Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 30 Dec 2007
This review is from: Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs (Hardcover)
A fascinating, inspirational book, beautifully and simply presented. There is a just a little relevant text, but the photographs are generally left to speak for themselves, with just a note of the location and date. The images are large enough for the reader to appreciate both the scene that has been photographed, and the concept of Ansel Adams zone system, making the book appeal to both photographers and non-photographers. The chronological order is also interesting, allowing the reader to follow the development of both the artist and the photographic technology of his time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ansell Adams 400 photographs, 1 Feb 2009
By 
D. Lawson "book worm" (London, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs (Hardcover)
Having seen an exhibition of Ansell Adams at the Southbank a few years ago, I became a great admirer of his style of photography. This latest edition includes much of the work I saw. The quality of the book is excellent, bringing to life the details of nature, its moods and the variety of light and shade for which his photography is famous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Inexpensive Collection of Ansel Adams in a Too Small Size, 29 Dec 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs (Hardcover)
Anyone who has been the places that Ansel Adams photographed knows that the horizons he so often captured seem to go all the way to heaven. While in the early days of photography it was difficult to reproduce large images in books, today there is no problem except for publishers assuming that buyers prefer saving money over having the images be of the right size to express their emotional majesty. I will say that the overall reproduction quality is quite good. Not too much is lost in terms of detail from the smaller size of the images, but the emotional impact is clearly lessened. You feel like you are looking at an image rather than imagining yourself in the scene.

That flaw aside, Ms. Andrea Stillman successfully draws on her close contact (pun intended) with Ansel Adams to select excellent examples of his finest and most interesting work. For those who depend on icons to guide the way, she's included lots of those.

Although the book doesn't have much writing in it, I appreciated the notes beginning on page 413 that explained the context of the photographs, methods used, and personal stories related to their taking and exhibition. I think you will, too.

The book is conveniently organized chronologically with facing pages wisely selected to bring out common and contrasting elements in his work.

I especially enjoyed seeing works of his that I hadn't seen before. From this entire collection, I also gained many perspectives on his compositional style and how that evolved over time to be more awe-inspiring.

Nice job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 18 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs (Hardcover)
An incredible art book of photos. Well worth purchasing to enjoy Adams stark and natural black and whites of life and landscape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book with same amazing imagery, 7 July 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs (Hardcover)
This is possibly one of the largest single-volume collections of Adam's photography.

Amongst its photographs, the vast majority being the grand landscapes in which he excelled and which most would expect to be present, are a few surprises. There are a few scattered portraits or character studies which are very atypical. They could be classic Edward Weston, but the book is not about him!

The book is brilliantly printed and the text is very much subservient to its wonderful imagery. Knowing just how demanding and controlling Adams was about the reproduction of his images, I would like to think that he would have approved of this book. It has a brief Introduction by Andrea Stillman who had once worked with Adams in the 70s before moving to MOMA, so she would have known him quite well. There is a useful bibliography to close, that may help find other Adams publication should you choose.

There is a good appendix at the back which not only provides a reduced-scale version of the image but a segment of Adams notes and writings that relate to it. His note taking was extensive and allowed him to control what he did in the future to such a degree that he could exactly reproduce the exposure in the event that something had gone wrong previously or modify it so as to improve upon it in some way. Extracts from those notes have been separately published in addition to the other instructional and image-oriented books of and by Adams.

Whatever the title etc, you cannot make a series error in purchasing any book of Adams' photography. This is no exception. For his landscape work alone, it is a masterwork worthy of study by today's photographers. For those, consider the relative few non-landscape images as a bonus. For the photographer in general, you are seeing a master at work. There has not been a landscape photographer better than Adams; Weston comes close but not quite matching, although his nature photography is supreme.

For those reasons, this book is very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Affordable book for Ansel Adams fans, 16 July 2009
By 
Angela Rendell (Gloucester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs (Hardcover)
A huge, affordable, beautifully printed book. Inspirational for landscape photographers.
A very good read too, as well as the photo's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Photos., 1 Aug 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Photofox" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs (Hardcover)
You know you are going to get quality photos with Ansel Adams, so how can one criticise this book!
it's good value with 400 photos all in his amazing style.
The book is well presented. The only grumble is that the photos are printed about postcard size on to a larger page. Surely they could have made the slightly larger in order for us to appreciate them more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the master at work, 28 Mar 2014
By 
D. W. Morgan (NeathPortTalbot) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ansel Adams' awe inspiring photographs have been the major inspiration & influence informing my minor attempts at capturing nature in all it's glory. He is the master, I'm just an eager student but I can see the influences in my small scale efforts - he did vast American mountain ranges, I do Welsh hills, he did lakes & rivers, I do ponds & streams, but I can see for certain echoes of his influence in my photographs. That belief has been enhanced by the purchase of this excellent compilation of his wonderous images. I have many larger prints of his work on the walls of my house but while this book doesn't provide the same visual impact the compact nature of this book gives me opportunity to study in detail the composition of the images in order to hopefully further develop my skills. To have so many iconic images in one volume is the ideal companion for anyone who appreciates the true genius of Ansel Adams & an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't He Do Colour, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs (Hardcover)
Such richness in the shots but some would've been so much better (IMHO) had they been taken in colour.

Good collection though. Recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Collection, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs (Hardcover)
This photographic history of the United States of America really is a wonderful record of of 'place and time'. It's such a relief to have only the photographic memory without the need for words. He was a true master of his feelings for time and space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs
Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs by Ansel Adams (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2007)
20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews