Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars42
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2010
This book is excellent. The narrative is clearly structured, relatively balanced in its tone and seems well researched. The book is well organized with chapters corresponding to each significant period or development in Rich's career. The access afforded to the author is clearly extensive; the quality and quantity of original sources, including interviews with Rich himself is impressive.

The central narrative is a classic American immigrant success story. Rich joins Phibro in the mail room, works his way up to run an office, becomes frustrated with the conservatism and short-termism of the firm, then leaves with a few partners to set up the firm (Marc Rich & Co. AG, latterly Glencore International AG) that will come to dominate the industry. The essential story is that of success of enormous proportions created by talent, hard work and a willingness to deal outside the usual channels of trade. Rich's long term perspective, and skill in building and maintaining relationships are identified as key factors in his success.

An under-current of amorality, rather than immorality, is acknowledged throughout the book. In interviews Rich appeals to the neutrality of commerce, leaving political judgments, such as which nation to trade with, outside his domain. Rich's personality never dominates, but comes through consistently. Over the course of the book you get a reasonably complete impression of the outer man. Rich's inner doubts and motivations emerge only fleetingly at key moments in his career; a probable consequence both of his reserved nature, and the time that had passed between the key events of his life and the interviews with him.

The tax evasion case brought by the US authorities occupies a large chunk of the book. The detail is well presented, and the arguments explored in a reasonably balanced way. The author does eventually reach a conclusion: That the prosecution was highly disproportionate, and the offense committed, if any relatively minor. Rich's alleged involvement with Mossad, and the campaign finance allegations raised in relation to his presidential pardon are also addressed in this section. The book concludes with an account of Rich's unfortunate second marriage, the 'coup' that ousted him and created Glencore, and his relatively(!) quiet life since then.

So far, so satisfying. The story is essentially positive, and the major questions over Rich's conduct seem to have been addressed. But... Having finished this book, I met by chance a friend who had dealt with some Rich-controlled companies in the metals business. The picture he painted of the business conduct of Rich's organisation could not be more different from the cute and cuddly, long term value orientated picture painted by this book. Which is the more true I do not know, but that conversation crystalised the doubts I had felt about the author's rosy view, and particularly his very heavy reliance on sources within the Rich / Glencore axis. When one looks at the extremely questionable business practices of some of Rich's disciples at Trafigura, it is hard to believe that his organisation shared none of their vices.

In summary, this is a good book, it is also an interesting story, but I don't think that it is the whole story.
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
Having worked as a commodities reporter in the pit of the London Metals Exchange for the past couple of years, the name "Glencore" and all the connotations associated with it became ubiquitous in my day to day life.

Then, in 2010, Glencore became the second biggest IPO of all time. I knew people who worked there who became fantastically rich. And I don't typically like boring biographies but when I read the book about the guy who founded it (Marc Rich), I found it absolutely fascinating. Unputdownable. It was an extremely well-written, well-researched account of one man's extraordinary life, and it stings of what's wrong with Western bureaucracy, particularly within the United States.

Although Ammann never answers the very deep, probing question, "Who is Marc Rich?" We nevertheless get a very good idea of the image this man wanted to portray to the rest of the world. But even if we are always scratching the glossy surface of a fugitive billionaire, this crafted persona is still absolutely thrilling and exotic in every way.

Ammann's book is also a tiny tribute to Switzerland and its resourceful and practical people. The Swiss protected Marc Rich from prosecution from the FBI at a time when many other countries wanted to see him become toast. As an American newly moved to Switzerland and working for a commodity hedge fund, I can not only identify with the challenges within his industry, but also with the cultural issues he encountered with leaving the US (Not the police chase, of course:) ... but the issues are divisive enough that one can feel the urge to relinquish citizenship just like he did.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
In a world of cookie cutter financial market participants few people have the innovation, the charisma and the determination to stick out. Marc Rich was one of those people. I have read and reread this book a number of times - and frankly the personality of Marc Rich comes through. In parts it feels reflective - and there is a sense of brooding and sense of sadness as if Marc feels he was never properly appreciated by the US. Indeed the tax issues which ultimately led to him fleeing the US feel slightly flimsy.

Daniel Ammann has done an excellent job in laying out how an outsider, fleeing from Germany developed into a global titan striding the world of oil. And then how he fell - and the portrait of the death of Marc Rich's daughter and how he could only attend via conference call is heart-rending.

I was recently reading a Glencore presentation which described their business model (particularly for their marketing business) - and it was surprising how the principles of Marc Rich still permeate the business.

This is a must read for anyone interested in oil, markets or Glencore. But it is also a fantastic story well worth reading in its own right. Highly recommended
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
At last we move on from the dated Craig Copetas book written way back in 1985 (Metal Men: Marc Rich and the 10-Billion-Dollar Scam). Copetas's sensationalist work of part-fact/mostly-fiction has framed the discussion on Marc Rich for far too long. Daniel Ammann has done his homework and produced an eminently readible and balanced piece of work which allows Marc Rich to present his own case (through a series of interviews), while at the same time presenting other view points out there on this controversial man. The most interesting parts of this book are the incredible story about how Rich went about accumulating his more than $1USbn fortune (a lasting testament to his single-mined trading brilliance), his views on the morality of dealing with some of the most evil regimes on this planet (the most controversial part of this book is Marc Rich's assertion that business and politics don't mix ("business is neutral") which is debateable to say the least but what is amazing is how Marc Rich was able to do business with regimes of any colour including pre- and post-revolutionary Cuba, the Shah of Iran and Iron after the revolution, apartheid South Africa and the ANC!), and the reasons behind his pardon by former US President Bill Clinton (mainly due to the recognition by Clinton and his team that the original case against Rich was based mainly on politics (the book highlights how bad a US president Rudolph Giuliani would have made!)). A great book to read even for those who know nothing about the commodities business, but a wonderful book for those with some knowledge of the business.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
This was one of my favourite books of 2009. At last someone could meet Marc Rich and get more than monosyllables out of him. This book is very well researched and I congratulate the author for his tenacity in explaining to other people what oil trading is all about. Not only that, we learn that Marc Rich's ex-wife was perhaps not, as previously widely reported, the sole individual who helped gain a last-minute pardon from Bill Clinton. Some Israeli friends seemed to have helped a lot too.

I'm still not sure whether Marc Rich is a saint or a sinner. But, after reading this book, you have to admit, he's a very clever man and extremely astute when it comes to business.

As for Bill Clinton, I can imagine that last-minute pardon still seems a mystery to most people.

Marc Rich says he will never return to the United States for a visit, just in case he's arrested, for example, for a minor parking offence. Does that mean he doesn't really believe too much in that presidential pardon?

You have written a very entertaining book, Daniel Ammann.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
This is a great book that I would recommend if you have an interest in Finance and Investment Banking / Commodity Trading. The book describes a somewhat accurate story of Marc Rich's life, it includes various interviews from both Mark Rich, his business partners, lawyers and prosecutors. Despite the interviews, the book doesn't feel like a documentary and the author has been able to keep a sense of intrigue throughout the book.

This is a Holiday on-the-beach kind of book, rather than a must-read for anyone in finance.

I would question whether the story is not biased towards Marc Rich being a "nice guy" as he gave his approval to publish this book -- I have been advised to read Metal Men: Marc Rich and the 10-Billion-Dollar Scam, in order to have a slightly different story angle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
An interesting subject matter that is somewhat drawn out for too long, as the author gives an effective biography of the titular commodities trader, but one that appears to be stretched out, especially concerning the U.S. indictment against him and his business partner Pincus Green. The structure can be irritating too since it is built around several interviews the author conducted with Marc Rich, which would be fine were it now so padded out with descriptions of the surroundings in such pointless detail.

The subject is interesting though and the author does well to not write from up on any kind of moral pedestal, especially considering the subject and his deals with dictatorships and such. Overall however would probably be better as a tighter extensive article.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, the author has clearly researched Marc Rich's life in depth. Although on the face of it balanced, I can't help but suspect the author's underlying admiration masking what could have been harsher criticism Marc Rich deserves.

Tax fraud aside (which Daniel Ammann covers in depth and convincingly in Marc Rich's favour), Mr Rich's dealings surely were far more seedy and dispicable. Trading with Apartheid South Africa, as well as setting up front companies sifening off excessive profits from governments and the market alike.

I can't help but have an underlying admiration for the man. Undoubtedly smart and canny, as well as lucky in places. Though far from a shining example of success
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
Fascinating and revealing. The books is very well researched via direct interviews with many of those involved giving a true description of the way things worked and no doubt many of us who worked for the company at one of the 'main' offices or in the field at some time will find it edifying to finally have many gaps filled in as to the origins of what was a great and exciting company to work for! It is also very relevant today as to leading to a greater understanding as to how big business affects our lives and ultimately the world economy behind the scenes since many of Marc Rich AG's tactics are applicable to other global industries. An extremely interesting and fascinating read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
This book is well written and well researched, with 14 pages of notes.
It's focused on two main subjects: how Marc Rich founded the largest commodities trading business in the world, and why he became a wanted man by the American department of Justice.
I found however one factual mistake: the author wrote, on chapter 8:
"Prime Minister Bazargan broke off all relations with Israel, and the Israeli embassy was stormed and plundered by a rampaging mob (pag.94)."
However, Iran never officially recognized Israel, therefore there couldn't be an embassy of Israel.
In spite of this mistake, I recommend this book to everyone interested in international trading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)