Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The day the floods came
Because it was light reading material that still held your imagination throughout. I enjoy her books and the titles are not misleading
Published 15 months ago by Heather Fairgrieve

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bit wet
Oh dear my second and I fear my last Agatha Raisin. This appears to be the twelfth in the series I had previously read the first one which I enjoyed. It just seems to be more of the same. It comes across that Agatha is still a cranky older woman in a series of unfulfilling and unsatisfactory relationships which colour her view of the whole world. The murder story was good...
Published on 27 July 2010 by A. Browne


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bit wet, 27 July 2010
By 
A. Browne "avid reader" (Donegal Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh dear my second and I fear my last Agatha Raisin. This appears to be the twelfth in the series I had previously read the first one which I enjoyed. It just seems to be more of the same. It comes across that Agatha is still a cranky older woman in a series of unfulfilling and unsatisfactory relationships which colour her view of the whole world. The murder story was good but the back story kept getting in the way for me. Perhaps it is aimed at a different market. Dare I say older women in search of murder story with a little romance? I suppose it fits the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WE ALL GET OLDER AGATHA, GET OVER IT!, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Red Rock Bookworm (St. George Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is only my fourth Agatha Raisin book but I'm afraid that I am becoming tired on her constant whining over her advancing age and physical attractiveness (or lack thereof). I do realize that this book is #12 in the series and follows the departure of James, her now ex-husband, who left her to join a monastery (of all things) and the marriage of her latest paramour to another woman. One can understand that she might be a bit lacking in the self-esteem department and the fact that she signs up for Pilates classes and undergoes a beauty over-haul are understandable actions as is her get-away vacation to Robinson Crusoe Island.......but all that incessant kvetching about men, her looks, her age and her love life begins to wear a bit thin.

Upon returning from her island trip torrential rain and flooding strike her village and Agatha sees the body of a young woman clothed in a wedding dress floating down the river. She recalls the woman from an incident that occurred during her visit to the beauty salon the previous day and, being Agatha, feels she has carte blanche to investigate the girl's death. As usual, she is warned by the police "not to interfere" with their investigation.......a warning she promptly dismisses.

The usual characters are all here as well as a couple of new ones like John Armitage, a successful mystery writer, who has conveniently moved into the house next door and is thereby available to assist Agatha with her investigation as well as play a part in her romantic fantasies. The mystery itself if pretty simple and the police are predictably obtuse.

On the plus side, there are a couple of amusing sequences like Agatha's vaulting into the bushes while trying to evade on oncoming vehicle and being mistaken for a drunk when she staggers out of her hiding place. Objectively speaking, this is an unremarkable addition to this cozy series with a few amusing scenes and comments that elevate it from humdrum to adequate. 2 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The day the floods came, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Because it was light reading material that still held your imagination throughout. I enjoy her books and the titles are not misleading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great adventure for Agatha ., 20 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really enjoyable storyline . Agatha at her best , fed up and bored with life ,she goes off to Robinson Crusoe island and moans continually about the lack of the 5 star facilities that she is used to, but on meeting a lovely family who take her in hand she has a great time . On returning home it doesnt take long for her to get involved in a puzzling murder ,recalling memories of the island holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Day the floods came, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
usually funny as well as having the serious side. shennanigans with the neighbours on all counts especially the chap next door! Or even with any new character thats in a particular story melts in with Agatha Raisin. I have some dramatisations of Agatha Raisin which are hilarious with the seriousness of a case they are just light mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cannot fault MC Beaton for her mix of thrills and comedy, 7 Nov 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I have read all of the Agatha Raisin books and in any order. This one dating from 2010 is excellent as it takes us on another journey and the characters we meet as Agatha gets into more troubles are a different age group so interesting how she copes. There is always a comedy element to Agatha whether it is her out spoken views on most subjects but particularly the smoking ban or her head in the sand approach to relationships. All told this one got me guessing and the killer was nicely disguised. Always easy to read they are excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Raisin and the Day the Floods came - BBC Audio, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love listening to Penelope Keith reading MC Beaton's Agatha Raisin stories and this one is no exception. I was delighted with the box set I received - in excellent condition and delivered very speedily which is the service I am accustomed to from Amazon. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stories, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You have to be careful with these as it is so easy to become addicted. I listen to the books whilst ironing and now everybody has beautifully ironed socks as I stop the CD as soon as the ironing is finished and have to wait until ironing again to continue with the story. Penelope Keith is without doubt superb and totally draws you into the story. Speedy delivery well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another in an enjoyable series, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another in the series about this character and is up to the usual standard. Either you like them or you don't. I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DAY THE FLOODS CAME .... Agatha Raisin, 24 Aug 2011
This series of books about AGATHA RAISIN are worth their weight in gold! Agatha is a puzzle, she tries so hard to find herself a good man all the way through this series, unfortunately she tries too hard sometimes. She gets up to all sorts of things, she is a member of the Church Ladies Group in her village and her good friend is the Vicar's wife unfortunately the Vicar does not share his wife's thoughts about her! Agatha always tries to please and things go terribly wrong, she is looking for her "place" she is use to being her own boss in her own Public Relations Company but now she is living in a little village and she has to fit in. She wants adventure and love which is right on her own doorstep, unfortunately it is not that easy and she is lead off into some interesting and funny adventures.
The books are a breath of fresh air - funny and friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb403ae58)

This product

Agatha Raisin and the Day the Floods Came (Agatha Raisin Mysteries)
Agatha Raisin and the Day the Floods Came (Agatha Raisin Mysteries) by Agatha Raisin (Mass Market Paperback - Oct 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews