Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for teaching children about self-acceptance
Its not often that I come across a book like this which teaches self-esteem, kindness and acceptance of others in this way. This is a different kind of children's book. Its illustrations are bright, simple, neon, quirky, fun and funny. Its message is very clear. You are who you are. Be proud of it. Conversely the message also helps children to see that likewise, people...
Published on 30 Aug 2009 by R. S. Tonder

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad
A cute and colourful book for little ones, but I was expecting more of a story than the same line (more or less) on every page. It gets the message across that it's OK to be different, which is great; I just wish it did so in a way that is a little less boring.
Published on 20 Jan 2012 by J. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for teaching children about self-acceptance, 30 Aug 2009
By 
R. S. Tonder (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Its not often that I come across a book like this which teaches self-esteem, kindness and acceptance of others in this way. This is a different kind of children's book. Its illustrations are bright, simple, neon, quirky, fun and funny. Its message is very clear. You are who you are. Be proud of it. Conversely the message also helps children to see that likewise, people come in all sorts of shapes and sizes and no matter what they like or what they look like, no matter what their family situation, no matter what they do, they are just as worthy of respect as oneself. In today's world, where children learn from a very young age that appearances are prized way too much, this book offers a very positive, loving message.
You are special just because you are you.
It didn't matter that this book had a rather high price tag! I bought it straight away when I first set eyes on it in a local bookshop! The best thing is that my children took a shine to it (and they don't always like every book I buy for them). They ask me to read it at bedtime quite often.
This is a book which will appeal to youngsters and I'm sure will make an excellent gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Kids @ Teens Read Too, 28 Feb 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you haven't yet discovered the magic that is TODD'S WORLD, I recommend that you do so today! This series is great fun for both children and adults alike, whether it be in the form of a book or a video. Todd Parr knows what appeals to kids -- bold, bright, colorful illustrations and characters that are all unique in their own special way.

With IT'S OKAY TO BE DIFFERENT, children of all ages learn that no matter what your difference -- being in a wheelchair, being embarrassed, having different moms or dads, having an invisible friend -- it's perfectly A-OK. From the fanciful to the truthful to the whimsical, all kinds of differences are explored in ways that are easy to understand for the youngest reader, but that will also send home a message to those who are older.

This is one book you need in your personal collection!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book on difference does make a difference., 11 Sep 2001
"It is Okay to be Different" is an excellent book, for children, as well as adults. As an adult who grow up in the 70's, I would say that in our society, our schools often teach us to conform, to learn the rules and obey them. Children often grow up having the problems of low self-esteem and feeling uncomofortable in expressing their individuality. But, as the author of the book, Todd Parr, indicates in his book, it is precisely such indivdual differences which make each person so unique and valuable.
Easy to comprehend and with colorful pictures, this book is excellent for children because it aids them to appreciate who they are at an early age. The short biography of the author in the book also serves as an encouragement for children. It helps them to realize that to get to where you want, you have to believe in who you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Book to explain difference to children, 31 Aug 2007
This book is a lovely colourfully illustrated book that shows children that it really is ok to be different. It is a fabulous basis to use to help children understand that everyone is ok regardless of colour, background, ability etc. I find it useful as a way to talk and share the ideas it promotes with my daughter without it being too heavy etc. (Ie one bit says it's ok to have wheels with a picture of a person in a wheelchair, which helps to chat about abilities etc). It is very simple in language so really aimed at 3-6yr olds.

Really would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ticks every box!, 26 Sep 2010
By 
Louise Pretty "Yummy Mummy" (Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great book that opens up lots of discussion with children about being 'different'. There are lots of differences covered in the book and they are all okay. Great for childminders and another one that Ofsted like to see in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantastic Todd Parr book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
A. Stephens "hilts3188" (LIVERPOOL U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Okay To Be Different (Paperback)
BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy to understand and to start conversation with children, 4 July 2014
By 
Mrs. G. Low - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Okay To Be Different (Paperback)
Ideal for fostering or adoption, or even just kids who arent fitting in a school for whatever reason, easy to understand and to start conversation with children.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely!, 19 May 2014
By 
Priya Mayekar "Ninad Kamat" (Mumbai, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Okay To Be Different (Paperback)
a colorful and lovely book! words simply put across by todd parr. it dissolves all differences. everybody should read it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book especially for teachers for PSHE lessons in a primary school. Lovely pictures and a good talking point for families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Okay To Be Different
It's Okay To Be Different by Todd Parr (Paperback - 6 Aug 2009)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews