Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot stop reading it
I need to admit it: I bought the book only because I knew the author due to his fantastic utilities (Sysinternals) and superb technical books.
When I started to read it the story captured immediately my attention.
Only the train guard that informs me that I'm arrived to my station can stop me to read it.
The story is very nicely written, with plausible...
Published on 22 May 2012 by marco simone zuppone

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wooden writing
Couldn't get past the first few chapters. Mr Russinovitch is a legend in the IT world. He should stick to that though. The writing made Dan Brown look like Tolstoy.
Published 21 months ago by Grant R


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wooden writing, 10 Nov 2012
This review is from: Zero Day (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't get past the first few chapters. Mr Russinovitch is a legend in the IT world. He should stick to that though. The writing made Dan Brown look like Tolstoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot stop reading it, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I need to admit it: I bought the book only because I knew the author due to his fantastic utilities (Sysinternals) and superb technical books.
When I started to read it the story captured immediately my attention.
Only the train guard that informs me that I'm arrived to my station can stop me to read it.
The story is very nicely written, with plausible technical details about this deadly computer malware infection.
The very good point of the book that it is not Sci-fi at all: something like that can really happen and it's quite scary.
Nice book, well written! Compliments to the author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fictional what if that could come true, 14 Nov 2011
By 
John Warlow (Loughborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Day (Jeff Aiken) (Hardcover)
Mark Russinovich writes an excellent novel based on a terrorist attack on the the computers and businesses connected to the internet. The scary thing is all the technology mentioned in the book exists today, the viruses, root-kits and such are in the wild and infect computers daily. At the moment this novel is fiction, but it could easily become fact in the near future. An excellent read even for those working in IT - the technical details used in the book are correct; they should be - Mark works at Microsoft as a technical fellow! Definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Candidate for the bad sex award, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Day (Kindle Edition)
The premise of the book is good, if a bit frightening, but it is clumsily written and the characters very 2 dimensional. Maybe he needs to do a writing course. The few sex scenes were risible and probably unnecessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A chilling roller coaster ride, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Day (Kindle Edition)
A scary look at what would happen if our over dependent computer and internet based society came under attack. What makes it so chilling is that it could happen. Makes you question how much information one has online and what it's really worth. Highly recommended. And stick your cash under the mattress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Day (Kindle Edition)
This a really good book by a first rate writer. Once I had started reading I found it hard to put down. You know that everything will turn out right and the baddies will lose but it is fascinating to how it all works out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stodgy and two-dimensional., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Day (Kindle Edition)
Russinovich needs to add way more depth to his characters. Would work better as a monograph on computer viruses than an action-adventure. Couldn't even bother to keep with it until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but slightly weak story, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Day (Kindle Edition)
I probably liked this more for the geek in me but it was a quick and easy read which I felt quite compelled to finish and so purchase Trojan Horse, which is better but very similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: Zero Day (Jeff Aiken) (Hardcover)
The quality of the book was great but took longer to arrive than expected.
This is a bit tech heavy so some understanding maybe needed to understand some of the computing concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, and provoking, 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: Zero Day (Jeff Aiken) (Hardcover)
The story line unfolds gradually as the plot thickens, culminating in a gripping action sequence that keeps you enticed right to the end. The characters develop well to make them realistic and interesting, and leaves plenty of room for a followup series.

Whilst this fiction, the possibilities are all too real - especially with several of the news items that have occurred since the launch of this book (Playstation Network, Stuxnet etc.)

Looking forward to a followup to see how deep the rabbit hole goes, and perhaps a Hollywood version?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zero Day (Jeff Aiken)
Zero Day (Jeff Aiken) by Mark E. Russinovich (Hardcover - 4 Jan 2011)
Used & New from: 0.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews