Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic sci-fi
I generally seem to find that sci-fi from the 40's, 50's and 60's to be more rewrading than those which are more recent. Slan reinforced that view.
There's little doubt that this novel shows some sign of age, but the quality of the ideas presented still shine through. So much of what lies between these covers has influenced much of what came later. There are plenty...
Published on 4 April 2002 by Mr. W. Hardy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Saved (maybe) by the ending
Very strange book this one by van Vogt. It starts well and intrigues you, despite the taste of teen novel, then it gets stuck. While the plot runs too fast, the narrative becomes boring and it's awfully easy to get distracted and then lose the thread, given the rapid pace of events. While the characters and their actions at the beginning seemed absolutely credible, then...
Published 1 month ago by Anakina


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic sci-fi, 4 April 2002
By 
Mr. W. Hardy "GH" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slan (Paperback)
I generally seem to find that sci-fi from the 40's, 50's and 60's to be more rewrading than those which are more recent. Slan reinforced that view.
There's little doubt that this novel shows some sign of age, but the quality of the ideas presented still shine through. So much of what lies between these covers has influenced much of what came later. There are plenty of other novels and short stories which explore the possibility of the next evolutionaty step that humans may take, which doubtless explore it more deeply. However, this was amongst the first.
Additionally it explores racism, and the dangers of mob-intolerance. On top of that, it's actually a good story.
Charming, and a rewarding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Part of the Foundation of Modern SF, 31 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Slan (Paperback)
Slan is excellent, especially when you consider it was written over 50 years ago. When you read it, you will think "Hey, I have seen these ideas and plot devices before." That's how much influence Slan had on the formation of SF. If you want to understand where SF came from, the book that sets all the conventions is Slan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Forgotten Classic, 25 Jun 2009
This review is from: Slan (Paperback)
Van Vogt is a fairly rated writer among SF officianados, and at the time of its release, this novel was well received. Philip Dick picked him as the model for his early writing and says repeatedly in his autobiographs that Vogt is one of his favourite SF writers, and this book, one of his favourite SF novels: high praise in deed from one of the finest writers of the 20th century. If that isnt reason enough to check it out, then i dont know what might convince. Personally, i prefer PKD's work, however, you can feel many of the elements of his style in this little novel, from the tongue-in-cheek naming, to the twists and turns of the plot.

Overall, the writing is action orientated, fast paced, and because of that, pretty damn exciting. I finished the book in a handful of hours and was a bit disappointed that the ending felt premature. In Van Vogts defense, few SF books of the time (40s) ran to more than 300 pages, and some publishers even used to cut a book at 200 or so pages, irrelevant of how it was setup, or where the end should lay. One reviewer here claims that the characters are one dimensional, and im not sure i could totally disagree with them, but they over state themselves by comparing the character quality to X-men, of all things, it is far better than that.

Give it a chance, and if you can pick it up secondhand, i would do so, save you moaning about it when you realize it isnt Stross, or god forbid, Banks. No, this is definitely a forgotten classic, influentially, interesting, relevant, well written, and certainly as good as Wells et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Patrick F. Hogan (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slan (Kindle Edition)
This was the first SF book I remember reading as a schoolboy 60 years ago. A indulgence in nostalgia. The re-read exposes its dated but that said it still moves along and I understand how I became a life long SF fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book written by a wonderful person., 22 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Slan (Paperback)
Slan is such a great tale! It moves so fast and is quite absorbing, and deals with racial hatred in an extremely subtle way that remains current today. I am lucky to have spent some time with Mr. Van Vogt a few years ago, and he is a really nice man, too. It's a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Saved (maybe) by the ending, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Slan (Kindle Edition)
Very strange book this one by van Vogt. It starts well and intrigues you, despite the taste of teen novel, then it gets stuck. While the plot runs too fast, the narrative becomes boring and it's awfully easy to get distracted and then lose the thread, given the rapid pace of events. While the characters and their actions at the beginning seemed absolutely credible, then they tend to become too "easy" in the central part of the book, losing all their plausibility and touching absurdity.
The touch of a great author, however, is seen in the way he tells the story: the style, the words capture you. But the story itself seems naive, like those of young adult novels, but unsuitable for the latter given the complex issues dealt in it.
Maybe the 60 years passed since its publication are the cause of this apparent naivety. Moreover, the combination of spaceships with telephone booths is a bit funny. But since the beginning it is not so difficult to accept this retro vibe in the scope of science fiction, the problems are others.
I will not go into the details of the plot, not to spoil the reading of the book. I will just say that there is a certain approximation in the concatenation of the facts, which at times are simply summarized by giving improbable and forced excuses to justify the action going to a certain direction.
What really saves the novel and inspired me to give it at least 3 stars is the ending. I'm not talking about the final chapter (which is terribly far-fetched), but just the last page, even the last sentences, outlining a plot twist that allows closing the story with a bang.

Rita Carla Francesca Monticelli, author of Red Desert - Point of No Return
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slan (Kindle Edition)
I read this book the first time a long time ago and then when I saw it again I had to read it again. Awesome story and beautifully written. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-Fi at its best, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slan (Kindle Edition)
The above says it all. I have read this book in paperback and wanted to reacquaint myself with it on the kindle. Its still brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars slan, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slan (Kindle Edition)
Read this many year's ago . Really enjoyed it , wanted to read it again , but have never been able to find it . So pleased when I came across it , can't wait to read it again .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic SF., 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slan (Kindle Edition)
Had not read this since the seventies....
I should not have waited so long, absolutely brilliant...
I would recommend it to anybody....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slan
Slan by A.E.Van Vogt (Paperback - 1 Jan 1968)
10.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews