Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It helps parents and children talk about the divorce
Dinosaurs' Divorce is a great book to snuggle up and read with young children going through divorce. Even older siblings seem interested in reading it. It helps children understand the feelings they may have while going through the divorce, learn how to handle mistakes parents sometimes make, and deal in a positive way with their changing family and living...
Published on 23 Aug 1998

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable solution for difficult task
One of the problems of writing a book like this is that marriages differ and so do divorces. This therefore hit some spots but not others. I bought all the books on Amazon I could find on this topic and this was the best, however. It seems there are lots for under fives and very few for 5-10 year olds who possibly need it more - my child is 7 and her mother is doing her...
Published on 12 April 2010 by Peter Johnston


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It helps parents and children talk about the divorce, 23 Aug 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Dinosaurs Divorce: A Guide for Changing Families (Dino Life Guides for Families) (Paperback)
Dinosaurs' Divorce is a great book to snuggle up and read with young children going through divorce. Even older siblings seem interested in reading it. It helps children understand the feelings they may have while going through the divorce, learn how to handle mistakes parents sometimes make, and deal in a positive way with their changing family and living arrangement. The most important thing children learn from this book is that their parents' love for them will never change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable solution for difficult task, 12 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs Divorce: A Guide for Changing Families (Dino Life Guides for Families) (Paperback)
One of the problems of writing a book like this is that marriages differ and so do divorces. This therefore hit some spots but not others. I bought all the books on Amazon I could find on this topic and this was the best, however. It seems there are lots for under fives and very few for 5-10 year olds who possibly need it more - my child is 7 and her mother is doing her best to alienate her.

This does introduce some topics which you can expand as it suits you and engages the child. How well it works, however, depends on how well you've thought through the subsidiary questions. It also needs to be selectively used as some bits are a bit trite or America centric.

The best I've found, but not perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars vicki harrison review, 26 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. Vicki Harrison (co durham, united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dinosaurs Divorce: A Guide for Changing Families (Dino Life Guides for Families) (Paperback)
Another helpful book when discussing divorce with the children especially as both my sons 4 and 6 are dinosaur fans.
helpful in the hints re questions to ask and ways to start discussions and answer questions.
overall a nicely illustrated and well written book which seems to have helped my boys at a very difficult time in their and indeed our lives .
vicki harrison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good for 5 year old boy, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs Divorce: A Guide for Changing Families (Dino Life Guides for Families) (Paperback)
Hello - Good for 5 year old boys = good pictures and easy to ready story. I asked if he liked the books (we have a few) and he said yes, they were helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs Divorce: A Guide for Changing Families (Dino Life Guides for Families) (Paperback)
just ideal to explain to a dinosaur mad 6 year old and helps them to understand what is going on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for little ones, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs Divorce: A Guide for Changing Families (Dino Life Guides for Families) (Paperback)
Great for kids. Lots of explanations and ideas to help young children along with easy to view illustrations. Useful resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great resource, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs Divorce: A Guide for Changing Families (Dino Life Guides for Families) (Paperback)
This is a really clear and comprehensive look at the issues around divorce which can be read with children. Would recommend. Also have another book in this series 'When Dinosaurs Die' which is brilliant, for use with bereaved children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs Divorce: A Guide for Changing Families (Dino Life Guides for Families) (Paperback)
Such a beautifully written book and very to use for parents, social workers, teachers and counsellor a when working with children. I was very impressed with the language used, very appropriate when discussing circumstances sensitively with children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i recommend this item, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs Divorce: A Guide for Changing Families (Dino Life Guides for Families) (Paperback)
the book is a tad long, and very wordy, but you can get the message across senstively. depending on age of child i would read this with them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Divorce, 20 July 2011
By 
Mrs. P. Rogers "Instruction seeker" (Cambridgeshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinosaurs Divorce: A Guide for Changing Families (Dino Life Guides for Families) (Paperback)
A little too old for a 4 year old,but we were able to build our own story round the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9d30624)

This product

Dinosaurs Divorce: A Guide for Changing Families (Dino Life Guides for Families)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews