Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful start to a new series
Amelia Hathaway is determined to keep her colourful younger sisters and wastrel elder brother in line - especially since they have recently come into an unexpected title and inheritance. Things are going somewhat to plan until a chance encounter with half-gypsy Cam Rohan in London.

When the pair meet again in Hampshire, neither can deny the sparks that fly but...
Published on 29 Dec 2007 by josie82

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On okay read
Review taken from my Blog Post (#45) in December 2010, after I borrowed it from the local lending library.

This is another in the Hathaway Series, the story of Leo's (Lord Ramsay) Sister, Amelia and the half-gypsy Cam Rohan.

A little on the slow start to begin with, The narrative seemed a bit dis-jointed for about 4 chapters, and then settled down...
Published 16 months ago by Toodles Book Club


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful start to a new series, 29 Dec 2007
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Amelia Hathaway is determined to keep her colourful younger sisters and wastrel elder brother in line - especially since they have recently come into an unexpected title and inheritance. Things are going somewhat to plan until a chance encounter with half-gypsy Cam Rohan in London.

When the pair meet again in Hampshire, neither can deny the sparks that fly but getting involved would be disastrous for both of them. But sometimes fate has other things in mind and as Amelia battles with a multitude of problems - it's her feelings for Cam that seem to be the biggest problem of all.

This is the start of a new series of regency set romances presumably focussing on the Hathaway family. As well as that, this book nicely ties into the Wallflower series of books with a story for Cam Rohan - the manager from Jenner's gaming club which appeared in many of those books.

This story was typical Lisa Kleypas with deep, meaningful emotions, hot sex scenes and love that conquers all. Cam was wonderful as the hero - strong and arrogant yet also mysterious and tender. While Amelia was a perfect heroine for him - determined to make sure her family were cared for and just as determined not to lean on anyone. The chemistry leapt off the pages between the pair. The secondary characters were also well described and I am looking forward to reading their books in the future. And it was lovely to see Lillian and Marcus (from It Happened One Autumn) making an appearance.

As this was part of a series - there were plenty of things that were left hanging such as Cam's mysterious tattoo, the relationship between sister Win and the servant Merripen etc. But I really can't complain as they weren't integral to this particular book's plot and it just makes me excited for the next book in the series.

If you're a fan of Lisa Kleypas or if you like your romances well-written with plenty of heat and emotion then I'm sure you will enjoy this book. An excellent read and definitely worth 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good historical romance, 25 Jan 2008
By 
LEP "LEP" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The synopis given on this page seems to be for "Blue-eyed devil", not for "Mine until midnight", which is confusing.

I won't write a synopsis as the other reviewers have done that. I enjoyed this book very much, Amelia being a strong character; somewhat controlling because she has felt that she has had to be in order to look after her family. Half gypsy, Cam Rohan, the manager of Jenner's gambling club, has appeared in one of the other Klepass books - the one that about Evie, Jenner's daughter, and St. Vincent, both of whom appear in this book.

Scarlet Fever a year ago has left Amelia's sister Win, weak chested and her brother Leo broken hearted about the death of his fiancee Laura. Inheriting a title from a distant relative, plus a ramshackle house and estate and a modest yearly income, Leo goes on the rampage, drinking and gambling for all he is worth, neglecting his family and generally trying to get himself killed. There is also a touch of the supernaturals in the book. Protective Amelia strives to look after Leo, much to his annoyance and indifference and that's how she first meets Cam Rohan and instantly attracted to him, but wary as she was jilted a year or two ago.

Cam, honourable and clever, has to deal with the 'stigma' of his birth and longs to go on the road again wandering free. However, much to his embarrassment (gypsies are indifferent to wealth and belongings) he attracts money like ducks to water, "his good luck curse" and no matter how hard he tries to get rid of his wealth it just keeps piling up. He has never had any trouble attracting women and when he meets Amelia he is intriged by her wholesome goodness and spirit. Deciding that he has met his woman, his 'mate', he has still to convince Amelia.

Cam has a "good luck curse", however the Hathaway's seem to attract bad luck, as nothing seems to go right for them no matter how hard Amelia strives. Cam has an overwhelming urge to help her, which she doesn't appreciate at all.

The book is an entertaining read and leaves some things unresolved, which may be dealt with in another book of this new series.

However, there is one point that irritates me intensly. It may be that Laura Klepas doesn't know her English history periods, or probably more likely it is the fault of the publisher who wrote the blurb on the back cover.

According to the back cover, this book is the start of new "Regency-set romances". Yet Chapter one quite clearly states "1848". That is NOT Regency, which ran from 1811 until 1820, when the Prince Regent succeeded the throne as George IV. He died in 1830 and his brother William IV was on the throne until 1837. He was succeeded by Victoria in 1837.

Therefore this book is early Victorian and certainly not by any shadow of the imagination, Regency. Therefore the front cover, which shows a woman in an Empire style Regency gown (high-waisted) is also wrong. Waists were back to normal levels by 1848. A minor point perhaps, but one I for one, find very irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, 20 Mar 2010
By 
It's a while since I read any Lisa Kleypas as I had read so many in the past that I ran out of options and turned elsewhere. In the interim this series was created and so an opportunity to revisit with old characters was presented. It was great to see Cam again and to meet the intriguing Hathaways. Great also to revisit the St Vincents from Devil in Winter which is my favourite of the previous series of Kleypas books.

This really was like visiting an old friend and I particularly liked the fact that i'd forgotten how forthright and 'no nonsense' Ms Kleypas is in her style of writing. She gets stuck in to the story without preamble and before you know it, you're transported straight back to previously trodden pastures. Amelia Hathaway is the perfect foil for Cam Rohan and I look forward to Merripen and Win's story with much anticipation of a good read.

If you like a story that plunges straight into the action without preamble then you'll love this classic dose of Kleypas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On okay read, 24 Mar 2013
Review taken from my Blog Post (#45) in December 2010, after I borrowed it from the local lending library.

This is another in the Hathaway Series, the story of Leo's (Lord Ramsay) Sister, Amelia and the half-gypsy Cam Rohan.

A little on the slow start to begin with, The narrative seemed a bit dis-jointed for about 4 chapters, and then settled down to a pleasant enough story. I feel that it is almost as if it could have done with a bit of a further edit before being published.

I should say a 3 star would be appropriate for this, but essential if you are reading any of the Hathaway series.

Actually, it also links into the Wallflower books along the way as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD HISTORICAL ROMANCE, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found Mine Till Midnight a very good read and once I started reading could not put the book down. I like the way Lisa Kleypas writes, she writes with care and with deep, meaningful emotions. Amelia has three younger sisters and a brother. They have been living and impoverished life style until her brother comes into an inheritance. Leo (her brother) is grieving from the death of his fiancee and has taken to drinking etc. Amelia is trying to deal with a multitude of problems, one of them being trying to save her brother from ruin. It is this situation that find her in the back streets of London with her friend and escort Merripen. They are about to enter a club that is managed by an extremely wealthy half-gypsy named Cam Rohan. Cam helps her find Leo but there is an attraction between Amelia and Cam. Amelia takes Leo and the rest of her siblings to their inherited estate to start their new life. While she is walking through the country estate she happens to come across Lord Westcliffe (her now new neighbour) and Cam Rohan. The attraction between Cam and Amelia grows and she finds herself turning more and more to Cam for help. Cam is very aware of his half-gypsy state and the irresistable attraction causes huge problems for them but their passion turns into something that neither of them can deny.
This an extremely good and well written book and I will certainly read the next one of the series. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely fantastic read. I loved this book and its strong storyline filled throughout with desire lust romance heartbreak passion and heady sexual encounters.loving Lisa kleypas..only just discovered her and can't wait for the next one !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Lisa Kleypas, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite Lisa Kleypas novel because the hero, Cam Rohan, is part gypsy and very, ah, nice, shall we say. He is his own person and the story is more unusual, unexpected. I like that in a novel. Amelia has a brother haunted by the ghost of a girl he adored, and two younger sisters who are both delightful characters. The dialogue is sharp and snappy, and with some familiar characters from her 'Wallflower' series making an appearance, the book is a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really loved this. Cam Rohan is the ultimate fantasy really, I fell in love with him a bit myself. I love the way Amelia has such spirit and doesn't just accept things. I love the way they compliment eachother and the intimate scenes were really hot and really well written. I have downloaded Win's story and no doubt will get the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again we have a delightful tale from Ms Klepas.
She has the ability to keep the reader turning the pages.
I would recommend reading the Hathaway series in order of publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent series, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
couldn't wait to get started on this book and it surpassed the other series that lisa kleypass has also written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mine Till Midnight (Hathaway)
Mine Till Midnight (Hathaway) by Lisa Kleypas (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Dec 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews