller permeated with Ellis's trademark barbed dialogue and a real sense of place. Takes the standard cop vs serial killer tropes and does something entirely new with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gun machine, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gun Machine (Kindle Edition)
great read had me totally hooked from the first page.
Warren Ellis is a genius highly recommend this as a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bang bang your dead, 10 Jan 2013
By 
A. Pitman-wallace (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gun Machine (Kindle Edition)
Startlingly written crime thriller. Not ridiculously convoluted or contrived-doesn't try and be anything but good read. Great characters. Stylish language; atmospheric and humorous. Would certainly look at other books by Warren Ellis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gun Machine, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gun Machine (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable, surprising, tense and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Detective Genre D.O.A., 27 Jan 2013
This review is from: Gun Machine (Paperback)
Manhattan...tick...tock...ever vice, is it pretty, no, never nice, shotgun slinger set the scene, two detectives - now one - officer dead, shell shot mean, Segue Det.John Tallow and what he comes to see, an arsenal branches out, a shimmering metallic tree, on closer inspection the guns meld, barrel to barrel, a precise weld.

Our protagonist is jaded, I'm damn sure Hammett already lit that angle up, and Chandler drank it righteous, mostly whiskey in his coffee cup, Nothing new really, under the NYC sun, cars like deers and wooden leafed skyscrapers, dig the urban soil, its baked and overdone.

Epilogue: He was David Berkowitz, then self-adopted, Son of Sam, And before each murder, sighting down the barrel, he thought Son of Sam I am, I can, I can, Sam's son, I am...I am!!!!

Chris Roberts, Serial God
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gun Machine
Gun Machine by Warren Ellis (Hardcover - Jan 2013)
Used & New from: £2.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews