Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read!, 20 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Faking It (Hardcover)
One of my favourite characters in 'Welcome to Temptation' was Davy, (Sophie's brother), so I was so pleased that Crusie decided to write a story for him! This book is a must for all Crusie fans. Like all her other books, it's a beautiful love story, involving quirky characters, two lonely people, and of course - a dog! It's funny, touching and very sexy! Davy is an ex con man, who has spent his life trying to avoid 'settling down'. Tilda is an ex artist, who is trying to escape her past. Then they meet (in a closet!)and the sparks start to fly! I don't want to give anything else away! You MUST read this book! It's her best yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 12 July 2004
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
Quite simply.. the best book I have ever read. Myself being 17 loved it like hell, and I am sure the older people out there will love it just as much. I was in Asda one day, as you are, and came across this in the book section funnily enough. I picked it up and read the back and thought.. hmm maybe not. My Mum however decided she wanted it to read on holiday. I decided to read a little of it when I got home to see what it was like. And from then on i was gone, i sat there all day, and a little of the night reading it, I just could not put it down. If you've read any of Jenny Crusie's other books, especially 'Welcome To Temptation as this is sort of a follow on of Davy's story, then you'll know what I mean by 'yes, another classic Crusie', if you don't however, you should definately read this if you love the fun, sarcastic, sexy and terribly amusing type of books. Simply marvellous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 17 Aug 2002
This review is from: Faking It (Hardcover)
Loved it! Actaully I love all of Jennifer Cruises work, and this was no exception.
Faking It tells the story of Davy Dempsey (nice con artist and brother of Sophie & Amy from 'Welcome to Temptation') and Matilda (loveable and artistic forger)who meet in a closet whilst trying to burglarise the same house.
The only slight drawback in the continuation of the character Clea who I found very irratating in WTT and even more so here.
THis book is funny and sexy- buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faking it? Crusie's the real thing, 26 Jan 2003
This review is from: Faking It (Hardcover)
.... Quite simply, it's really, really funny. The showdown at the end, where half a dozen people are having half a dozen semi-connected conversations all at the same time all on different levels, is so hilarious I was nearly crying when I read it.
Tilda is an art faker (although that's not the only thing she fakes) and Davy is a conman. They meet in a closet and it sort of goes on from there. I love Crusie's characterisations, and her observations about relationships are spot on.
Plus, it really, really is just so damn funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Temptation!, 14 April 2003
By 
L. Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faking it (Paperback)
Being an existing fan of Ms Crusie's, I awaited this new release with some trepidation, having found some of her past works - well, good, but not necessarily keepers. However, in Faking It, Jennifer Crusie stays with the Dempseys from Temptation - Faking It is Davy's story, and it is very funny, with Crusie's distinctive style of writing, from the movie & song quotes, to the adopted mutt. This is not to say that Faking It is a complete rehash of several old books - it is saved from this by the very different characters she portrays. While there are some similarities, they are so affectionate and familiar, that you can't help loving Nadine & Gwennie, and Tilda is the perfect heroine for the not so straight Davy.
If you are a fan of JC's, buy this book. If you haven't read her work already, read Temptation first, then see if you can resist this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faking it, 12 Oct 2005
By 
DevJohn01 (Somerset, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
Matilda Goodnight leads a predictably boring life recreating famous works of art on dining room walls for the rich. She supports her mom, sister and niece and therefore cannot afford to pursue her true passion of painting her own original works. However, Tilda's boring existence is turned upside down when she is forced to steal a painting from the home of a wealthy art collector so as not to expose a long time family secret. This is when she meets Davy Dempsey a professional thief who after one brief meeting in a dark closet is sure to turn Tilda's life upside down in more ways than she ever anticipated.
"FAKING IT" is charming and witty with a cast full of off the wall characters that will keep you wanting to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read Me!, 17 May 2003
By 
L. Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faking it (Paperback)
Fans of "Welcome to Temptation" will love "Faking It", if only because we catch up with many of the characters.
This is the story of Davy Dempsey, the deeply sexy brother of Sophie.
"Faking It" is an excellent book on it's own, not just as a "sequel" - Tilda is talented, quirky and thoroughly independant, as well as having a murky past life as an art forger, Davy is sexy, devious and trying to go straight, but keeps falling off the wagon.
Together with Tilda's funky family they hunt for missing paintings, avoid hitmen & bad sex to a inspired soundtrack (hmmm - I'd buy it if they released it!) this is just a great book, very funny, with Crusie's distinctive style. Just loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is there a doctor in the house? I think I ruptured my tummy!, 15 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Faking it (Paperback)
I don't know where to start. This book was simply hilarious! I have read most of Jenny's books and I adored them all. They are witty, funny, clever, sexy and let's not forget really hot!
Tilda is a mural painter with a Secret. It's a big Secret and no one can know or her life and that of her family will be destroyed. It somehow involves... a painting.
Enter Davy, the lovable con artist from Welcome to Temptation. He really, really needs to get his hands on ... that self same painting. Now, Tilda thinks he's FBI, her mother thinks her new tenant is a hitman after Davy, Davy is confused, Tilda's sister has a problem that involves several personalities and ... well I can't really go into it, but it involves a closet, a clumsy caterer, Australia, Mussolini and some really scary shark teeth.
I particularly roared during the final confrontation. I think that's when I fell off the couch.
Really, try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 18 May 2006
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
I loved this book! Matilda is the kind of girl i'd love to be and davy is just the kind of guy i'd fall for! i just couldn't put it down... as someone with quite a short attention span i can honestly say this book keeps you riveted!! Really good sequel to Welcome to Temptation, another amazing read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, 9 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Faking It (Hardcover)
Brilliant book i couldn't put it down Davys the kind of guy i've always wanted to be.Excellent at poker, brilliant at selling and always been able to read what other people are thinking. great follow up to "Welcome to Temptation" with an even better characters. Worth the read A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faking It
Faking It by Jennifer, Etc Crusie (Paperback - 29 Mar 2011)
£9.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews