Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Magic's erotica is dark and seductive
Forbidden Magic was a surprisingly good read. Although I dont really like witchcraft novels, this one kept me glued. Fans of Kenyon or Cole would like Forbidden Magic.
McCray's narrative is simple, not unnecessarily decorative, but to the point. Silver and Hawk, her 2 main characters, grow into you slowly but surely. They have conflicing facets, weaknesses and...
Published on 18 Aug 2009 by Elle L

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly dull
I just didn't like this book. It feels like a real slog to get through - I have about 100 pages to go, and it's mostly stubbornness keeping me going - I don't care about any of the characters, the impending invasion of San Francisco or how the story is going to end...it's just not gripping me.

I think the main problem is that it sort of jumps straight into the...
Published on 9 Oct 2009 by L. Murphy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly dull, 9 Oct 2009
By 
L. Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Magic (The Magic Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I just didn't like this book. It feels like a real slog to get through - I have about 100 pages to go, and it's mostly stubbornness keeping me going - I don't care about any of the characters, the impending invasion of San Francisco or how the story is going to end...it's just not gripping me.

I think the main problem is that it sort of jumps straight into the action - which is good, but then never goes back and gives you any background. I checked 3 times to ensure I'd got the first in the series, and only actually believed it when I saw the blurb on the back mentioned it was a first book.

This is definitely not a debut novel, however, and the writing is confident and accomplished...I just think, considering the book is 440 pages long, a couple of pages could have been devoted to world-building.

The sex is very good and well-written. If the author had either cut the story down a bit (the plot is strangely slow-paced) or added more detail, it would have been much, much better, but as it is, I'm not going to bother with the other books in the series.

It's not a bad book, and it's probably my sound-bite generation-ness showing through, but for a book this long, I need to care about the characters, and I've just not got this from the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 27 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Forbidden Magic (The Magic Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I think the title for the review sums it up. This book was incredibly dull. Everything was so over described at one point I thought I was reading a cookery book. The characters had no depth to them and I felt more for the bad guy than the heroine. The story didn't excite me either. I skipped the last hundred pages and I don't think I missed out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Magic's erotica is dark and seductive, 18 Aug 2009
By 
Elle L "of the Dark Woods" (Belly of the Beast (Athens)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Magic (The Magic Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Forbidden Magic was a surprisingly good read. Although I dont really like witchcraft novels, this one kept me glued. Fans of Kenyon or Cole would like Forbidden Magic.
McCray's narrative is simple, not unnecessarily decorative, but to the point. Silver and Hawk, her 2 main characters, grow into you slowly but surely. They have conflicing facets, weaknesses and strengths and suprises. The way McCray goes into Silver's relationship with her parents, for example, is a real gem, so real and funny.
Set in San Francisco, her action scenes are fast and furious and her erotic scenes make you blush. I read lots of paranormal romance, but McCray's erotica is dark, seductive and hard-core- bordering to S&M. They trully stand out compared to the majority of para-romance sex scenes. Not for the faint hearted romance readers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars forbidden magic, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Magic (The Magic Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
very good quality item. Item as described.value for money and an excellent read would recommend any of these books x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, 5 Dec 2011
This review is from: Forbidden Magic (The Magic Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Never quite sure what type of 'action' the next page was going to hold - so a good page turner! Story line quite predictable but a fun read regardless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

Forbidden Magic (The Magic Novels)
Forbidden Magic (The Magic Novels) by Cheyenne McCray (Mass Market Paperback - 27 Jan 2006)
6.48
Usually dispatched within 11 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews