Customer Reviews


274 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy, but don't plan your life on it
Outlier is a term used in statistics for a data point that stands out from the rest of the sample and this book is about the outliers of success. Near the beginning of the book the author says "... there is something profoundly wrong with the way we make sense of success." There is always more to success than the magical, in-built brilliance of the successful and that...
Published 16 months ago by Mac McAleer

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Series of remarkably unremarkable observations
Once I've started a book I don't like to stop short of finishing it but this one required real perseverance to get through.
To be fair, the first two chapters contained the vaguely interesting observations that hockey players born just after the January 1 cutoff day fared better, and the '10,000 hour rule'. However, there is nothing of note which isn't contained in...
Published on 4 Nov 2012 by Anonymous


‹ Previous | 122 23 2428 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting reading:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much for ubermensch..., 7 Feb 2009
A clear, concise and largely coherent analysis of the ancillary congeners to success. As stated in previous reviews, Gladwell makes a case for the idea that success is as much dependent on a serendipitous amalgam of environmental factors - temporal, cultural and even linguistic - as innate ability, effort and persistence. That the difference between achievement and disappointment is as much a function of where you came from and the opportunities available to you as it is your own actions is a sobering one. What's more he makes the case in an entertaining way with frequent recourse to fascinating anecdotes and vignettes of individual histories. I really enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not as good as its' predecessors., 9 Oct 2009
As usual, Malcolm Gladwell has come up with a different spin on topics most of us take for granted, if we think about them at all. This time around he looks at the nature of success, who achieves it and why. Gladwell has a nice easy accessible style of writing and certainly he makes you look at things through different eyes. I felt he was on slightly thinner ground some of his theses here, and some of his arguments provoked a 'so what' shrug rather than any sense of enlightenment. He's always worth reading, but if you're new to Gladwell start with The Tipping Point to get the synapses firing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally brilliant, 16 Feb 2009
By 
I have been a fan of Gladwell's since reading 'The Tipping Point' and 'Blink' a year or so ago, and seeing him on TED Talks. I ordered 'Outliers' as soon as I saw it was available, without really knowing much about it beyond the flyleaf description.

I found 'Outliers' to be as compelling, revelatory, brilliantly observed and laterally minded as the previous two - but more personally related, which I enjoyed. I have recommended it to many friends, and even sent out a couple of copies I was so keen to have loved ones read it. It is a profoundly insightful, fascinating and kinetic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outliers, 11 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly life changing book, on a level with the 'God Delusion' - sorry Dorque. Gladwell collects information and statistics from widely unusual places and sources - from the birthdays of the Canadian hockey team to Korean aircrew to rice growing in asia, jewish immigrants in New York - and uses them to present a wholly different view of how and why people achieve success in whatever field they are in. Written in the form of a series of stories that suddenly expand laterally in unexpected directions it is completely readable, fascinating and world changing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outliers - The Story of Success, 4 Feb 2009
By 
D. S. Arscott (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Outliers: The Story of Success
I'm a huge fan of Malcolm Gladwell and this is another good read which raises fascinating social and personal issues. It really explains how our life's journey is shaped by many external factors, and though perhaps obvious when you look at them individually, their compound effect is extraordinary. Malcolm is so good at setting things in context and making them feel personal that he really helps to show how our communities work and where we might fit in. A great book to read and reflect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well written but lacking substance, 5 July 2009
By 
R. Hartley (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book relies heavily on borrowings from the business bestseller "Talent is Overrated" and I have to say I was very disappointed with it. Gladwell is a professional writer, not necessarily a bad thing but he brings little of any considerable originality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 2428 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outliers: The Story of Success
Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell (Hardcover - 18 Nov 2008)
Used & New from: £13.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews