Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect book to snuggle up to on a stormy afternoon
Eking out a living with her widowed father in his art studio on the island of Capri, Favel is swept off her feet by visitor Roc Pendorric and they are married, although her happiness is marred by the sudden death of her father. Upon arrival at Roc's Cornwall estate, Favel learns of the legend of the Brides of Pendorric - married into the family for their money and die...
Published on 6 Jun 2009 by Misfit

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bride of Pendorric
On opening the parcel, I was discussed with the state of the book. It was only fit for the bin.I needed to disinfect my hands after touching it.
Published on 5 Sep 2011 by rosie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect book to snuggle up to on a stormy afternoon, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Misfit (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bride of Pendorric (Paperback)
Eking out a living with her widowed father in his art studio on the island of Capri, Favel is swept off her feet by visitor Roc Pendorric and they are married, although her happiness is marred by the sudden death of her father. Upon arrival at Roc's Cornwall estate, Favel learns of the legend of the Brides of Pendorric - married into the family for their money and die mysterious deaths at a young age and then destined to haunt the halls until another bride dies and takes her place. Not surprisingly, things soon begin to go bump in the night - is it possible that the ghost of Roc's mother really does haunt the home? Is Favel destined to be the next Bride of Pendorric to die and haunt the mansion, or is something more sinister involved?

As Favel begins to experience unusual accidents she begins to wonder about her husband Roc. Did he really fall in love with her or was there an ulterior motive? How did he happen to show up at their studio in Capri? Just a coincidence or did he know her father beforehand? What about the three former lovers of Roc? Do they want Favel out of the way? Or is it Favel's sister or one or her two young daughters? Who is the mysterious wealthy old man in the large estate who takes an uncommon interest in Favel?

Packed with plenty of mystery and intrigue, as well as the appropriate gothic spookiness of Cornwall and those ever present mists (let alone getting locked in that old tomb with all those caskets - yikes!), this tale should keep the reader guessing until the very last page. While Holt isn't quite up to the perfection that is Du Maurier, she's still a gifted storyteller and fans of that classic "romantic suspense" genre might want to check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BRILLIANT READ!, 28 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bride of Pendorric (Paperback)
A brilliant read! You get lost in reading how Favel has to cope with her thoughts of her husband whether or not he is cheating and who is really out there to kill her.There is a curse on the brides of Pendorric where two have previously met tragic deaths.Favel is now a new bride and the curse hangs over her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Read!, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride of Pendorric (Paperback)
Victoria Holt books (writing style) - You either like it or not..... For me, I do like her writing style and the content of her books, as well as the characters. They are all individuals within their own rights. The stories are written in a past time period and reflects a Gothic mystic style, which, in most of her books is connected to some sort of a crime. That is what makes her books sooo enjoyable. It does not get boring. You still need to guess who is the "bad/evil" character in her story-line. The scenery most likely is connected to Cornwall sea and rocks that usually plays a big picture in the mystic entrapment of her stories. What else to say: I liked to read the Bride of Pendoric - it was easy to follow, harder than I imagined to guess the "bad person", mystic and with a hint of romance. All in all, worth reading by anybody who likes this style of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as her "Daughters of England" series!, 16 Oct 2011
I started reading Victoria Holt novels some 30+ years ago and instantly liked her style.
"Lord of the Far Island", "Mistress of Mellyn", "Bride of Pendorric" and "Devil on Horseback" were similarly satisfying reads, but for me the "Daughters of England" series of books (ca. 20 volumes) is unsurpassed.

Victoria Holt wrote "Daughters of England" under her Philippa Carr pseudonym. Volume one (Miracle at St. Bruno's) starts in the 1500's (the closing of the monasteries) and follows the same family through many generations into the 20th century. The first 5 or 6 sequels are especially good and unpredictable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spell binding, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride of Pendorric (Paperback)
Again another classic from such a great writer. I read all her books nearly 2o years ago and I still read them. This one is full of supense, drama and of course romance. There are some creepy moments and this will keep you glued to the end, quite simply brillant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 6 Oct 2001
By A Customer
The two previous brides to come to the house of Pendorric met early deaths. It is believed that a family curse will deal the same blow of fate to the most recent woman to marry into the family. When strange things start to happen to her she almost believes in the supernatural but tries to keep a level head. This is an excellent book which is impossible to put down. I now want to read many more Virginia Holt books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liking it, not loving., 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride of Pendorric (Paperback)
Not my favorite by VH, however good read. Was captivating in general and a must have if you are a fun of her books. Quick delivery and no other issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reprint of an old Gothic Suspense classic from a legendary author., 7 Aug 2009
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bride of Pendorric (Paperback)
Having only been away in a boarding school or on the isle of Capri with her father, Favel Farrington is still innocent in the ways of the world. So when Petroc "Roc" Pendorric shows up, Favel is swept off her feet. It is not long before they are wed. Favel is thrilled to be Roc's wife, but also sad due to the recent death of her father. To help her get passed her father's fatal accident, Roc takes Favel and travels to various romantic cities.

Favel is nervous when she finally arrives at her new home in Cornwall. The Pendorric home is a huge stone mansion with four wings set upon the cliffs of a beautiful beach. Tradition is to keep family members under the same roof, so Favel worries that Roc's family will not like her. Morwenna, Roc's sister, seems to adore Favel immediately. So does Charles, her husband. The couple has preteen twin daughters who are only similar in their outward appearances. Lowella seems bright and hyper. She loves people and is up for challenges. In contrast, Hyson is subdued, reads a lot, and only speaks when she has something meaningful to say. Roc's parents are deceased. His mother, Barbarina, died tragically at a young age. Everyone whispers about an old curse. It is said that the Bride of Pendorric always dies young and then haunts the halls until the next Bride dies and takes over the haunting. The twins totally believe the curse. But everyone else informs Favel that it has simply been a long run of bad luck.

Favel begins to visit their sick and elderly neighbor, Lord Polhorgan. Few actually like Lord Polhorgan, but Favel enjoys his company and their chess games. Visiting the man also lets Favel get away from her new home, where strange accidents have begun to occur. Lately Favel is hearing music and getting glimpses of a lady wearing clothes from a past time. The twins claim it is the ghost of Granny Barbarina. The only time Favel feels safe at home is when Roc is close by her side. But Roc is never around when the accidents and strange events occur. His attitude seems to be changing as well. Often Roc seems to be a total stranger to her. Favel begins to wonder if she really will soon be the next Bride of Pendorric spirit.

**** FOUR STARS! This is a reprint of a Gothic Suspense novel by the legendary author known as Victoria Holt. The story did not hook me instantly. It actually began slow. However, the tension built as the tale progressed and I had no idea if the curse was real or not. Older Gothic stories did not always have happy endings. That fact is what kept me fascinated with the genre when I was a teen. I never knew if the heroine would be okay in the end. The only problem I had with those suspenseful novels was the long-winded narrations. This title is no different in that regard. I found this story to be too slow due to unnecessary explanations, various descriptions with explicit details, and even some reminiscing fluff. But again, this was how Gothic, Romantic Suspense books were written in the past. All-in-all, fans of this talented author and/or of the old, spooky, Gothic tales will be extremely pleased. ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bride of Pendorric, 5 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride of Pendorric (Paperback)
On opening the parcel, I was discussed with the state of the book. It was only fit for the bin.I needed to disinfect my hands after touching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bride of Pendorric
Bride of Pendorric by Victoria Holt (Paperback - 9 Jun 2009)
8.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews