Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book must be read...
I bought this book off Amazon after seeing it advertised while I was ordering THE EVIL DEAD COMPANION, as it had Bruce Campbell's grinning face pictured on the cover, and lets face it folks, the guy's a legend! It is easy to see that he is a guy that puts his all into what he does (physically as well as mentally - just take a look at that kitchen sequence in EVIL DEAD...
Published on 23 Jun. 2002 by L. Andrews

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If chins could kill they probably wouldn't be so boring
I bought this to read about the man behind the myth that entertained during many youthful stoner sessions. I was expecting an exciting, rebellious read; I was slightly disappointed.

Reading this book is conceptually little different to reading the life story of an accountant or travelling salesman. Apart from the series of events culminating in the beginning of...
Published on 26 Jun. 2010 by JibbityJobby


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book must be read..., 23 Jun. 2002
By 
L. Andrews "jointhepartyuk" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B-Movie Actor (Hardcover)
I bought this book off Amazon after seeing it advertised while I was ordering THE EVIL DEAD COMPANION, as it had Bruce Campbell's grinning face pictured on the cover, and lets face it folks, the guy's a legend! It is easy to see that he is a guy that puts his all into what he does (physically as well as mentally - just take a look at that kitchen sequence in EVIL DEAD 2!), and from reading his biography my respect for him has risen sky high. He doesn't fictionalise aspects of his life (not that I've been there and known him, but it sure as hell doesn't come across as such anyway), he doesn't demand sympathy, he doesn't gloat at his success with his ever-growing career and fandom, and his writing is brilliatly literate, a quality in him that some people wouldn't have expected - I mean, a rocket scientist wouldn't star in the EVIL DEAD trilogy, right?
The commentary on his life is fascinating, and at points truly hilarious. It is very rare that I will laugh out loud at a book, but in places this book had me in stitches, and that is no exageration. Reading it you almost become jealous of the childhood he has had. This is the story about a man who really worked for the position he is in now; he's not a Hollywood-manufactured star, and that's his quality, but he is generally regarded as the greatest B-movie actor of his time, and that is a position properly earned.
Insiteful also of the lives of Sam Raimi, Rob Tapert, Scott Speigal and others he has worked with and maintained a friendship with, this is not just a self-indulgent account of someone trying to make money out of a life story. It is a book truly worth paying money for and I parted with my cash gladly. I cannot recommend this book enough.
The fact that out of 11 reviews so far, ten have awarded five stars should speak for itself. For any fan of Bruce Campbell, this is a must buy. Get it now!
THE EVIL DEAD COMPANION is also a good buy for fans of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Well Written, 18 Oct. 2002
By 
Being an Evil Dead and Bruce Campbell fan aided in my choice of his biography. However compared to other biographies which usually use ghostwriters, this book was one i could not put down. From his first acting job to his now known success throughout Hollywood and the world, Bruce Campbell captures every moment only he knows how. It is insightful, encouraging, funny and well worth a read. Even if you are unfamiliar with his work on the big screen after reading 'If Chins Could Kill' your appetite for his work would be hungrier than ever.
He is proud to declare himself a B grade actor and encourages everyone to follow their dreams no matter how difficult that prospect may be. He describes his struggles to find finance and support for the now cult classic 'Evil Dead', which was his first full length film. The story of the making of this film is hilarious in many respects but also heartbreaking as actor after actor give up and more money is need to complete it. He tells of his fellow actors, directors and friends, one of which recently directed the blockbuster 'Spiderman', in which Bruce has a small part.
Overall it is an exceptional read, not only for film fans, but for anyone in search of a dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail to the King baby!!, 28 Nov. 2003
Being a lifelong fan of Bruce I couldnt wait for this book to arrive after ordering it from Amazon. After reading it in record time I can honestly say its one of the best autobiographies I've ever read!
Only a small portion of chapters are written about his childhood but they are packed with humour-you can't help but laugh at his adventures with the opposite sex.
Its not long before he tells about meeting someone called Sam Raimi and coming up with an idea for a film which would eventually become The Evil Dead.
This book is impossible not to enjoy. Its funny, fast moving and very informative.
After reading the last page I had earned even more respect for Bruce than I had before. He works damn hard at his profession, enjoys it alot, obviously loves his fans but never moans about his celebrity status, getting bad breaks or that his good friend Mr Raimi has become a Hollywood hotshot!
Bruce you are a God and I look forward to your next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shop smart....., 11 Dec. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B-Movie Actor (Hardcover)
No-one buying this book is going to be disappointed. If you haven't heard of Bruce Campbell you're probably not going to buy it. If you have heard of him this is the book for you!
With enough anecdotes on cheap film making to make anyone think they could do it, to the bizarre stories of fandom which might put you off and everything in between. This book actually goes quite nicely with a viewing of the extras on the 'Evil Dead' DVD as the two elements compliment each other nicely.
Always the 'small star in a big movie or a big star in a small movie', here Bruces candid charm takes centre stage throughout. Fluidly written, a quick enjoyable read and not just for the fans. Lots of gossip and info from behind the scenes in the film industry moving on nicely to the TV series (Hercules) as well.
Top bloke.
Top book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant account of an underated actor!, 7 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B-Movie Actor (Hardcover)
Well, what can I say? Having been a fan of Bruce's since I was introduced to him a few years ago by being forced to watch The Evil Dead movies (which I had never heard of at that time!), I was intriqued originally by the title - "Confessions of a B Movie Actor". That title was snappy enough to sway me to purchase it.
I read the book pretty quickly and was astounded by how good it was. It also managed to surprise me and gave me an insight to what kind of people Sam Raimi and Rob Tapert are. (This was interesting as I am a Xena and Hercules fan.) I would have giving this 5 stars but it disappointed me in to ways. Firstly it did not answer my question as to why in Evil Dead 2 the flashback of the first film was different to the original film. I'm guessing now after reading the book it was due to rights issues. The second is that the book was over too quickly and hell, it left me wanting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable guide to the man and the movies., 17 Jun. 2006
Autobiographies can come across as smug romances or sordid kiss-and-tells, but Bruce Campbell's "If Chins Could Kill" avoids both clichés. It's a disarmingly modest and frank account of his struggles in Hollywood, and the author simply comes across as a damn nice guy. It is an eminently readable book for that reason; you care what this poor, strangely popular fellow has gone through. Largely at the hands of his demented friend and tormentor, Sam Raimi (those bits are a hoot).

On a nerdier level, people interested in filmmaking will learn a lot. Bruce's "in the trenches" perspective of the Evil Dead films is invaluable and fascinating. Even if the cult film isn't to your tastes, you'll soon have to concede that it was a minor miracle over a restricted budget.

And obviously, the whole thing has a gentle level of humour that just enhances that Good Bloke of an author. Occasionally I found myself chuckling defencelessly - a rare feat with a non-fiction book. Oh, and Bruce offers a littany of pictures, "not all crammed in the middle like in those other actor books." Value for money! Not to mention the fact that this book is the size of a psychology textbook, yet remains a quick read simply because of the high quality of it.

Can't wait for the next instalment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud...., 24 Nov. 2006
By 
I thought there was nothing better than being in a book store skimming through the first few pages of a book and thinking this is great I'm gonna buy it. I was wrong. I had the new experience of laughing out loud to myself in a busy public place. What caused it? If Chins Could Kill.

Without doubt one of the funniest reads I've ever had. After having listened to Bruce at a convention this book reads just like he talks and shows just how much of Bruce Campbell went into the character of Ash in the Evil Dead trilogy.

This is a great read for anyone who likes movies. A frank and disarming essay on the plight of the B movie actor.

Its SO much more human than the usual ghostwritten hollywood autobiographies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even if you have never heard of Bruce Campbell buy this book, 29 Jun. 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a phenomenal insight into the struggles and successes of a hollywood actor. Bruce Campbell is not some self absorbed movie star who foolishly beleives their own hype, he is a normal down to earth Joe who is just trying to make a living doing his job.

In this book he recounts his many and varied experiences both in front of and behind the camera in TV and Film.

For the Deadites amongst us (I count myself among them) the insights into the making of our favourite trilogy are fantastic. The book covers a lot of what the cast and crew went through to make the first evil dead from raising enough money to get started to having a lot of the actors leave for other commitments half way through filming and back to having to raise money again after running out.

For those who are fans from other films or his TV appearances in shows such as Hercules, Xena or his staring role in Brisco County Jr he recounts tales from these periods too.

Perhaps the best thing about this book is that it is not some interchangable cookie cutter a list hollywood star name dropping who they go to parties with or recounting their troubles with various drug dependancies or their tortured childhood that led them too drugs in the first place, it is a normal person talking of what he has done and of the experiences he has had. The book is upbeat and Bruce comes across as a very likable easy going guy who has no concept of arrogance or self importance.

I would recommend this to anyone be they Fans of Bruce already (if not you will be after reading this) or if they are merely sick of reading autobiographies of superstars that are all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is superb, 16 Jan. 2002
This review is from: If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B-Movie Actor (Hardcover)
The man is pure class. This is not your usual "my life is so tough" autobiography with the obligatory celeb whinging. Instead, it's a truly funny account of life as an actor, giving a real insight into film-making and making no attempt to hide the fact it's not always glitz and glamour.
A must for Campbell fans, Evil Dead fans and people who love films in general.
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT - it's a great read, 3 Jan. 2004
By 
JO "Beenie" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When i saw this book i had to buy it. I am so glad i did, this is the first autobiography i've read and one of the first books i've read out of choice! For Bruce fans, it's a must,for people interested in the acting industry, it's a must, and for people who have never even heard of Bruce Campbell, buy it and read an incredibly honest,humbling account of a 'B- movie' star's life and experiences. This is a book that will apeal to a lot of people, i hope that you buy it and enjoy it as much as i have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B-Movie Actor
If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B-Movie Actor by Bruce Campbell (Hardcover - 30 Jun. 2001)
Used & New from: £1.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews