Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great gift for oneself or a female friend
It doesn't change a person into complete archetypal "French chick" overnight. What it does is that the author extracts the valuable and positive aspects found in the French girls she encountered and crystallizes her observations into clear points to help oneself live a more positive and beautiful life. A pretty little book about how to enjoy living and love the woman you...
Published on 19 Dec 2003 by R. van Tonder

versus
78 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The usual French stereotype
My origin is half French, I spend most of my time in France and my best friends are either French or Swiss French. At first I was shocked to discover how very French I actually turn out to be as described in the book, and how the traditions and values that I've been bequeathed are very French too. But then the word "archetypal" is mentioned in the proloque and...
Published on 16 Nov 2005 by Carol H.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great gift for oneself or a female friend, 19 Dec 2003
By 
It doesn't change a person into complete archetypal "French chick" overnight. What it does is that the author extracts the valuable and positive aspects found in the French girls she encountered and crystallizes her observations into clear points to help oneself live a more positive and beautiful life. A pretty little book about how to enjoy living and love the woman you are. Easy to understand, with many helpful little anecdotes and recommendations (french films/books) for those who would like to go a bit more in-depth into the points that the book makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars La Vie en Rose-tinted lunettes, 26 July 2005
By 
Lulu (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Entre Nous: A Woman's Guide to Finding Her Inner French Girl (Paperback)
A generous and graceful tribute from an American girl to her French friends. Ms Ollivier wants us to celebrate the very best of French style, poise and worldliness and gives us examples of their best exponents. She tactfully minimises the less enchanting aspects of everyday French life, such as flowery wallpaper on every possible surface including doors, truly dreadful plumbing, and habitual irritability. Instead she praises French fashion, both the classic variety and its quirkier offshoots, suggests some very good films to watch, books to read and food to eat (and, of course, cook), and gives us a sensitive insight into national attitudes to life and love. The result is a delight for anyone who enjoys France. But do read Madame Dariaux first - Elegance or Men or both - for the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The usual French stereotype, 16 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entre Nous: A Woman's Guide to Finding Her Inner French Girl (Paperback)
My origin is half French, I spend most of my time in France and my best friends are either French or Swiss French. At first I was shocked to discover how very French I actually turn out to be as described in the book, and how the traditions and values that I've been bequeathed are very French too. But then the word "archetypal" is mentioned in the proloque and you'd better bear in mind all throughout your reading that this book is more about the ideal French woman and how to bring out the archetypal French woman in you rather than a description of what French women actually are like. Though many of my friends and acquaintances fit into the French girl description, I know scores of French women who are nosey, frumpy, tacky and gauche as anybody under the sun. Especially if you've never been to France, don't be misled: this book is full of the typical prejudices and stereotypes about the French women as seen through the gawking eyes of the American outsider who thinks the grass is always greener in Gaulle. There are also some mistakes in the book, like ascribing Madame de Pompadour as Louis XIV's lover (she was Louis XV's) and the fact that other women reviewed as favourite French girls (Anaïs Nin, Catherine de Medici, Marie Antoinette or Pauline de Rothschild) are not even French. Anyway, the book makes interesting beach reading. The prose is feisty, fast-paced and you'll find the book hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is fantastic!, 12 Mar 2007
By 
Ms. D. C. Williams "Diana" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Entre Nous: A Woman's Guide to Finding Her Inner French Girl (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book, it is really very good, it gives you lots of tips about how to be stylish whilst still being your own person. It advises on etiquiette in most situations that will also lead you seamlessley through life in England.

It advises you about how to keep slim and yet enjoy life. How to be stylish and yet keep things simple. It has one quote that is really therapy for the soul "work is what you do, it does not define you".

I would recommend it to anyone, I read it in 4 days but that is because it is hard to put down! It is excellent value, my Mum and sister have queued up to read it next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Transplant's Review, 29 July 2012
By 
Bonnie (Paris,France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entre Nous: A Woman's Guide to Finding Her Inner French Girl (Paperback)
I moved to Paris in April, and found that so many things are different here. I am not just speaking of the langage. In this book- chapter one starts the understanding, if you really want to understand why American & French women are so different.

This book breaks down some basis ground rules - and explains the history and background - and sometimes even gives you a laugh in doing so. Also, added are great tips to watch some movies to help, and some powerful french women to give you additional background.(like Coco)

I read this while gong to work( and the author was on the target on this topic too), and highlighted many passages. This book helped me understand- French women do not hate American women, they just see us in a different light ..

In closing- I think, this small but good book, is a must read for anyone, who wants to understand and grow as a person- to engage in a higher standard of living ..because that is what it comes down to in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not all French girls are like this, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: Entre Nous: A Woman's Guide to Finding Her Inner French Girl (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading the book and it was fun to see that I have lots in common with the French girl described in the book. It's perhaps due to me growing up in a family with French culture influences. We are from a French-speaking island in the Caribbean.
The French girl described in the book exists but not all French girls are like this.
So, I read this book as a guide to another way of living but not as a description of all French girls.

It's a fun read! I passed it on to my French friend and will ask her what she thinks of it once she is done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Useful if you are american, 26 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Entre Nous: A Woman's Guide to Finding Her Inner French Girl (Paperback)
The author of the book is american - and yes it makes a difference.

An awful lot of her "observations" are about europeans: the history, travel etc. Still more of her "thoughts" are very stylised: all french women come from chateux in the country and have tiny but beautiful apartments overlooking the Champs Elyses.

I thought that two lipsticks was a much better read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of sister to sister girl power, 13 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Entre Nous: A Woman's Guide to Finding Her Inner French Girl (Paperback)
I read this in a few nights and loved it. I felt like it was a great girly chat with a female friend. A little bit of gossip a chat about fashion and beauty. Wash it all down with a sense of humour. Nothing to fear or get uptight about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and refreshing, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So easy to read yet quite a lot of information in an interesting way. Book is also in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entre Nous: A Woman's Guide to Finding Her Inner French Girl (Paperback)
Excellent read, if had time, would read in one sitting. Very good writing style, many recommendations, books and films suggested to watch, great insight into French culture. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Entre Nous: A Woman's Guide to Finding Her Inner French Girl
Entre Nous: A Woman's Guide to Finding Her Inner French Girl by Debra Ollivier (Paperback - May 2004)
8.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews