Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enthusiasm and candour. Among the best atronaut books.
Up there with the Michael Collins biography as one of the best astronaut books, this first-person tale of Gene Cernan's NASA career engages not least because of the drama of his three famous missions.
Co-author Davis has helped Cernan tell a complicated story in easy to understand language. Throughout, one picks up on the sheer enthusiasm of this astronaut: his...
Published on 21 Mar 2006

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another Disappointing Astronaut Autobiography
Gene Cernan is one of America's most experienced and successful astronauts. His three missions were among the most ambitious, successful and exciting of all time. He spent more time, along with partner Harrison Schmitt, than any other man walking on the moon. It was, therefore, with great disappointment that I read this book. What I expect from a book by an...
Published on 16 July 1999


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enthusiasm and candour. Among the best atronaut books., 21 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Man on the Moon: Astronaut Eugene Cernan and America's Race in Space (Paperback)
Up there with the Michael Collins biography as one of the best astronaut books, this first-person tale of Gene Cernan's NASA career engages not least because of the drama of his three famous missions.
Co-author Davis has helped Cernan tell a complicated story in easy to understand language. Throughout, one picks up on the sheer enthusiasm of this astronaut: his awe and wonder at what he was lucky enough to do. Often self-depracating, he admits difficult moments - the horror of the spacewalk outside Gemini 9 and the frightening malfunction as he approached closer to the Moon than anyone before during Apollo 10, but conveys extremely well the controlled elation of the triumphant Apollo 17, including his and mankind's last steps on the Moon ... for now.
There are thirty-seven photos, the usual mix of family and space-related, the latter set containing little new for the Apollo enthusiast but no less relevant for that.
Do give this book a try. It's clear, interesting and bubbling over with enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent insight - read it and share in the wonder!, 23 Jan 2000
By A Customer
Forget the "attacks" on some other astronauts (and in my reading I found no attack on Jack Schmitt, quite the opposite). Forget just wanting to read about Apollo. DO read this book for a personal and honest account of how one man felt and how he journeyed from his roots to another world.
I grew up watching the space race from the UK and this account of it from the inside strikes true. I have read some other readers comments, who seem to think it was Captain Cernan's job to agree with them rather than say how he felt. I don't understand their desire for this.
I don't care that the author didn't get on with some of his colleagues - I don't get on with some of mine! For a truly genuine and exciting read, telling it from the heart and not from the populist point of view I have read little better about the USA space programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Revealing And Intense Insight Into America's Space Program, 19 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Man on the Moon: Astronaut Eugene Cernan and America's Race in Space (Paperback)
Eugene Cernan flew in space three times,twice to the moon. He was pilot of Gemini 9, Lunar module pilot of Apollo 10 and commander of Apollo 17. This is a book charting his missions and experiences from the early days of Gemini to the ultimate goal of landing on the moon. Bieng the last person to step foot on the surface.
It's one hell of a book! exiting and well written. Another book you won't be able to put down.
Only downside, picked up by other readers, is the lack of pictures from the missions and especially the final landing.
I didn't buy the book for the pictures. If you want pictures buy "A MAN ON THE MOON" the 3 volume set,but i'm not reviewing that. If you want a truly exiting,wild ride of book buy this one!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interested in the US Space Program...read this book., 3 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Man on the Moon: Astronaut Eugene Cernan and America's Race in Space (Paperback)
Whether you have a passing interest in the events surrounding the development of the US Space program leading up to putting Mankind on another planet, or are a serious enthusiast, this book will not disappoint you.
Eugene Cernan weaves a spellbinding account of his own personal involvement with the Apollo missions which led to him being the last man to stand on the surface of the moon.
It is a candid account told with the human element exposed to let the reader see what kind of men were selected to undertake such missions.
This book is a good read and is hard to put down once you embark on Mr Cernan's journey to the moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating personal review of man's first years in space., 24 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Man on the Moon: Astronaut Eugene Cernan and America's Race in Space (Paperback)
I have read many books on the history of American manned spaceflight. This is one of the most enjoyable. Gene Cernan tells his own story in such a way that when you have to put the book down, you look forward to the next opportunity to carry on reading it. Many of the familiar historic events are there, told by the man who enacted them. Here is a proud ambitious professional and his story is fascinating. In the last few pages, one feels for Cernan. A man who pines for 'his' moon like a long lost love to whom he knows he can never return. Buy it. Read it. I promise you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A suberb autobiography of a true space hero, 24 Oct 2001
By 
gaznjue@tinyworld.co.uk (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Man on the Moon: Astronaut Eugene Cernan and America's Race in Space (Paperback)
Having been a close follower of Lunar landings and space flight in general I was very keen to aquire the autobiography of my hero, Eugene Andrew Cernan. The book is an honest, open story of an ordinary boy who landed on the moon. Cernans desciptions of emotions as he passes through flight training, Gemini and Apollo are a pleasure to read. No technical claptrap, just the information you need to gain a fascinating insight to a remarkable man. The biggest problem with this book is simply not being able to stop reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sincere account of what it was to be an astronaut., 29 Aug 1999
By A Customer
I found Cernan's book tremendously interesting. For one, it is a very personal and sincere account of his time with NASA. Secondly, he writes in a simple way which allows the technical parts of the subject not to bother the reader. Thirdly, his story also focuses on his family, in particular his wife, and it us saddening to learn that notwithstanding the important support he had from his wife, Barbara, throughout his time on Gemini and Appolo missions, the marriage did not last. Lastly, but perhaps more important, his telling of his struggle during his first "space walk" as well as other accounts in the book, allows us, ordinary humans, to grasp what it really meant and to what extreme pressures, both physically and emotionally, were the astronauts really exposed to. I could not drop the book until I read it fully.For anyone who is interested with the subject, this book is a must!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Man On The Moon, 7 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. David A. J. Bowden "bigbok" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Man on the Moon: Astronaut Eugene Cernan and America's Race in Space (Paperback)
Fantastic reading for anyone interested in the Space Race of the 60's and 70's.
Gene Cernan is a true American Hero. His story gave a really good insight into his determination to succeed in life.
The story of his and the other familys having to endure the stress and worry of the space programme gave the whole book a more 'human' touch.
I also liked the 'no messing' approach to his 'lingo' in this book. One of my best reads to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight into the flaws of Apollo, 26 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Man on the Moon: Astronaut Eugene Cernan and America's Race in Space (Paperback)
No knocking Gene Cernan, his raw guts, determinantion and bravery shine through. Probably the most "human" account of the Apollo flights I've read to date. For me, as a working scientist, most telling is the clear gulf between the "Jet Jocks" and the scientists. Cernans comment about Deke Slayton fighting tooth and nail to try and keep the scentists off the missions is very revealing. This attitude probably helped put the nails in the coffin of missions 18 to 20 as it certainly would have alienated support in the wider scientific community.
A recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book About the Moon Landing Program!, 15 April 1999
By A Customer
Gene Cernan's book is the best book about the Apollo moon landing program because it is the most humanistic of the bunch. Cernan tells us a little about his life, but only enough to get you to understand why he became an astronaut and not too much to bore you. He also keeps what is probably a sizable ego in check, which is something you don't see in other astronaut books, such as Shepard and Slayton's "Moonshot". He tells more about how his family (particularly his now ex-wife) was affected by his chosen career. But the descriptions of his troubles during the Gemini 9 moonwalk, the elation of coming within 50,000 feet of the moon on Apollo 10 and the culmination of it all by being named the commander (through a risky move) of the last moonwalk, Apollo 17 is some of the most interesting reading there is on the topic. In addition, he is candid about some of the problems he encountered with fellow astronauts, especially Buzz Aldrin. Most astronauts don't touch that topic in their books.
Overall, Cernan's book is a must read for all space exploration fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Man on the Moon: Astronaut Eugene Cernan and America's Race in Space
£11.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews