Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars24
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2013
Rodney Alcala is known as "The Dating Game Killer" simply because he appeared on a dating show in the US during the period in which he committed the crimes for which he has been convicted. He actually was chosen by the bachelorette as her date (although she didn't go on the date with him as she thought he was a bit weird), but didn't harm anyone involved in the show. That said, he did immeasurable harm to a number of other women and their families, and it is this story that is told in the book. Stella Sands does an excellent job of telling us not only about Alcala, but about the young women and children he attacked, raped and killed. This is one of the things that makes this book stand out for me. Many books on murderers focus solely on the killers life and give us little insight into the victims. Sands has clearly researched each victim in detail and they come to life on the pages, making you realise what a tragic loss each life was and also what an impact their deaths had on their families and friends. Alcala has been on and off death row in California since 1980, but as the book points out, a proper sentence for an earlier crime may have saved the lives of the women and children he murdered. A fascinating read, but a terrible shame that he was allowed to commit the crimes which have made him infamous.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
This book based on the sick, twisted life of sadist and serial killer rodney alcala is a must for any fan of the true crime genre. The book hits you hard from the word go and cant fail to repulse even hardened true crime readers, im amazed how this seriously disturbed individual isnt more widely known as id heard little of him other than his appearence on the 1978 episode of the dating game which he won although he was already in the midst of his frenzied career as a killer. Probably one of the worst serial killers i have read about due to the dispicable way he killed and posed his victims, especially as some of them were children which can make it hard reading at times (especially for parents). your heart bleeds for the loss of the familys, it is extremely well written and keeps you hooked from the word go and makes you realise just how screwed up the american justice system actually is! Can only be compared to and in my opinion probably worse than ted bundy and richard ramirez if thats possible????? buy buy buy . . . . .
33 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
It must sound awful but this book was really good. It had me hooked from start to finish. Very well written and documented. If you like True Crime you will like this book.

Pauline
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Book in excellent condition.And fast delivery..I couldn't put this book down.very scary and awful to think some people are like that. It's so sad. Those poor girls.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
It was very interesting to find how the murderer escaped detection for so long - certainly also says something about the US legal system!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
I really enjoyed this book,it took u to the scene of the crime explaining in detail what had happened to the person murdered, went deep into the story of the serial killer how they caught him and his court case.Really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Rodney Alcala is one serial killer who is not quite as well known as killers of his era because of the way the crimes he committed were spread and only recently linked in the post DNA era. Whilst the subject matter of this book is quite grisly I found the way the book was written and the way the story was presented quite superb.The book is divided into many chapters some of which are very short but these chapters guide you through the story in a neat coherent manner that makes the whole book quicker and more enjoyable to read.

The crimes described are quite gruesome as Alcala fits the definition of sexual sadist (one other thing I liked about this book is the way it included definitions and explanations of terminology used in criminology), the victims were raped, bludgeoned, strangled and posed in such a manner that faint hearted readers may find the explicit details disturbing ! There is the usual set of pictures accompanying the book but in this case there are no graphic crime scene photos just some tame shots of the killer, victims before they were raped and murdered along with token shots of the prosecutors. All in all this is well written book & those into grisly explicit true crimes will find a lot to take in ....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
This was a long drawn out story and I found it very boring to read. Don't bother wasting money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
First time I had ever read a book of this sort. Very graphic, but also very gripping from the start, but also very sad. I would recommend this book, but I think who ever read's it must have an open mind and be too judgemental, I know it's about a serial killer but it's also about innocent victim's and there families whom are still suffering. I would read more like this book.The Dating Game Killer: The True Story of a TV Dating Show, a Violent Sociopath, and a Series of Brutal Murders (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Very detailed and interesting book and well researched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)