Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three, the hard way, 8 April 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
One of the good things about this series is that you don't have to read them in order. After book one, I jumped right to this one (because I didn't have a copy of book two).
Stephanie Plum is, as usual, way over her head in her unchosen profession. Untrained, uncoordinated, dysfunctional and disorganized, she's the world's most unlikely bounty hunter - a definite Sandra Bullock role if they decide to make the movie.
This time her main task is simply to track down the town saint, a well-loved candy man with a devoted following of little old ladies, and a stable of nasty goons on the side.
Suddenly people are shooting at her, drug dealers are turning up dead, her vehicles don't work, and her new sidekick is a former hooker with an attitude and a craving for action - once it's not too dangerous.
Acknowledging her limitations, she calls on professional bounty hunter Ranger (part to be offered to Sam Elliot if I have a say in casting) and police officer Morelli (think Colin Farrell), her primary weakness in the romantic department.
After all the expected twists and turns, and the unexpected twists and turns, this turns out to be a wildly funny and entertaining read.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of a brilliant bunch, 10 May 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I've read all the Stephanie Plum books and I've already advance ordered the latest one from the States, which shows how good they are. This, in my humble opinion, is the best of the lot. It made me laugh until I cried. I was devastated when I finished it. Now I've read it myself I'm buying a copy for everyone I know. A top read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best of the lot, 4 Jun 2000
By A Customer
Out of the whole Stephanie Plum series, this one is my favourite. But don't just buy this one, buy the whole lot, starting with One For The Money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant interlude, 5 Jan 2011
By 
D. F. Woodruffe (Felixstowe UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Evanovic is easy to read. The plots are fairly innocuous and contribute little to the general story. This book follows the general script, Stephane Plum, bounty hunter extraordinaire, has numerous difficult and dangerous adventures in the course of earning her keep. Her romantic exploits add to the general picture. The writing style is humorous and the language colourful. This is the type of book one reads as a break between more intellectual offerings. I quite enjoy an occasional sojourn into Evanovic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dependency Narrowly Avoided by Stephanie Plum!, 12 Sep 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Three to Get Deadly (Hardcover)
Ever since Stephanie kicked out her husband for doing something unmentionable with a high school classmate on the dining room table, she has been trying to find her own way. It's tough out there in the real world. Being a lingerie buyer didn't work out, so she's put pressure on a relative to let her be a bounty hunter for his bail bond business. This has given her a new set of friends, including Lula (the toughest ex-streetlady turned bounty hunter in training) and Ranger (her tough-as-nails bounty hunter mentor). But Stephanie is still new to bounty hunting, and things go wrong.
In this installment of the continuing Stephanie Plum sage, Stephanie has three men to bring in. One runs a candy store, another is a kid who works in fast food, and the third is a pusher who's armed and dangerous. Naturally, it's the elderly man with the candy store who's the main problem. She can't find him, no one wants her to find him because he is beloved by the community, and pretty soon dead bodies are stacking up like cord wood wherever Stephanie goes. Three times in one day, she is shot at, and her nerve starts to go. Pretty soon, her normal solo act is being backed up by both Lula and Ranger.
Then, too, Joe Morelli (exboy friend in this story) starts acting strange, Stephanie finds him more attractive. He also moves into a house, and Stephanie starts to wonder if he's ready to settle down. With her guard down after more and more dangerous encounters, Stephanie almost succumbs but is saved by her weak stomach.
The mystery isn't the thing in a Stephanie Plum novel. It's just there to give Stephanie something to do. She's the real focus. Characterization in this fine novel is outstanding. That's the strength of the book. The humor is fine, too. The plot's a little below par, but you'll like the romantic parts and Stephanie dealing with food and exercise. If you have a macabre sense of humor, you'll like some of the corpse humor as well.
The real focus of the story is whether Stephanie is going to retreat into eating all of her meals at her parent's house, move in with Joe Morelli, and give up on chasing bad guys and get a job at the button factory. Although she's very tempted, she keeps her freedom and independence. You'll enjoy the tug of war, and be rooting for Stephanie. If you have children, you'll probably also change your mind about how often you let them go to candy stores alone.
Overcome your tradition stall that catching the bad guys is only for he-men. Stephanie can trip them up with the best!
Enjoy this book the next time you want a good laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another laugh a minute book!, 13 Dec 2005
By 
13_jane (cheshire, uk) - See all my reviews
Fantastic!!! I would love to be friends with Stephanie Plum - what an exciting time you would have out in the car with her!! Yes you would probably have whipp lash from all her accidents, and yes you would probably have a few cuts and bruises from the near death experiences - but what fantastic tales you would be able to tell everyone! Keep the novels coming Janet - I'm totally addicted!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie Plum 03, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would thoroughly recommend these books. I like mysteries and these stories combine mysteries with fun, a mix that I have not seen anywhere else. Once you start reading them, you want to read other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps your interest., 1 Sep 2013
By 
Matfen "Sarnie" (Northumberland UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ideal reading for those who enjoy a fast pace book. Once the American terms are understood ( that's not a problem ) her books are well constructed and humour is terrific as well as the situations she encounters. Good easy reading and will suit anyone who enjoys living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It gets better and better, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is nothing to dislike, Janet entertains with her family, her friends, and colleagues. No one is spared, all with her gentle good humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich simply has to be the greatest work of fiction ever written!! Just can't get enough!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum Novels)
Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum Novels) by Janet Evanovich (Mass Market Paperback - 31 July 1998)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews