Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Urban Horror !
Richard Matheson's total mastery of urban-based horror is perfectly showcased in this collection of 20 of his short stories. Ranging from tales which formed the basis of a couple of "The Twilight Zone"s finest episodes, the classic "Nightmare at 20,000 Feet" and the beautifully crafted "Long Distance Call" which has one of the best endings...
Published on 7 April 2002 by Robin Pierce

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ho Hum Stories that I have seen or read many times.
To call it Nightmare at 20,000 Feet I expected a more in-depth and expanded story than the script of the Twilight Zone episode of the same title. To have a selection of 'just OK' stories to pad the story out it was sadly lacking.
Published 19 months ago by Greyhound


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Urban Horror !, 7 April 2002
By 
Robin Pierce "RobinP" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nightmare at 20,000 Feet: Horror Stories (Paperback)
Richard Matheson's total mastery of urban-based horror is perfectly showcased in this collection of 20 of his short stories. Ranging from tales which formed the basis of a couple of "The Twilight Zone"s finest episodes, the classic "Nightmare at 20,000 Feet" and the beautifully crafted "Long Distance Call" which has one of the best endings ever, one which stays with the reader long after the book has been finished. Remember the tv movie "Trilogy of Terror" ? Most people remember the final story where actress Karen Black was stalked through her apartment by an African Tribal doll, this story too is included in this collection. In among the witches, unexplained disappearances and tales of mystical retribution, Matheson also explores the premise that the scariest monster of all may be our own paranoia, as evidenced in "Legion of Plotters". Usually, in the case of anthologies like this, there are a few tales that fail to grasp, but this in no way the case here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightmare at 20,000 Feet: Horror Stories (Paperback)
Most (but not all) stories in this collection all very good and make for enjoyable reads. However, I am often left somewhat unsatisfied with the endings and the way Richard Matheson wraps up the tales. Other than that, many of these stories are extremely enjoyable. My personal favourites being:

Nightmare at 20,000 feet
Blood son
Disappearing act
Long distance call
Wet straw
The children of Noah
The distributor
Crickets
Prey

I would recommend this book to all horror and thriller fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Master, 28 Aug. 2013
By 
M. Hevingham "Mark Hevingham" (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightmare at 20,000 Feet: Horror Stories (Paperback)
Such a loss to the writing community. This book exemplifies the amazing wordsmith that was Richard Matheson. A true genius at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ho Hum Stories that I have seen or read many times., 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightmare at 20,000 Feet: Horror Stories (Paperback)
To call it Nightmare at 20,000 Feet I expected a more in-depth and expanded story than the script of the Twilight Zone episode of the same title. To have a selection of 'just OK' stories to pad the story out it was sadly lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing, 6 Dec. 2002
By 
C. M. Collier "myopia1" (Liverpool,england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nightmare at 20,000 Feet: Horror Stories (Paperback)
I am sorry to say I found this collection slightly disappointing.Maybe Stephen King built it up too much in his introduction,maybe too many of these stories have appeared before,maybe I'm getting old,but these couldn't quite cut it for me.I think we all recognise the gremlin on the plane wing by now,and he doesn't shock like he used to,I'm afraid.Many of these stories were good when I first read them,but the trouble with Richard Matheson is,you never forget that initial impact.
I also remember Dress of White Silk,Blood Son,Disappearing Act,Long Distance Call,The Children of Noah,The Distributer and Prey,and that's a lot for a book containing 20 stories.
Stephen King said at the beginning,"He will leave you wanting more".I had had enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightmare at 20,000 Feet: Horror Stories
Nightmare at 20,000 Feet: Horror Stories by Richard Matheson (Paperback - 18 July 2008)
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews