Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Bet Mr B is glad you can't go to prison for telling porkies in an autobiography! Great read, full of misdirection, sterilised of much of the truth and horrors of crime, but the arrogance and power of this man throbs through this book. Read this great book in conjunction with independent information about the Bonnanno family and the full horror of 'crime families' shows...
Published on 12 Jun 2004

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars some interesting bits but bonanno tries to pass himself of as legit
As with any autobiographies there is always a danger that the author may 'blow his own trumpet' this book was the same. Whilst there are some good bits particularly on the commission and his showdowns with the FBI, Bonanno tries to pass himself off as legit. Whilst he does go into some of the crimes he committed he makes out that he is some kind of good samaritan, a...
Published on 29 Dec 2007 by L. M. STOCKLEY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars some interesting bits but bonanno tries to pass himself of as legit, 29 Dec 2007
By 
L. M. STOCKLEY "LMS" (Stoke-on-Trent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno (Mass Market Paperback)
As with any autobiographies there is always a danger that the author may 'blow his own trumpet' this book was the same. Whilst there are some good bits particularly on the commission and his showdowns with the FBI, Bonanno tries to pass himself off as legit. Whilst he does go into some of the crimes he committed he makes out that he is some kind of good samaritan, a pillar of the community when in reality it was completely different. Still worth a read particularly to cosa nostra buffs who want to read about the commission which Bonanno goes into in quite some detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno (Mass Market Paperback)
Bet Mr B is glad you can't go to prison for telling porkies in an autobiography! Great read, full of misdirection, sterilised of much of the truth and horrors of crime, but the arrogance and power of this man throbs through this book. Read this great book in conjunction with independent information about the Bonnanno family and the full horror of 'crime families' shows through. I really enjoyed this book because it is as much an autobiography as the way Mr B would want to be remembered and every page gives you an insight into this mans thinking and psychological make up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing & Egotistical, 11 Jan 2006
By 
Gareth Walker (Moira, Armagh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno (Mass Market Paperback)
They say that all auto biographies suffer from the authors attempts t paint themsleves in the perfect light, and this would be the perfect example.
There are good parts to the book detailing the "politics" of the commission and the personality clashes between the respective leaders of the various families.
Bannanno mentions his rise to power but tries to imply that his wealth came form various legitimate interests and that his family contained many businessmen who did not involve crime in their daily lives. He has painted himself into some form of popular living saint in many chapters and I was very disapponited with the book upon completion as it is so vague throughout. I understand that at the time of writing there was great controversy in his circles relaitg to what secrets he would spill but to be honest there is no real purpose for this book and as far as comparing it to other books on the market such as the Valachi Papers this is a pretty poor comparison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent Book well written only sorry when I came to an end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 20 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno (Mass Market Paperback)
as an avid reader of true crime and true stories, enjoyed it though I found it hard to find it to buy I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars La Familia great read., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno (Mass Market Paperback)
The great Joe Bonano an excellent insight to the five families / The Commission. Loved every second of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno (Mass Market Paperback)
So far I have found the book very interesting and full of information about how the mafia worked for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is a good read, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno (Mass Market Paperback)
All the comments cover and capture everything about this book. Of course certain parts will be covered in glory but it's not like we are so blind about this industry.
I liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent , honorable and wll respected, 26 Oct 2003
This review is from: A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is well and truly amazing, at first i never knew about the bonanno family but i read his sons book (B.bonanno) which i ordered on accident from amazon but it paid off as it was the best book ever i really could not wait for this one and with the great service amazon provides i got it.
Joseph bonanno goes into detail about alot of his life and about the struggles they had in sicily and then moving he tells about the great respect and honor that they beleived in and what he brought up his children to believe. He goes into detail about family dis-honor from his cousin and how he was one of the peace keepers of the commission. I rate this book with top marks because it was well and truly amazing. i even bought his daughter in lwas after this. I could not beleive that so many attepmts were made on his life and had health problems but still lived till a ripe old age and the u.s government kept him in prison most of his elderly life.i must say as my opinion that he was actually probably keeping new york safer in his generation because no one dared to cause violence in there area of new york . i reccommend this because it makes you thin about alot he has done and how alot of people benefited from him even the government , you will probably read it in a few days like me because you just cannot put the book down, i would definately invest a little more in the hardback like myself because i think this book has a special place on my bookshelf.no messing about you will want to read about all of the falily , the bonanno's had respect , honor unlike the othere bosses like gotti etc. He also goes into detail about al capone , genovese , the apalchin fiasco and all other families and how his son married int the profaci family with whom they were good friends and allies in the commision. i must say i could write all day but i am limited to 1000 words so i will break it down
excellent service from amazon once again
excellent book with heart and passion
and just buy it .
IF YOU WOULD LIKE ANYMORE DETAILS JUST EMAIL ME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Greatest work of fiction since Noddy went camping..., 30 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno (Mass Market Paperback)
If Joe Bonanno considered himself a 'Man of Honour', why did he break the cardinal rule of 'omertà' in writing this book. A book which led Rudolph Giuliani to bring down the Commission in the 80's. This book is pure fairy tale fantasy. The man was a gangster, a turn coat and a killer. Where's the honour in that?
Maybe useful if you run out of toilet paper...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno
A Man of Honor: The Autobiography of Joseph Bonanno by Joseph Bonanno (Mass Market Paperback - Jan 2003)
4.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews