Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works!
Lieberman is excellent in providing a highly practical 'manual' for dealing effectively with a range of situations where you want someone to do something. Excellent are the chapter summary bullets, succinct points which you can follow very easily. My interest is on the sales/ client servicing/ advice side where you can address client concerns. For those with a more...
Published on 6 Jun 2003 by patpr

versus
63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scripted How to Win Friends and Influence People
This is a derivative work with script added that builds on the psychological research of others. That approach can be beneficial, as long as you color between the lines.
Lieberman promises you the moon. "This book contains only specific psychological tactics governing human behavior that will let you outsmart, outthink, and out maneuver . . . anyone, any place,...
Published on 24 May 2004 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scripted How to Win Friends and Influence People, 24 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This is a derivative work with script added that builds on the psychological research of others. That approach can be beneficial, as long as you color between the lines.
Lieberman promises you the moon. "This book contains only specific psychological tactics governing human behavior that will let you outsmart, outthink, and out maneuver . . . anyone, any place, anytime." After reading the book, I beg to differ. No book, and not this one, can do that much.
If you are familiar with neuro-linguistic programming, Tony Robbins' work, and Robert Cialdini's work (Influence), you will find almost nothing new here.
As usual, I watched closely to see what Lieberman would have to say about manipulation. His strongest argument is that everyone wants to help everyone else, and you are just making it easier for them to help you. Hmmm! Are you persuaded? If you are, rate the book a little higher.
I thought several of the scripts were flawed, but many were quite good. The main problem related to being manipulative. But each of us has our own standards. If you are an unethical person looking to take advantage of someone, the methods in this book would often work all right for you.
Frankly, I prefer the more balanced approach of Stephen Covey and Robert Cialdini in addressing when and where psychological tools can and should be used.
The book is well done for what it is. If you don't share my concern about manipulation, be sure to read it. If you fear being manipulated, then be doubly sure to read it. Someone is bound to use these scripts on you at some time or other. Reading the book will be a good vaccine. Then you can resist what is truly not in your favor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works!, 6 Jun 2003
This review is from: Get Anyone to Do Anything (Paperback)
Lieberman is excellent in providing a highly practical 'manual' for dealing effectively with a range of situations where you want someone to do something. Excellent are the chapter summary bullets, succinct points which you can follow very easily. My interest is on the sales/ client servicing/ advice side where you can address client concerns. For those with a more extensive backgound in NLP sales, Sales Process Engineering and other disciplines, it's a very useful tool and reminder of key issues which you can incorporate in your sales strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 11 Jan 2003
This review is from: Get Anyone to Do Anything (Paperback)
A good book with loads of ways to influence people and lead them to your way of thinking. The problem is that it can be quite difficult to actually apply some of the information. Still it would be impossible to teach someone to control everyone in just one small book.
The book is very easy to read and most of the strategies are fairly simple to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesing, 5 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Get Anyone to Do Anything (Paperback)
Being a fan of DJLieberman, and having read all his other books and NEVER BE LIED TO AGAIN, this looked to be another of his entertaining books. It was very interesting and interesting thinking behind the methods of application to always get the upper hand in almost every situation. Similar to his previous book (Never be lied to Again). The criticism i have is that they are quite hard to put into practice in everyday situations.
If you are interested in this book you should also buy NOELLE NELSON's book "WINNING!:USING LAWYERS' COURTROOM TECHNIQUES TO GET YOUR WAY IN EVERYDAY SITUATIONS" - you can buy it at Amazon and its techniques are much more easier to put into play in everyday situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shady, Sketchy, And No Real Proof., 23 Nov 2003
By 
Sami Ghanem (Nottingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Well, the title is highly deceptive. It isn't as powerfull as it claims to be, however, it makes people more likely to comply with you. I would have preferred referances to the so called psychological facts, and not just the word of the author. It does help in a lot of situations, just don't be expecting blind following and submission by all people in your life. The writer likes to generalise about people, and he seems to forget that we all have individual personalities, and no matter how many psychological techniques we use, people will just do what they want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Anyone to Do Anything, 22 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Anyone to Do Anything (Paperback)
This book is broken down is to short sections that give you easy to understand non technical advice. Everything in this book that I have used worked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get anyone to lose everything, 13 July 2011
By 
B. Van Langen (the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Anyone to Do Anything (Paperback)
On the positive side, the book is an easy read and I find myself flying through the pages. It certainly amuses me to some degree, though probably not for the right reasons.

No, the shallow and manipulative "tactics" and "overall strategy" will probably scare people away from you rather than turn you into some sort of magnet of attraction. For example, if I understand Mr Lieberman correctly, it's a great idea to give friends a sense of obligation and to speak to their conscience to make sure that they don't back out of a commitment - wouldn't you agree?

To me, this book seems to be a guide to manipulating people, packaged in such a way that it seems as if it's written to prevent you from being manipulated. Sure, I guess it works both ways, but some of the "tactics" prescribed would definitely not sit well with me if I employed them against my friends. The tips and tricks often seem more harmful than helpful in a sincere friendship.

I would also have liked to see more references to actual research that has been performed to back up the statements that are brought forth as facts. When an author claims to hold the absolute truth to things that apply to the whole of humanity, he'd better be able to back it up. 9 out of 10 times, the author of this book unfortunately expects us to take whatever he writes as the truth without further clarification or references.

In conclusion, I don't find this book worth my time - at all. With the great wealth of non-fiction books out there, I'd say there are definitely more interesting choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to life !, 11 Sep 2000
I bought this book with a certain amount of Scepticism. I read the preface and had a feeling that the title didn't realy do it much justice. I was right ! The book is presented in sections and each section contains a bite sized chapter on each topic. It makes very easy reading and also makes total sense. It is so close to the mark that a great deal of it is blatently obvious, but just outside of conscious thought patterns. Being made aware of the obvious tends to put you very much in the driving seat of your destiny though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 8 Oct 2011
By 
J. R. Thomas (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Anyone to Do Anything (Paperback)
The title may be a bit misleading and is more of a come on to buy the book! However there are some interesting tips among the obvious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 15 July 2004
By 
C. Street "cstreet_1986" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Anyone to Do Anything (Paperback)
This book takes a look at popular psychology applied to a society - a great mix between sociology and popular psychology. The facts in this book are incredibly astounding and easy to understand.
This book is not meant for a psychologist, though, by any means. This book is for reading by those who are interested in how people join relationships of both a friendly and interpersonal nature. At the end of each chapter there are one-liner reminders of the chapter, so if you feel the need to take a quick skim through the book, it is possible.
The book is structured in such a way that the major points can be seen and understood immediately.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get Anyone to Do Anything
Get Anyone to Do Anything by David J. Lieberman (Paperback - 27 July 2001)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews