Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and easy to read
Sir George Martin writes as he talks, which is straightforward and with great knowledge of the record industry. So this book is awash with great little stories from his career, together with a lot of interesting information on the many artists he had produced at the time this book was written.

Obviously more time is spent on The Beatles, but he combines this...
Published on 24 Aug 2008 by S J Buck

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a good read, but..
It's a good read & quite an entertaining book but parts of it are quite technical & not that interesting for the average reader I would guess like the musical frequencies of instruments & how the human ear can be tricked into accepting a stereo image, though there are plenty of stories of how he started in the business & the stars he worked with, A good insight into the...
Published on 10 May 2010 by John Gould


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and easy to read, 24 Aug 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
Sir George Martin writes as he talks, which is straightforward and with great knowledge of the record industry. So this book is awash with great little stories from his career, together with a lot of interesting information on the many artists he had produced at the time this book was written.

Obviously more time is spent on The Beatles, but he combines this discussion of the artists with quite a bit of technical information charting the history of recording techiques as they developed. Its here for me where the book probably loses a bit more than a star, as my interest (or perhaps lack of understanding) waned after I had read 2 or 3 pages on the advent of stereo.

That last comment is an important point. This book was written in the 1970's so anybody buying this to learn how a great record producer handles modern recording techniques will be sadly dissappointed.

However overall its an entertaining and mainly interesting read written by one of the best record producers (and certainly the most important) this country has ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and enjoyable, 4 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
Great. I initially only bought this because I was having an argument about who played the piccolo trumpet solo in "Penny Lane" (it was David Mason!) but having dealt with that I went on to read and enjoy the whole thing. There are a few daft mistakes (frets on a violin??) but a lot of great content. The stuff about the early days is absolutely riveting. Martin writes modestly and pleasantly about some very interesting musical events. It could do with an update maybe now - what about Air Monserrat and Air Lyndhurst??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST ! ...for all music lovers and history students., 1 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
For every music lover, its history is part of the pleasure. As we'll enter soon in the 21st Century, one must absolutely read the story of the man who, with The Beatles, changed the second half of the 20th century in helping them composed the most important opus of its time. This is a book about music, about people making music, this is a book about Sir George Martin, a humble man, a musician who was able to recognize that those youngs guys from Liverpool would, with a little help, change the course of music history and rise popular music to a higher livel, equal to the one normally reserved to the so-called "serious music". His life, his love, his work... Our pleasure.
And my greatest honour was to have my personal copy of this book autographed by Sir George Martin himself at EMI Abbey Road Studios in London...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail George Martin the Master!, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Chris "Reactiv8" (Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
An amazing part-autobiography and part history of the Beatles in the recording studio, this engaging book gives us the background to how the greatest pop group of all time produced their masterpieces. Without George Martin the Beatles would never have come to popular notice or gone on to write and play their greatest songs. A humble man worked his magic with the Fab Four and describes so eloquently how he did it - If you read this, it will make you want to play the songs again with renewed fascination, surely bringing yet more joy - I salute you George and the boys you cared for so well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars among my favorite autobiographies, 6 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
This is one of my favorite autobiographies because its author doesn't tell about just himself, he teaches you about orchestration, recording, and the history of the British recording business. (There are some amusing Beatle anecdotes as well. I particularly enjoyed John Lennon's trouble with saxophone notation.) My only quibble: It should called itself "All You Need ARE Ears", not just because verbs must agree with their subjects, but also--mostly--because a title that distances itself from its allusion is more graceful.
Also recommended: PENTATONIC SCALES FOR THE JAZZ-ROCK KEYBOARDIST by Jeff Burns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
brilliant !! cannot put this book down once picked up . every time i read it again ,i get more out of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very much worth reading!!, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
Even for those not directly involved with music or music production, this book is a great read. Those who are, will find it exceptionally interesting, informative & thoughtfully-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a good read, but.., 10 May 2010
By 
John Gould (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
It's a good read & quite an entertaining book but parts of it are quite technical & not that interesting for the average reader I would guess like the musical frequencies of instruments & how the human ear can be tricked into accepting a stereo image, though there are plenty of stories of how he started in the business & the stars he worked with, A good insight into the man & his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all you need is here, 8 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. P. Wilshaw (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
Still a must read for anyone who was around in the 60's, and anyone who wishes he was around. Proof positive that there were 5 Beatles, a brilliant, now historical, account of the emergence and development of the best band in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All you need is ears, 4 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
Bought the book expecting to read lots of beatle related gossip, but they hardly get a mention. Music Producers would love it, those with music degrees would love it. The only thing I learnt about Paul that I didn't already know was that the Bond Producers didn't want Paul to sing Live & Let Die. George convinced them they were wrong, so in the film it is sung by Paul, and then later on by a lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0de384)

This product

All You Need Is Ears
All You Need Is Ears by George Martin (Paperback - 31 Dec 1995)
11.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews