Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars73
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2009
A humourous book for teenage boys discussing all aspects of growing up. From getting dumped, asking a girl out to having sex ('if you dont wear a condom you will end up looking after a rug rat when youre studying for GCSEs'!!!!). Also talks about the issues of drugs, STDs and loads more.
The book does not preach---just tells you as it is with all the pros and cons and consequences
I learnt a few things too!!!
My 14 year old actually read it---thats recommendation in itself.
5 stars from us!
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
I bought this as part of my sons 13th birthday present and read it myself before I gave it to him to "check" for suitability. I spent the majority of that time chuckling quietly to myself at the engaging (cool uncle) style of writing.

Growing up, as we all know, can be a tricky business. This little book answers lots of questions that my son would never want to ask me, he would only have guessed at himself or received misinformation passed around the school playground.

I just wish there had been a book like this for me as a teenage girl, back in those dark ages. I might not have made half the silly mistakes I did!

Oh, in case you're wondering, my son loved the book and read it cover to cover in one sitting. Great stuff.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2008
I bought this book for my nephew who's just turned 13 and he didn't put it down for two hours solid! He found it interesting, useful and it made him laugh out loud.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2000
This was the best book ever and it helped me through tough teenage times. Now my mates know I have this book they either want advice on girls or want to lend the book. So realy all I am saying is BUY THIS BOOK, YOU WILL NOT REGRET THIS.
0Comment|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 1999
If I had to choose only one book to give to/read with my sons, this could well be it. Not only does it cover all the REALLY cringy topics in great detail, it also explains everything clearly, in accessible language for this age group, and with HUMOUR. Catch the page on how to shave - very down-to-earth, extremely useful, and very funny. A huge portion of the book is dedicated to "Surviving Love and Sex" - judging by the amount of time pubescent boys spend fantasising on such topics, this chunk is very necessary. It also gives sensible advice on the whole deal. What makes the book so utterly readable from beginning to end? - the cool cartoon character that takes us through, cracking little asides the whole way; the changeable type face which is fun to read, grabs your attention (especially in the Very Important bits) and keeps the pages interesting; and last but not least, the information and the way it has been handled - never preachy, never dull, just practical. Brilliant. Teenage girls should be given a copy of this too.
0Comment|101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
This was welcomed with a wry smile from my 12 year old son, but it was consumed, devoured and digested with great speed which was amazing as he isn't a particular fan of reading. It's now looking a bit dog-eared which I am sure is a good sign that it has been well read and most possibly re-read.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
Before giving this book to my son I asked my husband to vet it. He thought the book was brilliant, very informative but more essentially, humorous. When the time came to give the book to my son the reaction was one of "OH MUM NO" and a dramatic rolling of the eyes, however he immediately began to read the book and has been ever since. When I asked my son what he thought of this book his reply was "Brilliant, very funny, thanks for this mum!" This book has definitely helped to open up the dialog between my son, myself and my husband and I would recommend this book to anyone with a teenager.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Did not realise this book was published in 1999! There is no mention of social media or the internet so unfortunately it's pretty useless as a social guide to teenage years.
The tone of the book is really girl and dating/ relationship focused. The first chapter launches straight into how as a boy you just want to kiss and squeeze girls and how you should go about asking them out.... My teenager, like lots of boys, is actually shy and not interested in dating, even though going through lots of changes. If you have a boy like this then this is not the book for him as it could make him feel like he's left out of some club that he's not ready to join.

The chapter on porn was strange - talking about how normal it was but then how if your mum finds it she is likely to go ballistic.... this author is not a parent!

It's quite an alpha male book, and I have to say the massively random typography and cartoons felt patronising and silly to my son. Trying too hard to be matey and cool.

So it would probably suit the more 'out there' teenagers, best, but again, it's hopelessly dated!
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
Brought this book for my 12 year old son as he had started to voice concerns about how his body was changing and how he was feeling. He read it from cover to cover and immediately seemed reassured that he was feeling the same as everyone else and more comfortable to ask questions. Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
An American book but don't let this put you off. It is very informative but done in a funny non embarrasing way. I would suggest anyone with a pre-teen or teenage boy should get this for them. My son passed it on to friends once he had read it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse