Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£5.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2016
A brilliant follow on to book 1. Angus the lion, disgraced and banished after handing the Butcher of the Highlands over to the English returns in style. He overthrows the current occupants of his childhood home, and claims the daughter for his wife. The oracle/witch he has been living with arrives to stir up trouble. Treachery and treason runs amok, but who can Angus trust? Another fantastic tale from Ms Maclean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
I really enjoyed this book better than book one. I liked the characters more and loved the twists and turns. The book followed a different format to one and although I loved book one this one was better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
Captured in a surprise attack on her fathers castle ,Gwendolen is forced to marry the battle weary warlord Angus Macdonald in a bid to unite the waring clans.What she does not bargain for is to fall in love with her conquerer,until an event occurs which causes Angus to doubt his new wifes loyalty.I could not put this book down,a real page turner.I had read the first book"Captured by the Highlander"which is equally as good,i highly recommend both books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
The plot is about Angus the Lion, (The friend who betrayed the Butcher in vol 1 - Captured by the Highlander) Angus is a highland laird who attacks and reclaims his fathers castle (Kinlock Castle) in 1718 a love hate romance develops between Gwendolyn of the MacEwen clan who now lives in the castle, after her deceased father captured it from the MacDonalds, and Angus MacDonald (The Lion) who reclaims it. I was expecting the similar rough highland living and sword fighting scenes, and military strategy as in vol 1, but I found this book to be mainly a romance novel, which I would normally not purchase. However once I had been captivated by the authors description of the main characters I could not put this book down. Would I read this book again? Yes most certainly that is why I am giving it 5 Stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
This story begins in 1718, 2 years after the first book, Captured by the Highlander. Angus Bradach Macdonald aka The Lion, arrives at Kinloch Castle with an army to reclaim his home that was stolen from his family. Gwendolen MacEwen and her clan now occupy Kinloch. In the absence of her brother, the laird, she orders her clan to defend themselves. But they are no match for the Lion. He orders whoever still lives to pledge allegiance to him or leave now. He then declares that he will marry Gwendolen and unite their clans. Gwendolen is outraged at being forced, but the Lion has no time for sentiments. Over time, she begins to have feelings for him, and just when she thinks she's softened his heart, Angus turns cold again. His former lover, Raoinaid, an oracle who can see the future, arrives at Kinloch. Gwendolen is jealous and Raionaid isn't happy he's married. Raionaid tells Angus that Gwendolen will be responsible for his death. Angus believes her, since she's already predicted so many things, but Gwendolen is adamant she loves him and wouldn't betray him. For some time, it's believed Gwendolen's brother, Murdoch MacEwen, is dead, but then he reappears. She is happy, but tells him she wants peace. However, Murdoch is having none of it, and uses Gwendolen in his war against Angus. At first, Angus believes Gwendolen was aware of her role in his plot, but Gwendolen must convince Angus of the truth, even if it means betraying her own clan.

Overall, the book is good. However, the first book was much better. I'm looking forward to book 3, with the story of Lachlan, Angus' cousin.

3/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Brilliant series and very good fast moving, lots of hunky heroes, strong women, romance with a bit of Scottish history thrown in hence the five starsm I would recommend this book to everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
I normally read vampire and werewolf books however i have read two books in the series and have enjoyed them so much can't wait to read the next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
A good read that has you hooked from the start. The historical element is great. A must read for any one that like romantic novels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
arrived in good condition, nice read, not a book to send you to sleep
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
enjoyed this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.