Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Funniest thing you'll read.
I bought this book on one of my many wanders through Amazon largely because of the title. The absurdity of the premise that somebody would hitch hike around Ireland with a fridge, touched the maverick side of me and so I bought it.
Simply, it is one of the funniest books you'll read. It combines the day to day adventures of Tony along with the ridiculous situations...
Published on 2 May 2001 by R. Montalto

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Contrived
Tony Hawks tells a tale that he was fulfilling a drunken bet by hitch-hiking around Ireland with a fridge. The more prosaic truth is that he wanted to do a comedy travelogue and thought it would only be saleable if he had a gimmick. Hence the fridge. This is a very commercial, cynical and contrived narrative that is jam-packed with cliches and stereotypes. If you're a fan...
Published 6 months ago by MisterHobgoblin


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Funniest thing you'll read., 2 May 2001
By 
R. Montalto "rob@montalto.co.uk" (Loughton, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book on one of my many wanders through Amazon largely because of the title. The absurdity of the premise that somebody would hitch hike around Ireland with a fridge, touched the maverick side of me and so I bought it.
Simply, it is one of the funniest books you'll read. It combines the day to day adventures of Tony along with the ridiculous situations that he finds himself in. The reaction of the Irish people that he comes across is irrational and typical at the same time. It is very laugh-out-loud funny as well as touching and moving, acting as a metaphor for life - and all written brilliantly.
If you're reading this review it means that you want persuading before you commit to buying the book. Then do yourself a favour and take the punt and stick it in your basket. You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me want to travel too - Around Wales with a Hoover???, 15 July 2001
By A Customer
I'm not sure how many times I've read this book over, but it never fails to make me laugh. I think in part it is because it supports my own experiences of travelling in Ireland - though sans refrigerator - and brings back a lot of warm memories... though not of the weather; like Tony Hawks, my first experience of Irish weather was opening my curtains to sheeting rain! Still, you don't go to Ireland for the weather, you go for the Guinness and the craic (not to mention the scenery, the music, the people, the change of pace...). It's been too long, it makes me want to go back, but if I can't get there, this is the next best thing for me. Incidentaly, one tip for travellers that he (not surprisingly) fails to mention is that if you visit a pub in Ireland, only order pints (or more if possible) - halves are charged at almost the same price in a lot of places. It just doesn't seem to be done! It's an inspiring read - it proves that with sufficient bloody-mindedness, and the backing of a whole country (!), anything is possible. I found the book a refreshingly honest and entertaining read. Tony Hawks's style is naturalistic and at times unpolished, but I don't think that detracts in any way. In fact, it reminds you that basically he's a pretty ordinary bloke on a pretty ridiculous journey with a somewhat misplaced piece of kitchen equipment - and that's the story he's trying to tell, after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought it at Heathrow, didn't put it down until New York, 24 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This should keep you turning pages happily on an aeroplane. Basically, Tony Hawks hitched around Ireland with a small fridge on a trolley, updated Irish radio listeners on a local programme and came up with one of the best travel books (or books full stop) I've read all year. He's likeable the way Bill Bryson is likeable, and it's laugh out loud the way not many writers are. The only thing I didn't like about this book was the graffiti some tosser had written on the side of the fridge - yuck. Otherwise, warm, wonderfully written, bloody hilarious. All the good things. Only in Ireland...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the book and laugh out loud from cover to cover!, 28 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Read the reviews and bought the book. How anyone can give this book a bad review, I don't know. Once I started it and began laughing just from the introduction; as well as driving my wife mad with my laughing, I couldn't put it down.
Tony Hawles, despite being on the telly, seems to be a regular sort of guy doing something particularly stupid and the people of Ireland warming to him and vice versa. There is humour, heartbreak and even sex in a dog kennel!
Wary of many people cashing in on dreamed up ventures, Tony Hawkes is not one of them and there appears to be genuine warmth and writing from the heart throughout the book. A happy tale and an absolutely superb read. BUY BUY BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fridge Magnate, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Being a fan of Dave Gorman and Danny Wallace I felt it about time to go back and read the book that seemed to start the silly bet genre, `Round Ireland With a Fridge'. In this book Tony Hawks describes how for a 100 he bet he could hitchhike around the cost of Ireland with only a fridge for company along the way meeting the great people of the country. This type of book succeeds or fails in two areas - the idea and the narrator. As an idea, hike hiking with a fridge, is a good one, and luckily Hawks is an amiable story teller (as his blagging on the journey suggests). The book does not have as many laugh out loud moments as Wallace's work, but it does seem slightly more intelligent. As usual the moral of the book is less about the task itself, but the people who Tony met on the way.

In this case there are plenty of nice people, and plenty of eccentric people, who Tony meets. Although light the book did feel truthful and there did not appear to be any obvious lies. One area I found a little discomforting was Hawks' preoccupation with sex on occasion. Admittedly he is a single man on his travels, but he falls in and out of lust several times on the trip. This animal need is not an area that the likes of Gorman or Wallace have in their books and I think that's a good thing as it does add a tinge of the macabre to an otherwise light book.

As the one of the earliest silly bet books `Fridge' is good, but does suffer from being so early. Other authors were able to look at this book and evolve it slightly with better contained narratives and more interesting bets. However, it was a pleasant read and I am sure that the later books by Hawks only grow in stature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!!!!, 7 Dec 2005
By 
If you do not find this book funny you are dead inside!! This is no ordinary travel book as it captures the national psyche of the Irish; their love of the absurd and their celebration of it. In some ways it was even funnier than the excellent McCarthy's bar. It was definetly made me laugh aloud a few times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary, 10 April 2005
By A Customer
I was a little sceptical of this book at first, mainly because of the title, but after reading the first few pages I was gripped. Tony Hawkes uses a novel way of writing which will keep you smiling throughout.
He starts his journey around Ireland with a fridge in an attempt to win a bet. On his way he meets a cluster of characters who are typically Irish in nature.
The whole book is filled with laughs. Although sometimes the story can be a little repetitive in parts it still manages to maintain the humour throughout. It's a classic that will leave you sad to see the final page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel with a sense of humour, 9 Sep 2003
I love people who have stupid ideas. I just adore those people who not only have stupid ideas, but actually make them reality. Tony Hawks is one of that last kind. Completely drunk he agrees to a bet to travel around Ireland with a fridge. Hitchhiking that is. If he wins, he gets 100 pounds, the fridge only cost him 130, which makes the bet even more ridiculous. But he agreed to do it, so he went.
This book is an hilarious account of what happened when he travelled through the country. The fridge and Tony become good mates, the little machine even gets a name, gets baptised, learns how to surf and plenty of other things. Tony himself is being dubbed the Fridge Man and becomes somewhat of a hero, with the backing of a local radio show who announces his plans for the day and sends people to help him everywhere. And so he does get help everywhere. Cabdrivers take him to the edge of town, bed and breakfast places offer him free lodging and most pubs are full of people offering the fridge man a beer. Or two. Or twenty seven.
Obviously he manages to win the bet, not a surprise. I wouldn't have written a book about the whole story had I lost the bet. The only disadvantage of the book is that after a while things become fairly predicatable. More beer, another radio interview and another free bed someplace new. Still, I rushed through it and read it in a day or so. Great book, funny story, brilliant characters. I guess I have to buy his next book as well now, where he manages to play tennis against the whole Moldavian football team. Anybody for another stupid bet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laughter all the way with this hilariously silly journey!, 12 May 1999
By A Customer
Tony Hawks has hit on something special here. Without wanting to sound cliched, this book definitely made me 'laugh out loud'. The whole dynamic of the book rests on the difference between the English and the Irish cultures. It certainly makes us English view ouselves for what we are. Tony Hawks transfers his excellent talent for comedy on to the printed page with ease, and has a sharp eye for character detail, so much so that I found myself really identifying with the characters he meets on his journey. In fact you get so seriously engrossed in the highs and lows of this expedition, that you tend to forget it is a story about a man hitchhiking with a fridge. However absurd the idea, it really doesn't matter. If you can handle bursting into uncontrollable laughter each time you pick this book up, then buy it. A hitchhike has never been so interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hilariously ridiculous adventure, 2 Aug 2002
By 
T. Potten "chettle265" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tony Hawks is the type of comedian who these days is something of a rarity - that is to say he has genuine wit.
In his writing, Hawks is at his comic best when describing the events we have all gone through - in particular trying to fit 500 things in a rucksack brings about an amusing tale of 'how to swear at a rucksack', and how to give it a jolly good kicking when it doesn't do what it's told.
The ridiculous nature of Hawks' adventure sees him achieve national status in Ireland as the 'Fridge Man', as he galavants round Ireland hitchhiking with a fridge. Strange though this sounds, Hawks does his best to explain away why he does this in the opening chapters, by citing absurd feats from the Guiness Book of Records - again a place where chortling comes in abundance.
Among the hilarities, there are a few occasions where Hawks has a truly descriptive style of what lies in Ireland and the beauty of the surroundings. He romanticises it enough to convince the reader that he thoroughly enjoyed travelling the breadth of Ireland with a domestic appliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Round Ireland with a Fridge
Round Ireland with a Fridge by Tony Hawks (Paperback - Feb 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews