Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must For All Kenyon Fans
This book contains 4 stories of paranormal romance.

Winter Born by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Pandora is desperate for help so heads to Atlanta after she hears that the city is holding its annual Scifi convention, an event which Acheron regularly attends. Although an Arcadian pantheress, she is barely controlling her animal instincts whilst in heat and is...
Published on 24 Nov 2004 by Book Addict

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The only one saving this is Dante
This book earned three stars from me only, and exlusively because of Dante Pontis, the hero of Sherrilyn Kenyon's "Winter Born". What can I do, I'm a sucker for Hunters - Were, Dream, and specially Dark ones.
The L.A. Banks' story just made me skip pages, but the other two were passable.
Nothing to miss, there.
Published on 19 Nov 2004 by Mojca Zizmond


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must For All Kenyon Fans, 24 Nov 2004
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stroke of Midnight (St. Martin's Paperbacks Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book contains 4 stories of paranormal romance.

Winter Born by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Pandora is desperate for help so heads to Atlanta after she hears that the city is holding its annual Scifi convention, an event which Acheron regularly attends. Although an Arcadian pantheress, she is barely controlling her animal instincts whilst in heat and is determined to return to her own time, a future from which she was snatched from. Unfortunately she encounters 4 virile Katagari panthers and once they get a whiff of her scent it proves difficult to get rid of them.

Born Of The Night by Amanda Ashley
Lady Shannara is taken as a hostage by Lord Reyes in revenge for the murder of his father. Yet despite his vicious threats, no harm befalls Shannara and she finds herself drawn to the darkly handsome man who carries a macabre secret.

Make It Last Forever by L A Banks
Rider is a believer of free love with no emotional commitments until he meets a mysterious and beautiful young woman named Tara. After telling him he is a Guardian he finds himself offering her his protection from some nasty bloodsuckers as she travels to her Cherokee grandmother for a cure for the illness that plagues her. Yet as the journey lengthens, Tara finds herself hungry and the vein in Rider's neck looks mighty tempting.

Red Moon Rising by Lori Handeland
Maya gets by as an author so she's pretty upset when she develops writers block. Inspiration comes in the form of Clayton Phillips, a mysterious man who saves her from a strange wolf intent on attacking her. Maya's dull life is suddenly full of adventure as Clay claims to be a member of a secret organisation hunting something called a Skinwalker. As the blood moon rises and the wind whispers words only Maya can hear, she is terrified to learn that she is Chosen, the individual a Skinwalker marks for sacrifice.

All the other stories in this book paled into insignifiance when compared to SK's Winter Born. This story is an absolute must for fans of her Darkhunter series, with familar faces cropping up throughout the pages. I'm sorry to say that the other stories in this anthology failed to impress me yet I still recommend that fans of SK grab a copy quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The only one saving this is Dante, 19 Nov 2004
By 
Mojca Zizmond (Slovenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stroke of Midnight (St. Martin's Paperbacks Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book earned three stars from me only, and exlusively because of Dante Pontis, the hero of Sherrilyn Kenyon's "Winter Born". What can I do, I'm a sucker for Hunters - Were, Dream, and specially Dark ones.
The L.A. Banks' story just made me skip pages, but the other two were passable.
Nothing to miss, there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stroke Of Midnight, 21 Nov 2004
This review is from: Stroke of Midnight (St. Martin's Paperbacks Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Sherrilyn Kenyon story was, as ever, excellent. The other three just didnt get me interested in the same way. The plots wondered, the characters were weak and I felt that the authors had just rushed them out.
Worth buying for the WereHunter story but not much else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Sherralyns books you will enjoy this one. Yet another good read of the Dark Hunter series. She has the ability to look at things totally differently from any other author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stroke of Midnight (St. Martin's Paperbacks Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
again not as good as i'd have liked,at least two of the four stories were worth buying this book, but each to their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Must For All Kenyon Fans, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book contains 4 stories of paranormal romance.

Winter Born by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Pandora is desperate for help so heads to Atlanta after she hears that the city is holding its annual Scifi convention, an event which Acheron regularly attends. Although an Arcadian pantheress, she is barely controlling her animal instincts whilst in heat and is determined to return to her own time, a future from which she was snatched from. Unfortunately she encounters 4 virile Katagari panthers and once they get a whiff of her scent it proves difficult to get rid of them.

Born Of The Night by Amanda Ashley
Lady Shannara is taken as a hostage by Lord Reyes in revenge for the murder of his father. Yet despite his vicious threats, no harm befalls Shannara and she finds herself drawn to the darkly handsome man who carries a macabre secret.

Make It Last Forever by L A Banks
Rider is a believer of free love with no emotional commitments until he meets a mysterious and beautiful young woman named Tara. After telling him he is a Guardian he finds himself offering her his protection from some nasty bloodsuckers as she travels to her Cherokee grandmother for a cure for the illness that plagues her. Yet as the journey lengthens, Tara finds herself hungry and the vein in Rider's neck looks mighty tempting.

Red Moon Rising by Lori Handeland
Maya gets by as an author so she's pretty upset when she develops writers block. Inspiration comes in the form of Clayton Phillips, a mysterious man who saves her from a strange wolf intent on attacking her. Maya's dull life is suddenly full of adventure as Clay claims to be a member of a secret organisation hunting something called a Skinwalker. As the blood moon rises and the wind whispers words only Maya can hear, she is terrified to learn that she is Chosen, the individual a Skinwalker marks for sacrifice.

All the other stories in this book paled into insignifiance when compared to SK's Winter Born. This story is an absolute must for fans of her Darkhunter series, with familar faces cropping up throughout the pages. I'm sorry to say that the other stories in this anthology failed to impress me yet I still recommend that fans of SK grab a copy quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lori Handeland was the bright shining star in this one..., 4 July 2008
By 
Mary Chrapliwy (NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stroke of Midnight (St. Martin's Paperbacks Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
I like paranormal romance, but not ordinarily stuff that involves werewolves or vampires, etc. In paranormal romance I usually prefer faeries and mostly urban fantasy fiction. I picked up this book at the library on a whim - Lori Handeland made me a convert, mainly to her fiction.

Her story "Red Moon Rising" is a tale about a super secret group of government agents called the Jager-Sucher - they hunt down and kill monsters. Mix that with a writer suffering a terrible bout of writer's block living in an isolated cabin and a skin walker/werewolf who wants her dead and you have one suspense loaded tale.

What I most enjoyed, however, was the first person snappy, sarcastic writing. I don't normally like first person stories, but Ms. Handeland pulls it off with such skill that you can picture the witty main character with great clarity. I actually laughed out loud quite a few times over the sarcasm and whitty dialog.

While I didn't enjoy all the stories in this book as a whole, I enjoyed this one story so much that I looked at her Moon series (more Jager-Sucher tales) and read excerpts here on Amazon. Having found that they are written the same way, I straight up ordered the first two books in the series. I can't wait to read those books and will likely order and read the entire series in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stroke of Midnight (St. Martin's Paperbacks Romance)
Stroke of Midnight (St. Martin's Paperbacks Romance) by Lori Handeland (Mass Market Paperback - 16 Nov 2004)
4.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews