Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly hits but an obvious miss
"Dead After Dark" is an anthology featuring 4 authors well established in the fantasy romance genre.

Shadow of the Moon by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Part of the Dark-Hunter world, wolf shifter Fury is caught in a scheme that could threaten his kind and unfortunately his enemies include Angelia; the young human/wolf shifter he once considered his only friend. They...
Published 13 months ago by Book Addict

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice time filler but...
A book of four short stories by well known authors should be an exciting read.When i first bought this book i had only just started reading Jr Wards'"The Black Dagger"series and i proberbly thought her"The Story of Son" was as going to be as good.Although a nice little read when it finished i didn't particualy care.
Sherrilyn Kenyon is another author i had only just...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by fudggie girl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly hits but an obvious miss, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"Dead After Dark" is an anthology featuring 4 authors well established in the fantasy romance genre.

Shadow of the Moon by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Part of the Dark-Hunter world, wolf shifter Fury is caught in a scheme that could threaten his kind and unfortunately his enemies include Angelia; the young human/wolf shifter he once considered his only friend. They may be enemies but they have a history, and despite the threat Angelia poses Fury wants nothing more than to protect her.

I'm a huge fan of the Dark-Hunter universe and this short story certainly adds to the series. Expect the standard passion, quips and explosive action this author normally delivers. 4 stars

The Story of Son by J R Ward
Workaholic Claire reluctantly visits the wealthy Miss Leeds over the weekend intending to redraft her will. Instead Claire is drugged and awakens locked in the basement. But she is not alone; Miss Leed's unusual son has been hidden away for decades and requires blood donors when he needs to feed. Claire is rightly terrified, but trapped with the vampire she names Michael, she finds herself drawn to him and plans to help him escape his captivity.

Although Michael is a vampire and the story is set in Caldwell, this reads like a standalone novella with no ties to the "Black Dagger Brotherhood" series. Michael is a wonderful hero and Claire doesn't stand a chance. 4 stars

Beyond the Night by Susan Squires
It's been nearly 15 years since Andrew Cooper set foot in his home town. He has become independently wealthy and adopting a new persona, Drew is determined to marry Emily, the beautiful daughter of the local lord. Then a lowly groom, Drew never stood a chance and was punished for his infatuation. He's bought Ashland, a local manor and sets about his plans, only to have them thwarted by Freya; a beautiful vampire who insists his new home is actually still hers.

There is an interesting take on vampirism and the role Freya played in vampire society plus her growing relationship with Drew is sweet. 4 stars

Midnight Kiss Goodbye by Dianne Love
I absolutely love the "Belador Code" series this author has created with Sherrilyn Kenyon. Unfortunately though the phenomenal heroine of this series; Evalle Kincaid, only makes a brief appearance. Unfortunately this was not the only disappointment. I found the lead lovers; Trey (a Belador) and Sasha (a witch) rather flat. The story line failed to excite despite the involvement of witches, gods, a trapped warrior race and a couple of my favourite Beladors from the full length novels. A generous 3 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead After Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book because of Sherrilyn Kenyon and was introduced to 3 other authors. I love everything about the Kattalakis brothers so the story about Fury intrigued me. I was a bit worried about Fury because he seemed like a piece of work in her other books incapable of loving any body else but himself and I was worried that he would be alone so I was surprised that he had loved some one and that person let him down.The story was short and straight to the point. I would loved it more if it were longer.

I really enjoyed J R ward's story "The story of Son" this was about a story about a lawyer Claire who meets and falls in love with a vampire who she named Michael who is trapped in a basement. Very simple but beautifully told. I would have liked it to be longer I would have liked to know who Michael's father was and how he met his mother( I read it 3 times) I am going to start reading her books when I finish the DH series.

The next two stories "Beyond the Night" and "Midnight Kiss Goodbye" were good but I did not get excited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY CAT LOVES THIS, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Down to one cat now but he loves this - although he still has dried food to (when he wants it). Like most cats he lets me know what he wants and when!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not sure., 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've got mixed feelings about the whole book. Bought it so I could read Sherrilyn Kenyon's story, which ended up being ok. The next two stories I really didn't care for, but, loved the last story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favoured author, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead After Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
Like the fact that it has more than one author, although not the main reason that I bought it, condition as stated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this because in a fan of both Sherrilyn Kenyon and JR Ward and i was not disappointed, i loved fury from reading her dark hunter books, i just cant get enough of her stories they are all great. JR Wards story was told from the point of view of the main female character which was a bit disappointing but still a good story. The other authors were not so good to read. But i enjoyed the two stories i bought this book for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead After Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent service - I received the book really quickly, although I have not had a chance to read it yet. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A nice time filler but..., 9 Feb 2012
By 
fudggie girl (wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead After Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
A book of four short stories by well known authors should be an exciting read.When i first bought this book i had only just started reading Jr Wards'"The Black Dagger"series and i proberbly thought her"The Story of Son" was as going to be as good.Although a nice little read when it finished i didn't particualy care.
Sherrilyn Kenyon is another author i had only just started reading and although i hadn't really enjoyed the two books i'd bought i was willing to give her short story a try.I felt as if i had been dropped into the middle of a book and i wasn't sure what the story was about.
The other two books were by authors i hadn't heard of so i was looking forward to their stories."Beyond The Night"is the best of the four in my opinion.The last"Midnight Kiss goodbye"was good enough but nothing special.
J.R Ward is the only author i have gone on to read with her"Black Dagger"and her"Fallen Angels"series.
I think with any book of short stories by different authors you would be very lucky to enjoy them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: Dead After Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
Sherrilyn Kenyon is a brilliant author and I have read numerous books by her, and in this book she has co-written it makes no difference at all. A recommended read and book all round! I would definately recommend people look into her other books to read, you will not regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somehow the earth didn't move for me..., 22 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead After Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
You would have thought that writers like Ward and Kenyon could have produced good short stories, but they don't quite make the mark. They weren't awful, just lacking in short story 'oomph'.
The Kenyon story fills in Fury's story, but unless you know the background to the whole Arcadia and Katagaria 'thing' you'ld be a bit lost. And while I'm willing to suspend disbelief for a good plotline, it goes beyond disbelief that an Alpha male like Fury would forgive Angelia for the severe beating she traps him into, even if she is his long-lost love (who turned against him the first time anyway!).
I am a HUGE admirer of J R Ward - her Black Dagger Brotherhood books are awesome, but this story ... . The problem might be that I carry too much baggage from the books, and this story just doesn't fit in at all. A vampire that only needs to drink once a year, and maintains his strength and abilities drinking human blood? There were too many similarities to the BD books (bonding scent, memory control, super-human strength), but then these jarred against the things that didn't match (the whole human blood thing, easy cross species fertility, to name a few). Also, while it was OK, as a short story it just didn't work as well as the full length novels do.
THe Squires story 'Beyond the Night' was, for me, the best story of the lot. It held together as a story and I didn't feel that the author got three quarters of the way through it and then ran out of steam and needed to finish it. I liked the idea of the vampire needing (perforce) to be so alone, and I liked the conceit of Drew returning for revenge, only to find something better. It all worked for me!
The Dianna Love story was truly appalling. What a mess - I didn't have a clue what was going on, there were too many extraneous characters popping in and out of the story, the characters didn't make sense. Awful, really awful.
Buy it for the Kenyon story to find out about Fury, for the Ward story (but be prepared to find inconsistencies between her vampire 'worlds') because she's a good writer, for the Squires story because it's just a good story. Don't (DON'T) buy it for the Love story - in fact, just don't read the Love story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead After Dark
Dead After Dark by Dianna Love (Mass Market Paperback - 2 Dec 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews