Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb, riveting account of Peter's life., 29 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Death in the Long Grass (Hardcover)
In my opinion, this is the best book ever written. Peter has a talent that I have never seen or experienced with any other writer. He gives vivid, harrowing accounts of the Big Five, as well as hippo, crocs, snakes, and less known forms of death. This is a must read for anyone remotely interested in Africa, animals, or hunting. Peter Hathaway Capstick is a true master of his game. Some of Peter's tales would put Stephen King to shame, but these are more frightening because they are true. You are cheating yourself out of a treat if this book isn't high on your "To Read...." list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As it Gets, 9 Jan. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Death in the Long Grass (Hardcover)
Capstick captures the other side of civilized man, the hunter. He writes of things suppressed by artificial people, with artificial wants, and artificial needs - in other words the detatched from nature urbanite who has absolutely no clue as to the duality of nature. A duality which includes both beauty and death. The hunter understands this. Capstick, with wry wit and humor brings us into the world of the hunter. This is not a book for people with a naive, Disneyesque view of nature, but rather for the bold who understands the true relationship between man, nature, and the beasts of the field and forest. Must reading for all true sportsman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must read" for the outdoorsman., 5 Jun. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Death in the Long Grass (Hardcover)
Peter Hathaway Capstick ranks among the finest story tellers in the world today. His tales of hunting dangerous African game in "Death in the Long Grass" is riveting. His anecdotes portray in vivid detail the danger, fear, and humor in hunting big game in the African bush. Read this book and you will never look at a leopard the same again, or any other big game species in Africa for that matter. Capstick's respect for the animals he hunted and for the African people is quite apparent. "Bravo old boy!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, anyone can experience the "Raw and Real Africa", 29 July 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Death in the Long Grass (Hardcover)
Captsick's love for the hunt and for the land in which it takes place is apparent in this truly great book. If you enjoy hunting wildlife of any kind, you will be on edge with every passing page. Many will never have the oppurtunity to take one of the "Big Five" game animals in Africa. Capstick knows this, but assures us that it is not because of a shortage caused by "Legal" hunting. However, Capstick's method of sharing the raw hunt with the reader, in a true sportsmans manner, emphasises the need for game management. If you love to hunt, you'll love "Death in the Longrass".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 14 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr John C Dodd (Barnsley, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in the Long Grass (Hardcover)
I've always liked reading the stories of Allan Quartermain and the pulp heroes of old, so this book came as something of a revelation. Peter Capstick was a Great White Hunter (although in his words, there are no great white hunters, "Mediocre" at best) who wrote of his days while employed as a tracker, hunter, and ranger in the distant places of the world. It is clear from his writing that while his work was to hunt these animals and in some occasions escort others who wished to kill them, he held a great reverence for many of them and does not hold back in explaining in detail how man is indeed not the Apex predator he thinks he is.

He details eight different creatures (Lion, Elephant, Leopart, Cape Buffalo, Hippo, Crocodile, Rhino, Snakes) and assorted less well known animals, and makes an excellent case for each as to why Man should not try to engage them on their own terms (the part where he details how you know the type of elephant that killed someone by the radius the limbs are scattered by is particularly vivid). It's a fascinating read and while many have an issue with the killing of animals (especially in these times), it is interesting to read the opinion of one who has done the hunting first hand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEATH IN THE LONG GRASS, 25 Mar. 2012
By 
Dr S. S. Nagi "Nyrobe" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This book was first published in 1977, has 297 pages, 49 B/W photos but no maps. The book is written in the memory of author's friend - Dean Witter Jr. There are 9 chapters in the book dealing with the Big Five and hippo, snakes, crocodile and underrated killers. PETER HATHWAY CAPSTICK was born on 11.1.1940 in New Jersey and educated in University of Virginia and after a successful wall street job, at the age of 29, became a professional hunter, 1st in South America, then in Africa. He was a chain smoker and heavy drinker. His first trip to Africa was in 1968 and he became a ranger in ZAMBIA, Botawana and Rhodesia. In 1996, while speaking in Reno, Nevada, he collapsed in the hotel room, was flown to South Africa and went for heart bypass surgery in PRETORIA. He died on 13.3.1996, aged 56, of complications of this surgery. His spouse is Fiona Claire Capstick.
The book starts on 2.9.1974 with maneater lioness attack on Peter Hankin, a professional hunter in LUANGWA VALLEY, Zambia. This follows by a maneater big lion, who tries to get into Capstick's hut ! More lion stories follow, keeping you attached to this book. Angry elephants are highly inventive and make a mess of the Bwanas and natives. Then it will bury the victim with grass, leaves and branches. Rogue elephants are usually injured or 'Drunk'. As a cropping officer, Capstick did not feel proud of culling herds of elephants. A leopard has incredible strength, best camouflage, intelligence, ferocity, adaptability, power and beauty of any cat in the wild. 9 out of 10 maneater leopards are male in good health. With its excellent sight, hearing, sense of smell, big powerful horns and bulk, buffalo can be very dangerous. Hippos are very fast both on land and in water. Crocodiles never stop growing, their whole lives. If anything gets in the way of black rhino, it will knock it down and gore it. Contrary to worry, snakes are not seen by every tourist in Africa. On 10 safaris, we have seen 2 small green mambas, 1 small puff adder and possible cobra coiled up, all from a safe distance.
This is a interesting book to read, but don't have night mares. We have been on safari many times to Kenya and Tanzania, in lodges, camps and night drives. Apart from mock charges by elephants and buffalo and roaring of lions and howls and whooping of spotted hyaena, have always felt safe in our 4x4 and have enjoyed 'the wonderful Afica'. Always stay still and make no nose around wildlife.
Some other books by the author are:-
(1) Peter Capsticks Africa, 1987
(2) Death in the Lonely Land, 1990
(3) Death in the Dark Continent, 1988
(4) Sands of Silence, 1990
(5) Safari, Last Adventure, 1990
(6) The African Adventure, 1990
Having born in Kenya, I enjoyed reading this book.
Read and ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, frightening & Gripping, 4 May 2005
By 
Keith (Beziers, France) - See all my reviews
Capsticks adventures as a professional hunter in Africa are often hilariously funny usually quite terrifying and always absolutely gripping. This is a book which you will want never to end and Capstick, the kind of character who I would like to meet in a straw roofed bar, in distant climes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've ever read, 22 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the title says, this book is all about dying and in particular, how Africa tries to do that to you. It's been written by someone who knows more than most about the subject having spent decades there. I read four or five books at a time and this is one of the best books I've ever read. I already have a copy of this and I bought this one as my "lending" copy. If you're remotely interested in wildlife, Africa or adventure, you simply MUST read this book. It's a real eye opener and written with such a fantastic turn of phrase as you make you laugh out loud from time to time. Excellent from start to finish. My only complaint is that it's not 4 times longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Been To Africa, But I Want To After Reading This, 25 Jan. 2012
By 
RL Cloherty (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death in the Long Grass (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book as an adventure story, a book about Africa or a book about hunting and conservation. The sense of place is as good as any, the pace is just right and the calmness of the prose contrasts with hair raising episodes described. The Chapter on Leopards I found quite fascinating. Parts are a bit gory, but this is to be expected when dealing with potentially dangerous animals. A book for anyone looking for real life adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't read these before bedtime., 29 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Death in the Long Grass (Hardcover)
Capstick's "Death..." series of books are truly frightening.Stephen King might be paid by the word, but Capstick's words are written in blood, and often it is his own. Capstick wrote that true hunting meant that the hunted had at least as good a chance as the hunter. Unfortunately, in America nowadays, we have bear baiting (a pile of garbage and a "hunter" in a tree), and camouflaged wankers on 4-wheelers with turkey whistles and dogs. It makes you wish Charlton Heston was on the receiving end of "The Most Dangerous Game". Anyway, Peter Capstick is an incredible storyteller, mainly because he lived so many of the stories he tells. Even if you are not as rabidly (ha!) anti-hunting as I am, you can appreciate that we are at the top of the food chain, but not by much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death in the Long Grass
Death in the Long Grass by Peter Hathaway Capstick (Hardcover - 28 Feb. 1978)
£22.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews