Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be Jewish to kvetch, 12 May 2009
By 
L. Novello-davies (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born to Kvetch (P.S.) (Paperback)
I fell in love with this book from the first to the last page. The use of Jewish humour is subtle and plays on words. This book by Michael Wex gives insight into Yiddish in all its moods. Yiddish began to develop as the Jews moved across europe and this book give the meanings of expressions, used in all walks of life. Religion, Curses, Misery,and money , Courtship and Marriage, The whole gambit ot life and even death. In this book there is humour even in the end of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great wisdom, 13 Feb. 2011
If you ever wanted to spell a shrug and make it last a hundred pages or more, this is the book for you. Outsiders say we complain and moan. We don't and this book explains it all, slowly and clearly. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kvetch this b& Kvetch that....., 13 April 2010
By 
Mr. C. J. Pyott (manchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great gift book and a great book to lewrn form yourself too, i loved it and keep i on the dining table now, its brought so many smiles and we all have learned form it too.... its a great discussion topic too.... delving into our own delths and seeing what lies below....lol. Do get it.... then you can thank me..... ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'German for blasphemers', 18 Mar. 2013
This is an education. Unlike Leo Rosten's classic Joys of Yiddish or Maurice Samuel's altogether more austere little tome In Praise of Yiddish, here we get to see the mame-loshn's subversive side. It's not comprehensive - you won't find kochleffl, for instance - but the very first word we meet is aftselachis (out of spite), not one deployed by the jovial Rosten. He was all about Yiddish-in-English; Wex is firmly in the old country. Yiddish, he cheekily suggests, was the original jive [talk]; more chillingly, he invites us to see it as Hebrew, 'the linguistic equivalent of the Undead', taking over German's living body. '[T]hen came the Drang nach Osten'!! This is as linguistically satisfying as it is funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oy was I thirsty!, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following a trip to Israel I wanted to learn more and this is a fantastic introduction to Yiddish culture. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent service all round, packaging, delivery all spot on and the book is enlightening, entertaining......and good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never really understood about kvetching until I read Michael book. A masterpiece of trivia and yiddishkeit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born to Kvetch: Yiddish Language and Culture in All Its Moods
Born to Kvetch: Yiddish Language and Culture in All Its Moods by Michael Wex (Hardcover - 25 Aug. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews