Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and easy to read
Sir George Martin writes as he talks, which is straightforward and with great knowledge of the record industry. So this book is awash with great little stories from his career, together with a lot of interesting information on the many artists he had produced at the time this book was written.

Obviously more time is spent on The Beatles, but he combines this...
Published on 24 Aug. 2008 by S J Buck

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but ......
Having read "Summer of Love" also by George Martin i was perhaps expecting a bit more but then again this book is older. It gives a very good description of what formed George Martin and how he got into the recording business and it is very interesting to read about the early years and the way they recorded. Wiewed from 2014 it seems like the Stone Age. I have a...
Published 4 months ago by Ove Munch Thomsen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and easy to read, 24 Aug. 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
Sir George Martin writes as he talks, which is straightforward and with great knowledge of the record industry. So this book is awash with great little stories from his career, together with a lot of interesting information on the many artists he had produced at the time this book was written.

Obviously more time is spent on The Beatles, but he combines this discussion of the artists with quite a bit of technical information charting the history of recording techiques as they developed. Its here for me where the book probably loses a bit more than a star, as my interest (or perhaps lack of understanding) waned after I had read 2 or 3 pages on the advent of stereo.

That last comment is an important point. This book was written in the 1970's so anybody buying this to learn how a great record producer handles modern recording techniques will be sadly dissappointed.

However overall its an entertaining and mainly interesting read written by one of the best record producers (and certainly the most important) this country has ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and enjoyable, 4 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
Great. I initially only bought this because I was having an argument about who played the piccolo trumpet solo in "Penny Lane" (it was David Mason!) but having dealt with that I went on to read and enjoy the whole thing. There are a few daft mistakes (frets on a violin??) but a lot of great content. The stuff about the early days is absolutely riveting. Martin writes modestly and pleasantly about some very interesting musical events. It could do with an update maybe now - what about Air Monserrat and Air Lyndhurst??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for any Beatles fan and enthusiasts of British post-war comedy., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
A fascinating and well-written account of the life and work of one of Britain's most influential cultural figures of the post-war period. Reading it you can see that George Martin has had an enviable life, rubbing shoulders with the greatest comedians of the 50s and 60s and then, of course, the Beatles and many more. It is also evident that he got there by merit alone, starting at the bottom and working his way up through his talent and amiable personality The book has a lot of interesting technical knowledge about music, musical arranging, the recording practices of the pre-digital age and the ruthless nature of the record industry. It offers to any Beatles enthusiast a lot of insight into how they worked and the vast extent to which Martin was key to their success. If also offers interesting insight for any enthusiast of British post-war comedy.

Martin was only paid £15 to do the arrangement for All You Need is Love, and was then sued by Glenn Miller's estate for borrowing one of his tunes in the ending, and the record company insisted Martin should pay (they backed down in the end).

Paul McCartney told Martin he wanted "When I'm 64" to sound "Tooty" and Martin obliged with an arrangement for 3 clarinets.

The orchestra hired to play Martin's orchestration for Hey Jude wanted their fee doubling for having to clap and sing the melody.

...buy the book for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST ! ...for all music lovers and history students., 1 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
For every music lover, its history is part of the pleasure. As we'll enter soon in the 21st Century, one must absolutely read the story of the man who, with The Beatles, changed the second half of the 20th century in helping them composed the most important opus of its time. This is a book about music, about people making music, this is a book about Sir George Martin, a humble man, a musician who was able to recognize that those youngs guys from Liverpool would, with a little help, change the course of music history and rise popular music to a higher livel, equal to the one normally reserved to the so-called "serious music". His life, his love, his work... Our pleasure.
And my greatest honour was to have my personal copy of this book autographed by Sir George Martin himself at EMI Abbey Road Studios in London...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail George Martin the Master!, 28 Jan. 2010
By 
Chris "Reactiv8" (Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
An amazing part-autobiography and part history of the Beatles in the recording studio, this engaging book gives us the background to how the greatest pop group of all time produced their masterpieces. Without George Martin the Beatles would never have come to popular notice or gone on to write and play their greatest songs. A humble man worked his magic with the Fab Four and describes so eloquently how he did it - If you read this, it will make you want to play the songs again with renewed fascination, surely bringing yet more joy - I salute you George and the boys you cared for so well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read me do, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
I found this to be an interesting read - particularly the insight into the Beatles early recording days.
It isn't just about the Beatles though, and it shows George Martin to be a very talented, and understated producer who, really, didn't receive the financial rewards his contributions deserve.
It shows that he wasn't always treated with the respect he should have had but he handled this in his usual polite, gentlemanly manner and definitely comes out on top in this respect.
It wanders off occasionally and in parts can be a little boring but in the main this book will be of interest to anyone involved in, or just a fan of, the music recording industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars among my favorite autobiographies, 6 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
This is one of my favorite autobiographies because its author doesn't tell about just himself, he teaches you about orchestration, recording, and the history of the British recording business. (There are some amusing Beatle anecdotes as well. I particularly enjoyed John Lennon's trouble with saxophone notation.) My only quibble: It should called itself "All You Need ARE Ears", not just because verbs must agree with their subjects, but also--mostly--because a title that distances itself from its allusion is more graceful.
Also recommended: PENTATONIC SCALES FOR THE JAZZ-ROCK KEYBOARDIST by Jeff Burns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but ......, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
Having read "Summer of Love" also by George Martin i was perhaps expecting a bit more but then again this book is older. It gives a very good description of what formed George Martin and how he got into the recording business and it is very interesting to read about the early years and the way they recorded. Wiewed from 2014 it seems like the Stone Age. I have a 32 track harddiscrecorder standing on my desk as i write this. The last parts of the book are VERY tecnical and perhaps a bit dated but all in all a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very much worth reading!!, 16 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
Even for those not directly involved with music or music production, this book is a great read. Those who are, will find it exceptionally interesting, informative & thoughtfully-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a good read, but.., 10 May 2010
By 
John Gould (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All You Need Is Ears (Paperback)
It's a good read & quite an entertaining book but parts of it are quite technical & not that interesting for the average reader I would guess like the musical frequencies of instruments & how the human ear can be tricked into accepting a stereo image, though there are plenty of stories of how he started in the business & the stars he worked with, A good insight into the man & his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All You Need Is Ears
All You Need Is Ears by George Martin (Paperback - 31 Dec. 1995)
£12.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews