Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humorous Hair-Doings and Detecting with Sir Charles Fraith
Agatha Raisin's love life is in a mess . . . even though she's found a great hair dresser, Mr. John (the wizard of Evesham). James Lacey is away and isn't staying in touch. Mr. John is quite delicious in Agatha's eyes, but the frightened reactions of other women to Mr. John's name make Agatha suspicious. Out on a date with Mr. John, she finds her resistance melting. But...
Published on 30 July 2007 by Donald Mitchell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable.
I don't agree with most of the reviews - maybe it was the fact that there's been a gap since the last one.
Actually, I found Agatha's character to be much more vulnerable this time around. The book was enjoyable and I spent a pleasant afternoon reading it. I did solve it myself but that didn't remove my pleasure in it.
Published on 27 Feb. 2006 by Sheron


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humorous Hair-Doings and Detecting with Sir Charles Fraith, 30 July 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Agatha Raisin's love life is in a mess . . . even though she's found a great hair dresser, Mr. John (the wizard of Evesham). James Lacey is away and isn't staying in touch. Mr. John is quite delicious in Agatha's eyes, but the frightened reactions of other women to Mr. John's name make Agatha suspicious. Out on a date with Mr. John, she finds her resistance melting. But Sir Charles Fraith (whom she saved from death in Agatha Raisin and the Walkers of Dembley and with whom she had a one-night stand in Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist) also wants to date "Aggie" and talks her into a joint investigation of Mr. John. Soon, Agatha is extravagantly throwing money and herself at the wizard . . . but she has some benefit because her hair has never looked better.

All of this fun is interrupted when Mr. John is poisoned. Agatha and Charles up their investigations . . . and also draw danger to themselves. They also draw more than the usual ire from the police, including Bill Wong who is being watched very carefully lest he play favorites with Agatha.

This is a confused Agatha. She makes fewer good decisions than usual and is clearly adrift emotionally. For those who like to think of Agatha as the next thing to Super Woman, this book will be a disappointment. If you don't like hair-based humor, this book also won't excite you.

Part of the appeal in this book comes from knowing how attached some women get to a given hairdresser. Turning that sometime attachment into a humorous mystery story is a good idea.

Detecting with Sir Charles isn't quite as much fun as detecting with a friendly James Lacey. There are also fewer romantic dreams for Agatha to relate. Instead, she's starting to wonder if she's just a dowdy middle-aged woman, despite younger men paying attention. I felt sorry for Agatha, and that made me realize that the character development was working for me. Before this book, I thought of Agatha as an interesting character rather than as a character I related to. In this book, the barrier finally dropped for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winner, 18 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Agatha Raisin and the Wizard of Evesham (Hardcover)
Agatha Raisin is bit depressed over her lost relationship with her former fiancé. However, finding some gray hairs makes Agatha even more despondent. A hair dye leaves her with a purple haze on top of her head. Agatha turns to the highly regarded Mr. John, owner of a nearby hair salon, to work miracles. John succeeds, but Agatha is a bit concerned that his customers reveal their darkest secrets to the brilliant stylist. Agatha wonders how John uses this information.

A few days later, Agatha and her friend Charles finds John extremely ill and he consequently dies from a toxin deliberately placed inside his vitamin capsules. The police notice discrepancies between the stories told by Agatha and Charles (a friend), making the duo prime suspects in the poisoning of John. Agatha begins to investigate and soon learns that John was blackmailing his clients. Now all Agatha has to do is uncover which one of these patrons decided to stop paying.

The return of Agatha Raisin, amateur sleuth extraodinaire, is always a treat and M.C. Beaton does not miss a beat with her newest entry. AGATHA RAISIN AND THE WIZARD OF EVESHAM is vintage Raisin as the story line is interesting and filled with several twists, including a fabulous right angle ending. Agatha remains a somewhat vulgar, intelligent, but vulnerable heroine, who cannot resist a mystery. If there is anything to criticize it is the not going anywhere tango with James (her former fiancé), which needs resolution one way or another. Still that remains a very minor intrusion that occurs after the prime tale is finished, leaving this novel as another fabulous English cozy by the great M.C.Beaton.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mystery story I could solve!, 25 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Agatha Raisin and the Wizard of Evesham (Hardcover)
Either I am getting better at solving mysteries, this mystery was easier to solve than most, or the clues were cleverly given. In any case, I solved the mystery a couple of chapters before the end of the book. This book was quick to read, did not require a lot of thought, and was entertaining. This is a good book to read on a lazy afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Agatha Adventure, 6 Dec. 2009
The Wizard of Evesham is the eighth in the Agatha Raisin series and sees her back in her cottage in the Cotswold village of Carsley bored with the sweltering summer and life in general. She decides that maybe a new image is called for an in doing so she hears of a Mr John who all the ladies say cuts hair like a wizard. In doing so she meets this legendary Mr John and finds herself falling for more than his charming cuts, though things get scuppered when someone decides to poison Mr John. Throw in neighbours who blanche at the victims name, a bruised heart and Sir Charles Fraith a one nightstand looking to start where they left off and help her solve the riddle Agatha has a lot on her plate. Will Agatha be able to find out who killed Mr John and why? She will need to get out of the murder victims burning inferno of a house first!

Another Agatha gem that I thoroughly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable., 27 Feb. 2006
By 
Sheron "lucky" (Borehamwood, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Raisin and the Wizard of Evesham (Hardcover)
I don't agree with most of the reviews - maybe it was the fact that there's been a gap since the last one.
Actually, I found Agatha's character to be much more vulnerable this time around. The book was enjoyable and I spent a pleasant afternoon reading it. I did solve it myself but that didn't remove my pleasure in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AGATHA UNFULFILLED, 27 July 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Actually no wizard. Just hairdresser John Shawpart - seducer, blackmailer and, very soon, corpse. Again Agatha investigates - usual fellow sleuth James replaced by baronet bounder Charles.

This eighth novel alternates between visits to the hairdresser and coincidences. By now most Agatha devotees have probably given up hopes of plausibility - content instead simply to settle for a light undemanding read. The central character - outwardly so formidable with many rough edges - is basically lonely, craving true companionship. Some may feel her real literary potential needs rather more than the current contrived adventures.

Mixed fare, likely to appeal only to the most ardent fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Short and easy read, 13 April 2008
I reached the end before I thought I had done So to speak! The last 15 pages of my copy related to the next in the series. The book is only short at 192 pages but they were entertaining enough, but not thought provoking - none of the series really has been though...

The Author does let the cat out of the bag too early for my liking (for those who had been taking note) and the villian was obvious from when they were introduced. Witty, but only from a cetain standpoint, and not too heavy on the swearing as previous Agatha Raisin Mysteries have been.

All in all a nice 'cozy' mystery that would be suitable for your granny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shampoo and Set ?, 25 Dec. 2012
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Agatha seems to have hit rock bottom in this book, the eighth in the series. She is still pining after James Lacey, the neighbour who seems to have dealt cruelly with her heart. The British weather has become unbearably hot even for Agatha, village life is getting to her somewhat and she really needs a pick me up but does not know what to do.

The ladies of the village rate the new hairdresser Mr John as the way to brighten up any lady of a certain age's pecker and Agatha bites the bullet and decides that perhaps she needs a new look if only to find herself attractive and put James to the back of her mind. Mr John has ideas of his own and a date and a further hair appointment later, it seems that Agatha may have found a happy diversion. That is until Mr John is poisoned in his own salon and it is Agatha that happens to find him.

So now Agatha has something to take her mind off James and everything else and begins her own investigating as to why this man was poisoned and poisoned with a fairly untraceable poison - Ricin. As she begins to talk to other ladies who frequented Mr John's scissors she is faced with a rather mute audience. It seems Mr John even from the grave has a hold on these women and that if they say anything they may have a lot to lose. So Agatha with the help of Sir Charles a fair weather friend who seems to drop in and out of her life depending on his boredom level go and investigate his house but someone else is there and the heat is turned up - as it is set on fire!

Agatha has a lot of explaining to do to the police, and her friend Bill Wong is not being friendly and she cannot garner any information from him so she is back to investigating with or without Charles and getting her hair done a lot - well you know how these hairdressers talk.......

A quick read, and for once I actually worked out who the culprit was, it stood out like a punk at the Carlsey Ladies Society tea! Agatha is a character you can love and hate in equal measure and although she occasionally shows her softer side it is her hard side that seems to get the results!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Prune, 13 July 2009
By 
The Agatha Raisin series gives you pretty much the same thing time after time - beautiful Cotswolds settings, murder most foul and the all too human Agatha blundering around before eventually getting her man/woman (with a little help from her friends).

You may know exactly what to expect from an Agatha Raisin tale and this doesn't disappoint but the sly touches of humour and wonderful characters raise this series above your average whodunnit - hugely enjoyable and very addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Infantile, 19 Mar. 2010
By 
If you've a reading age of 13 and the sexual maturity of a 17 year old, this book might be for you. Provided, that is, you are not looking for good writing, a good plot, credible characters, or any of the other attributes of a decent book.

This was truly dreadful, full of inane dialogue, weak description, and empty of interest, excitement, or believable situations. And if that isn't bad enough, it turns out to be about hairdressers, with a "heroine" who spends most of her time having her hair done (if you are short of ways to describe bad hairdos, you might find a few useful pointers here, so there is at least some value in this book). The title "...and the wizard of..." is a cheat and ever-so-slightly-deceitful gag that does not live up to its promise.

Earlier novels in the same series may have been better, as suggested by some other reviewers; I don't know, I don't intend to find out, and I don't suggest anyone else should either. Better to keep away from this book and others like it, just as you'd stay away from the many hairdressing salons it features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Raisin and the Wizard of Evesham
Agatha Raisin and the Wizard of Evesham by M. C. Beaton (Hardcover - April 1999)
Used & New from: £1.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews