Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medicine cards - a great tool for spirituality
I have been reading tarot cards for 10 years, and though I have faith in the messages/guidance they give, these cards have the edge in my opinion. They are well illustrated, without being too 'crowded' or too plain. The book is easy to read, whereby both beginners to divination, and advanced practitioners will be able to get something out of the descriptions attributed...
Published on 25 Sep 2005 by Mrs. D. L. Powell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing....
The outer packaging promised great things; slick, colourful and inviting. Sadly, I found the contents to be somewhat of a letdown - having previously used a Wolf Song (Hartman & Spencer) set of cards, I found the flimsy, almost 'laminated paper' quality of these cards very disappointing. The larger size also makes them impossible to shuffle. I also felt a little cheated...
Published 24 months ago by C. P. Gardener


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medicine cards - a great tool for spirituality, 25 Sep 2005
This review is from: Medicine Cards (Hardcover)
I have been reading tarot cards for 10 years, and though I have faith in the messages/guidance they give, these cards have the edge in my opinion. They are well illustrated, without being too 'crowded' or too plain. The book is easy to read, whereby both beginners to divination, and advanced practitioners will be able to get something out of the descriptions attributed to each card. In addition, each story attributed to a particular animal warms the heart, and makes that particular card come alive, being easier to remember. With regards the spreads and subsequent reading, I am astounded at the depth and accuracy. These really do expose the real 'you' whilst still maintaining a gentleness. For anyone who is interested in learning about themselves, and their personal development I would have no hesitation in recommending these cards. There is also the added bonus of being able to create your own cards to include with this deck - something I found very advantageous. I now have two decks as I wanted to have one at home, and one accessable at work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guidance from All of Our Relations, 3 Mar 2005
This review is from: Medicine Cards (Hardcover)
This is a delightful pack of cards - they are well finished and lovely to handle. The art work is beautiful and charming.
Each card depicts an animal on its Medicine Shield and the accompanying book throughly explores the stories and teachings that each creature brings to us.
I have found them to be very accurate, always managing to gently touch the truth of each situation. A wonderful tool for journalling and personal growth.
I recommend them highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very precise & accurate, 29 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Medicine Cards (Hardcover)
this is a based on very ancient & thorough study on animal totems & I recommend it highly as it is based on a traditional study on this subject & the information is from a reliable source. I'd refer to it for any problem I have as it shows you the root/truth on the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best on animal totems..., 28 Oct 2004
By 
White Eagle - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Medicine Cards (Hardcover)
This is one of the best guide I've read on animal totems. I have used it many times & have found the answers very helpful & accurate. The book itself is beautifully written & describes the animals in a true light.I definitely recommend it to anyone intersted in this healing method.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to explore your choices, 4 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Medicine Cards (Hardcover)
I like to use divination cards of all sorts. This is a particularly good set. I like to use these cards to explore where I am and where I could go, rather than to consider a totally fatalistic universe.
The animals are a lovely way to relate to ways of interacting with or viewing the world. Some are more challenging than others! Lots of fun and with the possibility of really taking you beyond your current, probably unconscious, limits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many levels, 20 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: Medicine Cards (Hardcover)
This book and it's cards took me by surprise. I have never been into the use of any type of cards and bought it from an interest and curiousity of the native american seeing of the animals. The book offers a wide range of use with a continous depth to the teachings and understanding to the beginner, the seeker and the experienced deepener. My use of it has expanded and deepend. I have become much more open to signs in the nature and to my own path as a human from listening to the medicine of the animals.
I recommend this with book with my deep appreciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Insight, 30 July 2010
This review is from: Medicine Cards (Hardcover)
I own both tarot and oracle cards, their insights always fascinate me. Following my purchase of Power Animal Oracle cards which offer amazing insights to all queries, I purchased the Medcine Cards. They are easy to use and offer astounding insights to the "real" you. They talk to to you in a very nurturing way almost like a parent trying to get the best out of their child. I'm very impressed with them and highly recommend them. Medicine Cards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of only receiving book, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medicine Cards (Hardcover)
I was very disappointed that having ordered this item and fully expecting to receive a divination 'system' I only received the book. What use without the cards?! Feel quite deceived.

This is not a one star review of the product itself, just a warning when buying this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing...., 10 Aug 2012
By 
C. P. Gardener "case handler" (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medicine Cards (Hardcover)
The outer packaging promised great things; slick, colourful and inviting. Sadly, I found the contents to be somewhat of a letdown - having previously used a Wolf Song (Hartman & Spencer) set of cards, I found the flimsy, almost 'laminated paper' quality of these cards very disappointing. The larger size also makes them impossible to shuffle. I also felt a little cheated that the hardback book that's included - decent size though it is - didn't have a dustjacket to it. Overall, I felt that this was a slightly half-hearted attempt at a quality product. Back to my Wolf cards...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Panacea?, 6 May 2012
By 
Miss W. Merrymoon "Willow Merrymoon" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Medicine Cards (Hardcover)
This deck, as it's name suggests, is based on the Native American Indian concept of medicine, and "the medicine referred to .....is anything that improves one's connection to the Great Mystery and to all life". There are forty-four animal medicine cards, simply numbered from one to forty-four, and nine blank ones for the individual to fill in as appropriate. Each creature is set within a medicine shield, which in turn is set against a blue and green background, with a red border surrounding the whole. The number and name of each one is displayed at the top, just above the boldly drawn images. A few examples of the animals in these cards are 'Eagle', 'Bear', 'Dog', 'Crow', 'Weasel' and 'Bat'.

The book which accompanies the cards is very informative and a good introduction to the concept of animal medicine. There are chapters on the healing power of animals, the medicine wheel, the medicine shield, and very clear instructions for how to find one's nine totem animals. Several spreads are outlined, e.g. 'The Moon Lodge Spread', 'Father Sky/Mother Earth Spread', and 'The Pathway Spread'. The intention of this system of divination is for the individual to move forward on his/her journey towards wholeness in body, mind and spirit, in complete harmony with all of nature.

The one thing that lets this set down is the inferior quality of the card stock. However, don't let that put you off as it is a really interesting deck to work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medicine Cards
Medicine Cards by David Carson (Hardcover - 12 Aug 1999)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews