Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Raisin and the Perfect Paragon
This is a really enjoyable read which is hard to put down.

If you have read other books in the series you will probably enjoy it as much as I did, but if you've never ready an Aggy Raisin book there is still enough information included to get you up to speed on who everyone is.

This is way up on my list of favourites within the series.
Published on 30 July 2006 by Mrs. C. Rogers

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More characters, less plot, no interest
Unfortunetly what was once a good series of stories has dipped with the publication of the last two stories - coincidencing with a change of emphasis in the plotline.

Out as gone the bitchy amatuer Agatha and the well developed characters to be replaced with an Agatha who now cares about peoples feelings. For regular readers of the books, they will know that...
Published on 1 Aug 2008 by R. Lowther


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Raisin and the Perfect Paragon, 30 July 2006
By 
Mrs. C. Rogers "KT" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a really enjoyable read which is hard to put down.

If you have read other books in the series you will probably enjoy it as much as I did, but if you've never ready an Aggy Raisin book there is still enough information included to get you up to speed on who everyone is.

This is way up on my list of favourites within the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Paragon..... Perfect Book!, 7 April 2009
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Another fantastic adventure, full of fun, sarcasm, hilarity and clumsiness that sums up Agatha Raisin and her crime solving ways!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern day story of jealousy and murder...it's all in a days work for Agatha, 19 Nov 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Like others who have read M C Beaton's stories of Agatha Raisin I too have become hooked on the character and plots so much so that I am listening to all of the dramatised versions put out by AudioGo at the same time as reading the books. I have enjoyed this one just as much as the others and I have to admit to not reading them in any particular order. I like the stories because there are plenty of well drawn characters and the plots move with pace and there is always going to be more than one investigation underway at a time. Agatha can be annoying but then I have met and worked with many like her and they always have a heart of gold underneath all the bluster. This story was well developed and there were plenty of twists and turns and I liked the way Agatha kept upstaging Inspector Wilkes. The new recruit Harry seems to have fitted in well and it is the introduction of new characters and the believable departure of others that makes the plots work. But now James Lacey has knocked at the door...what next. I cannot wait to start reading another story of Agatha Raisin and her investigations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Paragon - Agatha Raisin, 30 Mar 2009
By 
M. Williams "Maureen Williams" (Browns Wood Milton Keynes, Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another good read - this is the 6th book I have read in the series which are all easy to get into and follow a similar theme - ideal holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agatha's Detective Agency Deepens Its Capabilities, 3 Oct 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Perfect Paragon (Agatha Raisin Mysteries) (Hardcover)
Although this is the 16th mystery in the Agatha Raisin series, you could enjoy this book as a stand-alone if you don't want to go back. Of those earlier books, I do especially recommend the first one, Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death.

Agatha Raisin had a rough start to her detective agency in The Deadly Dance. She learned she didn't really know all that much about detecting, that getting and keeping good help are hard, and that the police don't like amateur detectives who set up agencies any more than they like amateur detectives.

As The Perfect Paragon opens, the detective business is operating more smmothly . . . if only there were more business to operate. The money is in divorces, but Agatha has tried to avoid those cases due to having been recently divorced. But when business is slow, she agrees to check on Robert Smedley's wife, Mabel, who has shown an unusual (for her) tendency to act independently of her husband. Who is she buying those new clothes for? At the same time, Agatha has the usual run of missing teenagers and dogs where she normally makes good progress.

Agatha's agency soon makes a hash of the Smedley assignment, and after that she's off the case for other reasons. When a missing teenager turns out to be a murder victim, the obvious suspects seem to be unlikely killers, and Agatha is at a loss to figure out what happened . . . until Mrs. Bloxby gives her a hint as to motive. Before the story is over, crimes are spilling out in all directions.

Agatha adds a new staff member who brings some pizzazz to Agatha's investigations, and Agatha gets occasional help from her old detective partner, Sir Charles Fraith. Being as insensitive as ever to others, she virtually destroys her relationship with Bill Wong in the process of trying to find the killer and accept Bill's hospitality.

The story has a few weaknesses that are unfortunate: The investigation is turned into more of a circus than is really needed to make a good story, agency people make more dumb mistakes than seem likely, and there are a few too many coincidences in how the key facts are turned up.

The actual mystery is better developed and hidden than in many earlier books. And Agatha mostly avoids being her most annoying self.

I think these detective-agency cases will be the saving of this series, even though M. C. Beaton couldn't resist having Agatha fall for yet another handsome man.

Consider all the circumstances if you want to get at the truth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More characters, less plot, no interest, 1 Aug 2008
By 
R. Lowther - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Unfortunetly what was once a good series of stories has dipped with the publication of the last two stories - coincidencing with a change of emphasis in the plotline.

Out as gone the bitchy amatuer Agatha and the well developed characters to be replaced with an Agatha who now cares about peoples feelings. For regular readers of the books, they will know that Agatha is not one for mellowing.

The characters which now surround her are at best poorly developed and are just too good to be true. Any obstacle is now easily overcome, any guess now becomes a fact and with it, the interest has vanished.

There is a chance to turn around the padded out plots with book 17 but I doubt we will see it happen. Much the pity, for there is a great character here which is being poorly utilised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M C Beaton, 17 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all M C Beatons Agatha Raisen books the author has a wicked sense of humour and twists to the plot which keep me avidly reading to the end. I also get a few good laughs out of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book it made me laugh as well as being a good story Agatha Raisin is not perfect and that's what makes her believable would recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chugs along, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one, to me, felt slightly more "realistic" than the last couple in the series if you can forgive the couple of inspirational moments that, coincidentally, move the story along.

Some new characters which is good but occasionally a little muddled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Perfect Paragon (Agatha Raisin Mysteries)
The Perfect Paragon (Agatha Raisin Mysteries) by M. C. Beaton (Hardcover - Aug 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews