Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2010
Whilst I felt this was not quite as good as William Horwood's other two Tales of the Willows it is still a delightful story, well worth having as part of his trilogy, and emulates Kenneth Grahames style convincingly.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Having read Wind of the Willows as a child I was delighted when I spotted this in a local charity shop a couple of years ago. Personally I found it every bit as good as or better than the original. I really loved reading about Toad's adventures and have reread it often. Having loved it I was surprised to read some of the lesser reviews. Personally I can recommend it to all who enjoyed the original.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
I have always enjoyed both the Kenneth Graham's Wind in the Willows and also William Horwood's books and Toad Triumphant was no exception.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
You can't help liking Toad for all his pomposity and recklessness and his selfishness. Helped by his friends he always ends up a sadder and wiser toad.
William Horwood gets his character just right and is faithfull to the spirit of Kenneth Grahame's original book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
Toad Triumphant is a wonderful tale. William Horwood really embraces Toad's character in this compelling and at times humorous account of the tales of the riverbank. I love the warm cosiness of the friends houses and the surprising way that the tale evolves as you read from page to page. A delightful read for all ages!! However, towards the end of the book I was slightly disappointed that Toad falls into trouble with the same 'senior officials' from the Willows at Christmas and was also surprised at how quickly Mole managed to return home safely after suffering such an epic journey up-stream to 'Beyond' with Ratty!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2009
This is the second of William Horwood's 'Tales of the Willows' trilogy. (Although later on he wrote a fourth book entitled 'The Willows at Christmas' which is most enjoyable.) However, Toad Triumphant suffers from 'Second Book Syndrome' and never really establishes itself. As always, it is beautifully illustrated by Patrick Benson but the central premise that Toad is facing marriage does not engage the reader as much as Horwood's other Willows books.
It is still an enjoyable yarn and its 12 chapters and well-written prose make it a book that compares favourably with most books that are published these days. Even though this is the weakest of Horwood's Willows books, he gets into the minds and souls of the five principal characters. Toad, Mole, Ratty, Otter and Badger live again which does not happen in some of the attempts to recreate Grahame's golden prose and the joy, magic and good humour of the classic book that was published over 100 years ago can be found in Toad Triumphant along with welcome appearances by the loyal Mole, the resourceful Ratty, the stern Badger, the practical and family-orientated Otter and, of course, the exasperating, infuriating, yet eternally lovable and ultimately triumphant Toad.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
This is the second of William Horwood's sequels to Kenneth Graham's "Wind in the Willows". Like the others it is an amusing story well worth reading, but fails to capture the full mystic quality of the original. In particular the plot is too clear-cut: I sense Horwood's urge to rationalise and systematize the fundamentally irrational and unsystematic world that Graham created, with its irrelevant chapters and unexplained loose endings on which the imagination hangs. Read it, enjoy it, but don't expect to relive the experience you had when you first opened Graham's classic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Arrived well packaged and as described,, the story is charming and worth a read for adults too! Very pleased would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Happy with book, packing and speed of posting. Purchased for neice for Xmas. Why do I need to add more words than is needed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Great purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.