Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic
Over the years I've managed to collect most of Vance's novels and while the Dying Earth and Lyonesse series have received the greatest praise it is the Planet of Adventure that I have reread more than any other.
Like all of Vance's work the way he describes characters and places makes them incredably easy to visualise, so that you feel as though you've visited races...
Published on 24 Aug 2002 by Roland Stones

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated and rather superficially plotted
My main conclusion on having read this set of four books is that SF really has advanced a long way since they were first written. I was surprised on investigating to find that the last book was published as late as 1970: I would have guessed it twenty years older. The stories have plenty of "adventures" in the form of fights, escapes and plans, but there is no depth to...
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by S. J. King


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic, 24 Aug 2002
This review is from: Planet of Adventure (Hardcover)
Over the years I've managed to collect most of Vance's novels and while the Dying Earth and Lyonesse series have received the greatest praise it is the Planet of Adventure that I have reread more than any other.
Like all of Vance's work the way he describes characters and places makes them incredably easy to visualise, so that you feel as though you've visited races and places that are being described. Vance does this and still maintains the pace of the story so that all too soon you find you've reached the end.
The Planet of Adventure while perhaps not having the complexity of the Lyonesse series or the antics of the cunning Cugel in the Dying Earth series deserves a place on your bookshelf and in your mind. It's pure page turning adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stuff, 8 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet of Adventure: City of the Chasch / Servants of the Wankh / The Dirdir / The Pnume (4 books in 1 volume) (Paperback)
I read these when I was a teenager and loved them. Been out of reading sci-fi for years but recently bought the one-volume series when I happened to see it on Amazon and reading it all through brought back a wonderful feeling of nostalgia. I was entranced as a teen and found it just as enthralling, perhaps more so, 20 years later. And it's rekindled my passion for sci-fi in general. Plan to catch up with all the rest of Vance's works that I have never read, undoubtedly a cornucopia of goodies if half as good as this wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest stories ever., 30 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Planet of Adventure: City of the Chasch / Servants of the Wankh / The Dirdir / The Pnume (4 books in 1 volume) (Paperback)
Seems a bit senseless just to add to the earlier reviews, praising this set of stories with even more superlatives. I've read the separate volumes and also the complete set in French (available from Amazon.fr). They are wholly marvellous stories. The characters are utterly convincing. You might even fall in love with Zap 210 when she finally escapes from the Pnume. You can love Traz, and you get to admire Anacho the Dirdirman and share in the humour that carries them through their adventures. What atmospheres; scenes. And what adventures. No, the only way to share these enthsuaism is to read these books - wonderful, enduring value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and uniquely brilliant, 17 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Planet of Adventure: City of the Chasch / Servants of the Wankh / The Dirdir / The Pnume (4 books in 1 volume) (Paperback)
I bought the second volume of this series (the one with the unfortunate name) in a junk shop, and read it entranced. It made me check amazon with a certain nervousness, fearful that the other books in the series were no longer in print. Thank heaven it still is. This series simply is one of the most extraordinary books of the century -- like the best fantasy and sf it is inventive, colourful, vivid and has the quality of imaginative engagement that makes you feel you've really experienced what it describes; but at the same time it is so suave, so elegant and oblique -- in a word so cool. I don't know any writer in any genre who even comes close to Vance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply amazing, 12 Sep 2003
By 
M. J. Wakeman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planet of Adventure: City of the Chasch / Servants of the Wankh / The Dirdir / The Pnume (4 books in 1 volume) (Paperback)
Out of the many books that i have read or that i have to read this is simply one of those books that i can never help but returning to again and again and again. as said in an earlier review Vance has a wonderfully elegant and simple style that brings other worlds and people to life.
if you are a fan of science fiction then this really is one of the finest examples that you are likely to find
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic science fiction adventure series., 17 July 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: Planet of Adventure: City of the Chasch / Servants of the Wankh / The Dirdir / The Pnume (4 books in 1 volume) (Paperback)
If you're a fan of Jack Vance, this may be his best series. If not, this is an excellent introduction to this master of adventure SF and fantasy. In the first ten pages of the first book, Terran explorer Adam Reith's ship is destroyed by mysterious missiles, and he is stranded on the unknown planet Tschai. Tschai has been colonized by several mutually antagonistic alien races; they have imported primitive humans for use as servants; over millenia, several human subspecies have evolved, symbiotic to the various breeds of alien. Our hero gets to spend the next four volumes criss-crossing the planet from one cliff-hanging adventure to another in search of an intact spacecraft that he can buy, borrow, or steal. Gorgeous prose and intricate, fully realized alien cultures raise this above the level of a simple adventure series. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful science-fiction adventure series, 7 Nov 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Planet of Adventure: City of the Chasch / Servants of the Wankh / The Dirdir / The Pnume (4 books in 1 volume) (Paperback)
This book contains 4 excellent short SF novels by the masterful Jack Vance. Vance's descriptions and distinctive, elegant dialog combine to take the reader to an alternate reality in ways that very few writers can match. These books are perhaps my favorites by Vance. The alien beings depicted here are strange and fascinating, and Adam Reith is a resourceful, inspiring hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the many pinnacles of the works of jack Vance, 29 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Planet of Adventure: City of the Chasch / Servants of the Wankh / The Dirdir / The Pnume (4 books in 1 volume) (Paperback)
The quality and imagination of jack vance are here at there best. The vivid imagary and reality of the cultures and landscapes he portrays are so poignant tha tyou are there.
A story of adventure travel and hardship among alien races and an even more alien race the diversity of man. An excellent read one of the master works of science fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Vance at his best, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet of Adventure: City of the Chasch / Servants of the Wankh / The Dirdir / The Pnume (4 books in 1 volume) (Paperback)
This book is the four books of the Planet of Adventure series in one volume. Jack Vance's imagination and descriptive powers
make this story my all-time favourite book. Highly recommended. The order and delivery process worked well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Traditional Science Fiction by a master of the genre, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet of Adventure: City of the Chasch / Servants of the Wankh / The Dirdir / The Pnume (4 books in 1 volume) (Paperback)
This collection needs to be viewed as what it is - a traditional offering from the late 1960's aimed at a mainstream Sci Fi audience. Having said that you can read them on a number of levels, either as straightforward "yarns" or delve deeper into the underlying comment about racial intolerance and the concept of one race being superior to another.

I found the stories enjoyable bedtime reading, well paced and with enough quirky humour to keep the mood light, while not on a par with the Dying Earth or the Demon Princes books, the Planet of Adventure series continues the Vance canon of escapist entertainment and deserves a place in any enthusiast's bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews