Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping Up Appearances
I must admit that I am a fan of the Agatha Raisin books, but so far I haven't read an Hamish Macbeth novel and I only heard about these being re-issued by I think it was chelle, on one of the discussion boards. So thank you young lady.

I thought I would try one to see what it was like, and as this is the first in the series it seemed a good place to start. I...
Published on 25 Aug 2010 by M. Dowden

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 Stars Max.
I truly don't understand how this book has such high ratings. The characters are barely likable, in fact, they complain incessantly like teenagers throughout the whole series. The main character Lady Rose Summer is such a snob it's almost unbearable. Her flightiness and her easy declarations of how much she 'hates' Captain Cathcart one minute and loves him the next gets...
Published on 10 Feb 2012 by Gillian


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and fun, 28 Aug 2010
I really liked the story. And it was interesting to read about how people used to live in Edwardian times - poor dears. LOL
Unfortunately, the second book is not quite as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FUN!!, 8 Jun 2014
By 
D. E. Auchinvole (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy this author's books - having read all the Agatha Raisin & Hamish Macbeth series - and this one is no exception. Easy to read, hard to put down and great fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Up to Marion Chesneys usual high standards., 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like her other, more famous offerings, (Agatha Raisin and Hamish Mcbeth), you'll enjoy the Lady Rose, Harry Cathcart stories. Semi lighthearted murder mystery. . There are only four books in this series so just read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Snobbery with violence, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book quite a lot. The period has been quite well researched. Beaton books are rather like Agatha Christi in that plot is paramount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 15 April 2014
got straight into the story. A light hearted tale. well told. I am hoping this will become a series of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Women's Rights, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Historically correct, but the heroines behaviour is a bit hard to be believable in parts. Despite this I did enjoy the story, and found it to be written in easy to read language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. An easy read that I couldn't put down.
I am sure Rose & Harry have a great future together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read with some interesting twists and turns, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoy M C Beaton's books. The outcome is fairly predictable from an early stage in the book but how it is achieved gives insight into life in those days and there are lots of unexpected twists and turns along the way. A good book to relax with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
M.C.Beaton can't go wrong in my book I have read a good few and have not read a bad one yet, very light hearted read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snobbery with Violence: An Edwardian Murder Mystery (St. Martin's Minotaur Mysteries)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews