Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Captain's log
Much as I like stories of historic sea warfare, I'm getting addicted to Dewey Lambdin's approach to the genre which spends a lot of time on daily life at sea for 19th Century sailors. In this case, it's Captain Alan Lewrie of the Royal Navy who's assigned to patrol the lower Atlantic Coast of the U.S. in 1804 to engage the French and Spanish navies and take on privateers...
Published 18 months ago by Blue in Washington

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reefs and Shoals
Like all the other readers i was looking forward to this book too, and like others found it disapointing and irritating!

All that has been said about ths so far is correct, but they seem to be far more tollerant of his use of the word "wee" as in the scottish term, he seems to have forgoten words like little, small, tiny and substidtuted wee every time, and...
Published on 9 Feb. 2012 by AJC


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reefs and Shoals, 9 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Reefs and Shoals (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures) (Hardcover)
Like all the other readers i was looking forward to this book too, and like others found it disapointing and irritating!

All that has been said about ths so far is correct, but they seem to be far more tollerant of his use of the word "wee" as in the scottish term, he seems to have forgoten words like little, small, tiny and substidtuted wee every time, and even in "speach" of English gentleman of the time, totaly wrong and inapropriate, i noticed the word appeared in the last book The Invasion year but in reefs and shoals its never ending.

I also noticed errors, ok minor to some, but putting the wrong son in the wrong ship is a big one and some smaller errors too, i remember telling my partner of some at the time of reading The Invasion Year, which has so far been most unlike Dewey Lambdin, its almost like its not Dewey Lambdin thats written the last two books!

I still look forward to the next installment.......with hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reefs and shoals slightly adrift, 13 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Reefs and Shoals (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures) (Hardcover)
I am a fan, a big fan of Lewrie and Mr Lambdin and look forward to each new missive
having read them all more than once, but I got to the end of this one and felt shortchanged, what there was, was good reading but it all ended too soon, about 80 pages too soon. Normally the hero would pursue to the face to face showdown not shoot from 150 yards and then he would go on to rescue the surviving victims.
I thought of two reasons for this, publisher pressure to get it finished or a sudden loss of interest of the author and I fear this may have been his last, hopefully a large tot will reKINDLE his interest and get alan Lewrie back on form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captain's log, 25 Sept. 2013
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Much as I like stories of historic sea warfare, I'm getting addicted to Dewey Lambdin's approach to the genre which spends a lot of time on daily life at sea for 19th Century sailors. In this case, it's Captain Alan Lewrie of the Royal Navy who's assigned to patrol the lower Atlantic Coast of the U.S. in 1804 to engage the French and Spanish navies and take on privateers operating in the area. There are some good action scenes in this book, but the politics and history of the post-revolutionary period in the American South are equally as interesting and entertaining.

"Reefs and Shoals" has fine characters as well, and the dialogues between them are fully credible based on what I know of conversations that I've heard between American military in the modern era e.g. preoccupations with food, the reputations of officers, moving men around within units according to perceived strengths and weaknesses, etc. This writing just rings true.

This was a thoroughly enjoyable book for me and I'm ready to take on more of Lambdin's series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Lewrie does it again., 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reefs and Shoals (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures) (Hardcover)
Dewie Lambdin keeps things fresh and Alan Lewrie brings humour, but also gravitas to the Napoleonic era Navy. I thoroughly recommend this book and that anybody who enjoys this period of world history will also enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars readable and how, 14 April 2013
By 
G. T. Moore "George" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reefs and Shoals (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures) (Hardcover)
If you have not yet read about the doings of Alan Lewrie, and you love historical novels of the sea. Whats keeping you? Dewey Lambdin is one of the best writers of this century for shipboard adventure and intregue, war and excitement. Go and get involved along with Alan Lewrie. It is a tremendous series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lewrie series, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lambdin strikes again, however if our hero does not partake in the Battle of Trafalgar no matter how small a strongly worded letter will be sent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As ever, very good, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good yarn as ever, pace and writing make it an exciting read and very much a page turner as ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sea, 13 Mar. 2015
By 
Scribe (Lymm, Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reefs and Shoals (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures) (Hardcover)
As above, I still like Lambdin..........and his subjects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bargain thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reefs and Shoals (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures)
Reefs and Shoals (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures) by Dewey Lambdin (Hardcover - 17 Jan. 2012)
£16.88
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews