Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really very good......
The first genuine Coonts for some time, the cloned ones don't count. This reprises the characters of Tommy Carmellini and Jake Grafton (lamely 'brought out of retirement') in a highly feasible tale of an attempt by Al Qaeda to assassinate all of the world leaders present at the recent G8 summit. Superbly written in both third person and first person from Carmellini's...
Published on 15 Aug 2006 by John Richard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars When in retirement, stay there.
I bought this book because I've also ordered 'The Assassin', the follow-on from 'The Traitor'. I'm beginning to wonder if I should cancel it!

It's not badly written by any means, it's just that it flags. Rather like retirement, things take longer to achieve and I feel the author has dropped into the retirement zone (rather like his hero, Admiral Grafton) and...
Published on 12 Aug 2008 by Michael Watson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfyingly Implausible, 17 Oct 2006
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Traitor (Hardcover)
Traitor is the latest in Stephen Coonts' on-going series of book starring Jake Grafton that started with Flight of the Intruder, set back during the Vietnam War. With Traitor set today that means that Grafton, by now a retired Admiral, is well into his fifties as the book opens.

Sensibly therefore, Coonts' has reenlisted the help of Tommy Carmellini, on-time thief turned intelligence agent, to whom he gave a more prominent role in his last book. Obviously realising that Grafton is now too old to be getting involved in much physical action, Coonts uses Carmellini as a surrogate to the Admiral when running, jumping or fighting is required. Grafton meanwhile remains the brains of the operation, directing the troops as the plot develops. This set-up works well, and the two leads play nicely off each other, ably supported by minor characters including Callie Grafton, Jake's wife.

Its therefore a pity that such clever use of characters to maintain a series are tied to a plot that doesn't quite past muster. Its not terrible; there are the prerequisite twists and turns and crosses and double-crosses that you would expect from an espionage thriller. There is also a nicely old-fashioned feel to events, with not to much deus ex machina reliance on whizz bang technology to save the day. Overall however, the central story doesn't really satisfy.

Its hard to explain why this is the case without revealing plot twists, but suffice to say the the motivation of the titular 'Traitor' simply doesn't feel believable. Coonts tries to provide background details to justify the person's actions but they don't ever ring true. Furthermore it is impossible to believe that the individual in question could ever have acted in the way they had for so long without discovery.

Together these are flaws in the plot undermine the rest of what is essentially an enjoyable book and left this reader feeling dissatisfied by the end. So, its a welcome return for the Jake and Tommy double act. Its just a pity that they aren't bettered served by a story worthy of their collective talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really very good......, 15 Aug 2006
By 
John Richard "camban99" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traitor (Hardcover)
The first genuine Coonts for some time, the cloned ones don't count. This reprises the characters of Tommy Carmellini and Jake Grafton (lamely 'brought out of retirement') in a highly feasible tale of an attempt by Al Qaeda to assassinate all of the world leaders present at the recent G8 summit. Superbly written in both third person and first person from Carmellini's point of view. Really very good, keeps you interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For Kindle, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as part of a series to re read on my Kindle. I had bought the book a few years ago in paperback and wanted to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 7 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Traitor (Paperback)
Not awesome , not in the league of "Kardinal of the Kremlin" but not bad either... fast paced, the plot is more than okay... a good read altogether...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars When in retirement, stay there., 12 Aug 2008
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because I've also ordered 'The Assassin', the follow-on from 'The Traitor'. I'm beginning to wonder if I should cancel it!

It's not badly written by any means, it's just that it flags. Rather like retirement, things take longer to achieve and I feel the author has dropped into the retirement zone (rather like his hero, Admiral Grafton) and forgotten to tell us.

The plot - well, if you read these books the plot is not the major pull. Usually, it's the action and the characters and Coonts can normally be relied upon to involve the reader on every page.

Not this one (reader and book). It's slow, it's good in parts but it's only okay elsewhere. I really do hope the follow-on makes a serious attempt to involve the reader again, otherwise, unless the author brings in new characters, I, for one, shall be turning to his successors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, 23 Jun 2007
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly this is another case of a author with talent not delivering. I really enjoyed his earlier books, but the characters have run their course. Here we have Admiral Grafton as a security chief for the US in Paris supported by cheerful thief Carmellini. The pair try to sort out who the bad guys are in time to prevent an attack on a G8 summit held in Paris. My main issue is that there is little tension and it is (sadly) more then a little boring.

Like many current authors, Coonts needs to ditch his stock of characters and invent some new ones and get back to writing the thrillers we know he can deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 14 Jun 2007
This review is from: Traitor (Hardcover)
Dont bother, weak unbelievable plot, and nothing more than an action movie written down.

Weak characters, cheesy depictions of actions scenes (might as well watch vin diesel), crap ending. The only reason i kept reading was that i figured it must improve at some point. It didn't!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa65df474)

This product

The Traitor: (Tommy Carmellini Novels)
The Traitor: (Tommy Carmellini Novels) by Stephen Coonts (Hardcover - 27 Jun 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews